World champion Nys dominates at CrossVegas

Sven Nys (Crelan-Euphony) kicked off his 'cross season in fine fashion late Wednesday evening with an emphatic solo victory at CrossVegas. The world champion dominated his rivals in Las Vegas, Nevada, taking off from the last of his competition about halfway through the hour-long race and soloing in for the win.

Defending CrossVegas champion Jeremy Powers (Rapha-Focus) was second at 27 seconds followed by Geoff Kabush (Scott-3Rox Racing) in third at 39 seconds.

Nys and two-time CrossVegas winner Ryan Trebon (Cannondale p/b moved to an early lead, but Trebon could not match Nys's power on the leg-sapping grass circuit at the Desert Breeze Soccer Complex. Trebon would eventually finish fourth at 59 seconds.

"I immediately felt very strong," Nys told "It was not so hot, but very dry."

Nys noted that the race could not be compared to those in Europe, "but this says something about my condition. I am very happy that I can go home with a victory."

This was Nys's first appearance at CrossVegas and his second race in the United States following his world championship victory in early February at Louisville, Kentucky's Eva Bandman Park venue.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Full Results
1Sven Nys (Bel) Crelan-Euphony0:57:32
2Jeremy Powers (USA) Rapha-Focus0:00:27
3Geoff Kabush (Can) Scott-3Rox Racing0:00:39
4Ryan Trebon (USA) Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com0:00:59
5Wout Van Aert (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:01:31
6Quinten Hermans (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:01:32
7Tim Johnson (USA) Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com0:01:33
8Adam Craig (USA) Giant Factory Off-Road Team0:01:34
9Ben Berden (Bel) Raleigh-Clement0:01:45
10Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:01:51
11James Driscoll (USA) Raleigh-Clement0:01:53
12Yannick Eckmann (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized0:02:09
13Joshua Johnson (USA) Giant Factory Off-Road Team0:02:10
14Bradley White (USA) Moms In Tow Cyclocross0:02:12
15Troy Wells (USA) Team Clif Bar0:02:17
16Jonathan Page (USA) Fuji-Spy-Competitive Cyclist0:02:23
17Daniel Summerhill (USA) K-Edge/Felt Bicycles0:02:42
18Benjamin Sonntag (Ger) Team Clif Bar0:02:43
19Allen Krughoff (USA) Raleigh-Clement0:02:44
20Robin Eckmann (USA) California Giant Cycling Team0:02:46
21Cameron Dodge (USA) Team Skyline-Scott BikesRow 20 - Cell 2
22Carl Decker (USA) Giant Factory Off-Road Team0:02:48
23Tobin Ortenblad (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized0:03:16
24Todd Wells (USA) Specialized0:03:43
25Aaron Schooler (Can) Team H&R Block0:03:54
26Cody Kaiser (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized0:03:57
27Matt Shriver (USA) Trek Cyclocross Collective0:03:58
28Benjamin Jacques-Maynes (USA) Jamis CX0:04:23
29Adam Myerson (USA) Team SmartStop p/b Mountain Khakis0:04:24
30Jake Wells (USA) Stan's NoTubes Elite Cyclocross Team0:04:25
31Yoshitaka Hama (Jpn) Snel Cyclocross Team0:04:42
32Jacob Sitler (USA) SEAVS-Haymarket p/b Van Dessel0:04:43
33Tim Allen (USA) Feedback Sports - Foundry CyclesRow 32 - Cell 2
34Thomas Turner (USA)0:04:45
35Jared Nieters (USA) SEAVS-Haymarket p/b Van Dessel0:05:10
36Rotem Ishay (Isr) Boo Bikes0:05:16
37Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Crelan-Euphony0:05:20
38Jeff Kluck (USA) Queen City Cycling0:05:24
39Lewis Gaffney (USA) American Classic Pro CX Team0:05:33
40Adam St. Germain (USA) ENGVT-Specialized0:05:49
41Mike Garrigan (Can) Van Dessel0:06:01
42Taylor Carrington (USA) Feedback Sports0:06:04
43Robert Marion (USA) American Classic Pro CX Team0:06:12
44Kevin Noiles (Can) Bicycle Bluebook-HRS-Rock Lobster0:06:17
45Derek Zandstra (Can) Scott-3Rox Racing0:06:35
46Christian Helmig (Lux) Trisport Echternach Presented By Elbow0:08:27
47Jeremy Durrin (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies-3laps
48Stephen Ettinger (USA) BMC Mountainbike RacingRow 47 - Cell 2
49Isaac Neff (USA) Trek Cyclocross CollectiveRow 48 - Cell 2
50Tyler Coplea (USA) Harmony Systems-TrekRow 49 - Cell 2
51Tim Van Nuffel (Bel) DCM CiclingteamRow 50 - Cell 2
52Chris Jackson (USA) Castex Racing p/b FeltRow 51 - Cell 2
53Keith Hillier (USA) Team Rambuski LawRow 52 - Cell 2
54Maksym Shepitko (Ukr) Hudson CyclocrossRow 53 - Cell 2
55Luis Alberto Romero Amaran (Cub) Jamis CXRow 54 - Cell 2
56Scott Chapin (USA) Bicycle Blue Book-HRS-Rock Lobster-4laps
57Skyler Trujillo (USA) Boo BikesRow 56 - Cell 2
58Cory Greenberg (USA) 10 Speed Coffee-PedalersforkRow 57 - Cell 2
59Sherwood Plant (Can) Musette CaffeRow 58 - Cell 2
60Mike Sarnecki (Can) Kokanee RedbikeRow 59 - Cell 2
61Chad Tieman (USA) Summit City SpecializedRow 60 - Cell 2
62Ben Bertiger (USA) Stage 17-Cylance-5laps
63Ken Hanson (USA) Focus BicyclesRow 62 - Cell 2
64Rich Weis (USA) Trek Factory Racing-6laps
DNFShawn Milne (USA) Keough CyclocrossRow 64 - Cell 2
DNFWeston Schempf (USA) SEAVS-Haymarket p/b Van DesselRow 65 - Cell 2
DNFManuel Yves Eckert (Ger) Audi Cycling TeamRow 66 - Cell 2
DNSZach McDonald (USA) Rapha-FocusRow 67 - Cell 2
DNSRyan Dewald (USA) Team SkylineRow 68 - Cell 2
DNSBraden Kappius (USA) Team Clif BarRow 69 - Cell 2
DNSJustin Hines (Can) Framework Racing TeamRow 70 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1