Nicole Frain goes solo to win Australian elite women's road race title

BUNINYONG AUSTRALIA JANUARY 16 Race winner Nicole Frain of Australia poses on the podium ceremony after the Australian Cycling National Championships 2022 Womens U23 and Elite Road Race a 1044km race from Buninyong to Buninyong AusCyclingAus on January 16 2022 in Buninyong Australia Photo by Con ChronisGetty Images
The new elite women's Australian national champion (Image credit: Getty Images Sport)

Nicole Frain (Roxsolt Liv SRAM) took a solo victory in the women's elite and U23 race at Australia's Federation University Road National Championships in Buninyong, holding off a fast-closing chase group after launching a late attack.

Grace Brown (FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope) led the chase group in to take second while 18-year-old Alyssa Polites (Sydney Uni-Staminade) came third over the line to secure the U23 national title, beating criterium winner Ruby Roseman-Gannon to the final spot on the podium.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Full Results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Nicole Frain (Aus) Roxsolt Liv SRAM 3:00:44
2Grace Brown (Aus) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine - Futuroscope 0:00:04
3Alyssa Polites * (Aus) Sydney Uni Staminade
4Ruby Roseman-Gannon (Aus) Bike Exchange Jayco
5Danielle de Francesco (Aus) ARA Pro Racing Sunshine Coast
6Ruth Corset (Aus) VA Pro Racing
7Neve Bradbury * (Aus) Canyon sram
8Amber Pate (Aus) InForm TMX Make
9Amelia Watkinson (Aus)
10Justine Barrow (Aus) Roxsolt Liv SRAM
11Alexandra Manly (Aus) Bike Exchange Jayco
12Rachel Neylan (Aus) Cofidis
13Georgie Howe (Aus) Knights of Suburbia Racing 0:00:06
14Matilda Raynolds (Aus) Inform TMX Make 0:00:55
15Emily Watts * (Aus) Knights of Suburbia Racing
16Mia Hayden * (Aus) Women's Racing Project
17Sophie Malowiecki (Aus) Giant Racing Team 0:01:00
18Emily Herfoss (Aus) Roxsolt Liv SRAM 0:02:10
19Tilly Field (Aus) Roxsolt Liv SRAM
20Hannah Seeliger * (Aus) Cycling Development Foundation 0:05:41
21Rachael Wales (Aus) ARA Pro Racing Sunshine Coast 0:07:08
22Josie Talbot (Aus) SydneyUni - Staminade 0:07:46
23Peta Mullens (Aus) Roxsolt Liv SRAM 0:07:53
24Georgia Whitehouse (Aus) Sydney Uni Staminade
25Charlotte McShane (Aus)
26Courtney Sherwell (Aus) Roxsolt Liv SRAM
27Ella Bloor (Aus) Inform TMX make
28Emma Pratt (Aus) Cycling Development Foundation
29Katie Banerjee (Aus) Knights of Suburbia Racing
30Penny Slater (Aus) Canberra Off-Road Cyclists
31Sharni Morley * (Aus) StepFWD Soomom
32Emma Viotto (Aus) Giant Racing Team
33Hayley Jones (Aus) Giant Racing Team
34Elizabeth Young (Aus) Butterfields Racing Team
35Cassia Boglio * (Aus) NXTG Racing
36Haylee Fuller * (Aus) Team Rupelcleaning - Champion
37Emily Fowler (Aus) Intervelo
38Maeve Plouffe (Aus) ARA Pro Racing Sunshine Coast
39Kathryn McInerney (Aus)
40Lucie Fityus * (Aus) Cycling Development Foundation
41Gina Ricardo (Aus) Sydney Uni-Staminade
42Sophie Edwards * (Aus) ARA Pro Racing Sunshine Coast
DNFElizabeth Nuspan * (Aus) Inform TMX MAKE
DNFEloise Sandow * (Aus) InForm TMX Make
DNFSuzy Wood (Aus) Knights of Suburbia Racing
DNFAshlee Jones * (Aus) Knights of Suburbia Racing
DNFLisa Jacob (Aus) Knights of Suburbia Racing
DNFKeely Bennett * (Aus) Knights of Suburbia Racing
DNFHolly Lubcke * (Aus) ARA Pro Racing Sunshine Coast
DNFAnya Louw * (Aus) ARA Pro Racing Sunshine Coast
DNFAlexandra Martin-Wallace * (Aus) ARA Pro Racing Sunshine Coast
DNFAlisha Wells * (Aus) ARA Pro Racing Sunshine Coast
DNFAlana Forster (Aus) Butterfields Racing Team
DNFNicole Mitsigeorgis (Aus) Cycling Development Foundation
DNFLauren Thomas * (Aus) Giant Racing Team
DNFJordyn Hassett (Aus) Giant Racing Team
DNFMaddison Taylor (Aus) Giant Racing Team
DNFIzzy Flint * (Aus) Roxsolt Liv SRAM
DNFRachel Hore (Aus) Roxsolt Liv SRAM
DNFSaffron Button (Aus) Roxsolt Liv SRAM
DNFAlli Anderson * (Aus) SASI
DNFMeg Lemon (Aus) SASI/Butterfields Racing Team
DNFRose Vassel (Aus) StepFWD Soomom
DNFImogen Alton (Aus) Sydney Uni Staminade
DNFJennifer Darmody (Aus) Sydney Uni Staminade
DNFJessica Pratt (Aus) Sydney Uni Staminade
DNFJulia Atkins (Aus) Women's Racing Project
DNFKate Bonner (Aus) VA Pro Racing
DNFNicole Wilson (Aus) VA Pro Racing
DNFDarcie Richards * (Aus) VA Pro Racing team
DNFStephanie Hibburt (Aus) Camperdown Cycling Club
DNFPip Ash (Aus) Dhuez Racing
DNFEmily Williams (Aus) Dubbo CC
DNFKlara Nash (Aus) Harlequin CC
DNFCelia Cowan * (Aus) Norwood CC / Keystone
DNFBrianna Samuhel (Aus) Parklife Cycling Club
DNFAmy Cundy (Aus)
DNFHolly Harris (Aus)
DNFImola Giusti (Aus)
DNFLillee Pollock * (Aus)
DNFPhoebe Thompson * (Aus)
DNFOlivia Sens * (Aus)
DNSChelsea Holmes * (Aus) Inform TMX MAKE
DNSCarlee Taylor (Aus) Inform TMX Make
DNSSam de Riter (Aus) Knights of Suburbia Racing
DNSKate Perry (Aus) Knights of Suburbia Racing
DNSChloe Moran (Aus) ARA Pro Racing Sunshine Coast
DNSLaura Chancellor * (Aus) Women's Racing Project
DNSEllie Hoitink * (Aus) Balmoral Cycling Womens Team

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Simone Giuliani
Australia Editor

Simone is a degree-qualified journalist that has accumulated decades of wide-ranging experience while working across a variety of leading media organisations. She joined Cyclingnews as a Production Editor at the start of the 2021 season and has now moved into the role of Australia Editor. Previously she worked as a freelance writer, Australian Editor at Ella CyclingTips and as a correspondent for Reuters and Bloomberg. Cycling was initially purely a leisure pursuit for Simone, who started out as a business journalist, but in 2015 her career focus also shifted to the sport.

Latest on Cyclingnews