Australian Road Championships: Carter Turnbull defends in men's U23 time trial

Carter Turnbull wins the U23 individual time trial at the Australian Road National Championships in 2022
Carter Turnbull wins the U23 individual time trial at the Australian Road National Championships in 2022 (Image credit: Simone Giuliani)

Carter Turnbull (InForm TMX MAKE) won the Under 23 individual time trial at the 2022 Federation University Road National Championships taking the title for a second year running. 

Turnbull (InForm TMX MAKE) finished in a time of 37:31.69, slower than last year in the windy conditions but still a comfortable win as he finished more than 37 seconds ahead of second placed Mathew Dinham (Team BridgeLane), while Zachary Marriage (Team BridgeLane) in third was about 20 seconds further back. 

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Full results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Carter Turnbull (Aus) Inform TMX Make 0:37:32
2Mathew Dinham (Aus) Team Bridgelane 0:00:38
3Zachary Marriage (Aus) Team Bridgelane 0:00:57
4Rudy Porter (Aus) Inform TMX Make 0:01:17
5Fergus Browning (Aus) Inform TMX Make 0:01:22
6Brady Gilmore (Aus) Cycling Develpoment Foundation 0:01:24
7Will Moloney-Morton (Aus) Cyclehouse 0:01:41
8Dylan George (Aus) Team Bridgelane 0:01:53
9Rhys Robotham (Aus) Team Bridgelane 0:02:14
10Mitchell McGovern (Aus) Cycling Development Foundation 0:02:34
11Jai Fielke (Aus) Giant Racing Team 0:02:35
12Jesse Norton (Aus) Giant Racing Team 0:02:55
13Stinus Kaempe (Aus) Arbö Headstart On-Fahrrad 0:02:57
14Matthew Connan (Aus) Cycling Development Foundation 0:03:04
15Samuel Eddy (Aus) Team Bridgelane 0:03:22
16Matthew Greenwood (Aus) Tandem co x Attaquer Pro Cycling 0:03:37
17Joseph Inglis (Aus) Cycling Development Foundation 0:03:46
18Devraj Grewal (Aus) Oliver'S Real Food Racing
19Tynan Shannon (Aus) 0:03:47
20Bailey McDonald (Aus) 0:04:13
21Andy Sampson (Aus) Giant Racing Team 0:04:14
22Zachary Owen (Aus) Giant Racing Team 0:04:28
23Jack Menzies (Aus) Mersey Valley Devonport Cc 0:04:36
24Rohan Haydon-Smith (Aus) 0:04:41
25Will Kirkham (Aus) Zappi Racing Team 0:04:41
26Jackson Hribar (Aus) Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club 0:04:43
27Jack Schouten (Aus) Onyva Racing 0:04:57
28Edwin Britts (Aus) 0:05:03
29Josh Hanigan (Aus) Hobart Wheelers 0:05:16
30Luke Deasey (Aus) Rauland Development Cycling Team 0:05:18
31Malachi Covington (Aus) Team Bridgelane 0:05:39
32Kurt Tozer (Aus) Tandem co x Attaquer Pro Cycling 0:05:47
33Mackenzie Edwardson (Aus) Team Ccs 0:05:50
34Liam Walsh (Aus) Giant Racing Team 0:06:34
35Aston Freeth (Aus) Sasi 0:07:14
DSQLiam Johnston (Aus) Inform TMX Make
DNSJames Moriarty (Aus) Inform TMX Make
DNSTimothy Harvey (Aus) Midland Cycling Club
DNSAiden Sinclair (Aus) Team Bridgelane
DNSOliver Bleddyn (Aus) Norwood Cycling Club

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Simone Giuliani
Australia Editor

Simone is a degree-qualified journalist that has accumulated decades of wide-ranging experience while working across a variety of leading media organisations. She joined Cyclingnews as a Production Editor at the start of the 2021 season and has now moved into the role of Australia Editor. Previously she worked as a freelance writer, Australian Editor at Ella CyclingTips and as a correspondent for Reuters and Bloomberg. Cycling was initially purely a leisure pursuit for Simone, who started out as a business journalist, but in 2015 her career focus also shifted to the sport.

Latest on Cyclingnews