Wiggins wins time trial world championship

British rider unseats Tony Martin in Ponferrada

Bradley Wiggins (Great Britain) put a halt to Tony Martin's reign as world time trial champion and took his first ever world title in the elite men's event with a perfect ride on the Ponferrada course.

Wiggins was slower than Martin at the first time split but had the speed and power to gradually carve out a significant lead over the 57.1km course. He set the fastest time at the second time split and then gained more time on the climbs in the final part of the course as he stayed tucked in his aero position and pushed huge power down on the pedals on his Pinarello time trial bike.

He stopped the clock in a time of 56:25.52 to take the rainbow jersey. Martin tried to fight back, pushing his huge 58-tooth chain ring but lost further time on the climb and finished 26 seconds slower. Tom Dumoulin (Netherlands) took the bronze medal, confirming his time trialing talent by finishing 40 seconds slower than Wiggins.

Vasil Kiryienka (Belarus) finished fourth at 47 seconds, with Rohan Dennis (Australia) fifth at 57 seconds. Dennis started fast but faded on the late climbs, which proved decisive in shaping the final result. Andrew Talansky (USA) finished 15th in a time of 58:46, with Tejay van Garderen (USA) was 37th, 3:44 slower than Wiggins. Alex Dowsett (Great Britain) was 20th at 2:35, with Svein Tuft (Canada) 28th at 3:18.

Wiggins said this would be his final time trial world championships before he focuses on the track in the final two years of his career. The 34-year-old Londoner has now has won six world track titles, four Olympic golds medals, a world time trial title and a Tour de France.

He collapsed on the floor after his ride, struggling to understand that he was the new world time trial champion.

“I knew coming into it that I had the legs. I realised once I saw the course that if I was ever going to beat Tony then it would be on a course like this,” Wiggins explained.

“I just went through my routine. I’ve been in this situation so many times in the past and when I know that the condition is there I’m quite relaxed, I know what I have to do on the bike. I knew the difference would be made in the final, on that final loop. I paced it perfectly and still had gas in the final, even on that last descent, I heard that I was 10 seconds up and I was just pushing all the way. I didn’t want to take any risks.”

Wiggins smiled and waved on the podium as he pulled on the rainbow jersey and ended his season on a high. He impressed in the Spring Classics and won the Tour of California but then was overlooked by Team Sky for the Tour de France that started in Britain.

“It’s been an up and down year, I didn’t ride the Tour, so I want to dedicate this to my family because they’ve been there for me all summer and they had to put up with me when I was at home during July. It’s my last world time trial championship and I’ve finished with a gold medal,” he said.

“To add the world title to the British title and the Olympic title means I’ve got the set. Along with the pursuit world titles, it’s fantastic.”

Wiggins confirmed that his next major goal will be the 2015 spring Classics before attacking the Hour Record in the summer.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country)Result
1Bradley Wiggins (Great Britain)0:56:25.52 
2Tony Martin (Germany)0:00:26.23 
3Tom Dumoulin (Netherlands)0:00:40.64 
4Vasil Kiryienka (Belarus)0:00:47.92 
5Rohan Dennis (Australia)0:00:57.74 
6Adriano Malori (Italy)0:01:11.62 
7Nelson Filipe Santos Simoes Oliveira (Portugal)0:01:21.63 
8Anton Vorobyev (Russian Federation)0:01:29.66 
9Jan Barta (Czech Republic)0:01:43.41 
10Jonathan Castroviejo Nicolas (Spain)0:01:44.20 
11Tiago Machado (Portugal)0:01:52.37 
12Jesse Sergent (New Zealand)0:01:57.02 
13Rasmus Christian Quaade (Denmark)0:02:16.28 
14Artem Ovechkin (Russian Federation)0:02:18.27 
15Andrew Talansky (United States Of America)0:02:20.88 
16Maciej Bodnar (Poland)0:02:22.28 
17Sylvain Chavanel (France)0:02:28.39 
18Silvan Dillier (Switzerland)0:02:30.77 
19Tanel Kangert (Estonia)0:02:32.62 
20Alex Dowsett (Great Britain)0:02:35.10 
21Alexandr Pliuschin (Republic of Moldova)0:02:47.90 
22Nikias Arndt (Germany)0:02:48.60 
23Carlos Ivan Oyarzun Guinez (Chile)0:02:52.80 
24Kristof Vandewalle (Belgium)0:03:06.67 
25Jerome Coppel (France)0:03:08.64 
26Alexsandr Dyachenko (Kazakhstan)0:03:11.21 
27Riccardo Zoidl (Austria)0:03:15.71 
28Svein Tuft (Canada)0:03:18.18 
29Petr Vakoc (Czech Republic)0:03:18.47 
30Dario Cataldo (Italy)0:03:25.26 
31Pieter Serry (Belgium)0:03:30.13 
32Mateusz Taciak (Poland)0:03:31.78 
33Tobias Ludvigsson (Sweden)0:03:33.30 
34Markel Irizar Aranburu (Spain)0:03:39.23 
35Matthias Brandle (Austria)0:03:39.69 
36Rein Taaramae (Estonia)0:03:40.36 
37Tejay Van Garderen (United States Of America)0:03:44.16 
38Daniil Fominykh (Kazakhstan)0:03:48.05 
39Ignatas Konovalovas (Lithuania)0:03:49.51 
40Kristijan Koren (Slovenia)0:03:50.32 
41Nicolas Roche (Ireland)0:03:50.39 
42Kanstantsin Siutsou (Belarus)0:03:52.16 
43Andriy Vasylyuk (Ukraine)0:03:54.96 
44Serghei Tvetcov (Romania)0:03:56.62 
45Vegard Breen (Norway)0:04:00.51 
46Winner Anacona Gomez (Colombia)0:04:01.56 
47Gatis Smukulis (Latvia)0:04:10.83 
48Lars Teutenberg (Germany)0:04:12.81 
49Ramunas Navardauskas (Lithuania)0:04:32.05 
50Aleksejs Saramotins (Latvia)0:04:33.65 
51Eduardo Sepulveda (Argentina)0:05:11.23 
52Andrei Nechita (Romania)0:05:33.44 
53Lasse Norman Hansen (Denmark)0:05:50.45 
54Reidar Bohlin Borgersen (Norway)0:05:58.32 
55Zsolt Der (Hungary)0:06:27.65 
56Matej Mohoric (Slovenia)0:06:46.48 
57Gabor Fejes (Hungary)0:06:49.32 
58Oleksandr Golovash (Ukraine)0:08:05.49 
59Elchin Asadov (Azerbaijan)0:09:03.77 
60Gustavo Mino (Paraguay)0:09:46.54 
61Segundo Navarrete (Ecuador)0:10:48.63 
62Veli Sadiki (Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia)0:13:37.86 
63Gorgi Popstefanov (Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia)0:14:33.34 
DNFAlexander Gingsjo (Sweden)  


Related Articles

Back to top