Skip to main content

Ewan claims maiden men's national criterium title

Caleb Ewan delivered upon his favourite status to claim his first elite Australian title ahead of Brenton Jones (Drapac) and Anthony Giacoppo (Avanti IsoWhey) and make it four wins from five starts on just the sixth day of the year.

"It was actually a big relief. I came into this race really, really nervous, I knew I had some good wins already in the bay crits so I was clearly the favourite for today and obviously there is a fair bit of pressure going into a race as a favourite," Ewan said of the win. "I can't fault the team at all, they rode it perfectly again and just gave me such an easy ride out there and that's what makes the difference in the end."

12-months ago Ewan was second to Steele von Hoff (ONE Pro Cycling), who finished 18th in his title defence, and added that he felt he has been chasing the elite title for more than two years.

"Obviously it's nice to get the gold one after one season. It feels really good and now I am an elite national champion and that's something nice to have on your palmarès. I m still looking forward to the road race, hats the big one you want to win so hopefully I can go well there."

"Its nice having a team you can really on so much," said Ewan who also had Mitch Docker and Jack Haig working for him. "I was sitting second wheel and Alex [Edmondson] was going so fast I don't think anyone could come past and I felt a few people trying to come around but he was going too quick and still had a enough gas to bring me most of the way up the straight as well."

While Drapac were challenging Orica-GreenEdge for pole position entering the final corner before the long drag up Sturt St, once Ewan came out of Edmondson's wheel there was no doubting just who was taking home the green and gold jersey.

How it unfolded

The grey skies of the early-afternoon had departed as the elite men started their 40 laps of Sturt St although there was no reprieve from the gusty winds. The fluro of Jay McCarthy's new Tinkoff kit was seen early in the race as he won the first intermediate sprint point having seen the likes of Adam Phelan, Sam Spokes (Drapac) and Robbie Hucker (Avanti IsoWhey) aggressive in the first few laps.

William Clarke (Drapac) took out the second intermediate ahead of Shaun O'Callaghan with McCarthy nipping in for third and sealing the sprint jersey.

Breaks formed and were caught with Drapac and Avanti the most active of the teams as Orica-GreenEdge controlled the group with Ewan sitting pretty. As the laps continued to tick over, there was no let up from Drapac and Avnti-IsoWhey with Travis Meyer and Pat Shaw trying their luck.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Caleb Ewan (Nsw)0:59:54
2Brenton Jones (Vic)
3Anthony Giacoppo (Wa)
4Patrick Shaw (Vic)
5Alexander Edmondson (Sa)
6Jackson Law (Nsw)0:00:04
7Luke Parker (Vic)
8Scott Sunderland (Wa)0:00:07
9Joel Walsh (Nsw)
10Robbie Hucker (Vic)0:00:11
11Sam Evans (Vic)
12Fabio Calabria (Vic)
13Cameron Ivory (Nsw)
14Tyler Spurrell (Vic)
15Aaron Watts (Nsw)
16James Cummings (Vic)
17Benjamin Hill (Act)
18Steele Von Hoff (Vic)
19Craig Hutton (Nsw)
20Tommy Nankervis (Vic)0:00:16
21Trevor Spencer (Vic)0:00:18
22Bernard Sulzberger (Tas)0:00:20
23Alexander Smyth (Vic)0:00:24
24Joshua Taylor (Nsw)
25Darcy Woolley (Vic)0:00:26
26Ray Forbes (Vic)
27Paul Van Der Ploeg (Vic)
28Adam Phelan (Act)0:00:29
29Jay McCarthy (Qld)
30Ivan Michelin-Beard (Act)
31Cameron Bayly (Sa)
32Dale Scarfe (Vic)0:00:31
33Kane Walker (Vic)0:00:33
34Graeme Brown (Wa)0:00:36
35Scott Law (Nsw)
36Lachlan Norris (Vic)0:00:42
37Glenn O'Shea (Sa)0:00:44
38William Clarke (Tas)
39Chris Winn (Vic)
40Jayden Copp (Qld)0:00:48
41Liam Kelly (Nsw)0:00:58
42Russell Gill (Sa)0:01:09
43Nicholas Woods (Qld)0:01:11
44Tom Robinson (Tas)0:01:14
45Sam Crome (Vic)0:01:17
46Mitchell Mulhern (Qld)0:01:44
47Samuel Volkers (Qld)0:02:45
DNFNeil Van Der Ploeg (Vic)
DNFLuke Durbridge (Aus)
DNFSamuel Spokes (Nsw)
DNFTravis Meyer (Wa)
DNFMitchell Docker (Aus)
DNFNathan Earle (Tas)
DNFJack Haig (Vic)
DNFPatrick Lane (Vic)
DNFMark O'Brien (Vic)
DNFStuart Shaw (Act)
DNFShannon Johnson (Vic)
DNFAndrew Killingsworth (Vic)
DNFDominik Dudkiewicz (Vic)
DNFMatthias Kiernan (Vic)
DNFJacob Kauffmann (Nsw)
DNFPeter Johnstone (Vic)
DNFPatrick Drapac (Vic)
DNFThomas Coates (Qld)
DNFTodd Satchell (Vic)
DNFShaun O'Callaghan (Vic)
DNFLiam Hill (Vic)
DNSMitchell Lovelock-Fay (Act)
DNSAlex Wohler (Qld)
DNSJoel Strachan (Vic)
DNSJake Magee (Vic)
DNSNed Volk (Vic)


Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Zeb Woodpower

Zeb Woodpower is the Australian editor at Cyclingnews. Based in Sydney, Zeb provides an Australian perspective on the sport with articles ranging from the local to the global . He joined Cyclingnews in 2013.

Follow Zeb on Twitter

Latest on Cyclingnews