Neff dominates to take first Elite women's title

Last takes silver for Britain with Pauline Ferrand third

Switzerland's Jolanda Neff, who has dominated the under 23 category, winning three consecutive world titles, finally won her first Elite title on Saturday in Cairns, Australia. Annie Last of Great Britain won silver and Pauline Ferrand Prevot of France, the 2015 world champion, took bronze.

The dry and hot dusty conditions added to the difficulty riders faced on the 4.3 kilometre circuit through the rainforest of the Smithfield Park. Organisers watered the worst sections of the course overnight, and it did reduce the dust slightly for the women's six-lap race.

The race saw a group of seven form at the front on the start loop, with Neff and Annie Last of Great Britain setting the pace. The pair dropped everyone else by the end of the first lap and rode together until the fourth lap, when Neff attacked, quickly opening a 22-second gap. By the penultimate fifth lap, the gap was up to two minutes and Neff could coast to her first Elite women’s title. Last took the silver medal, while Ferrand Prevot took bronze.

"I just wanted to win it so much," admitted Neff. "The last three years I couldn't win the world champs, it has been three years since my last win [as an Under-23]. Coming into this race, for the first time, I knew I was kind of healthy and that things could be. I wanted to win it so badly, I just wanted to go at every chance I could get. I just pushed from start to finish. I am over the moon. I am so happy."

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jolanda Neff (Switzerland)1:27:17 
2Annie Last (Great Britain)0:02:23 
3Pauline Ferrand Prevot (France)0:03:04 
4Maja Wloszczowska (Poland)0:03:36 
5Irina Kalentyeva (Russian Federation)0:03:51 
6Lea Davison (United States Of America)0:03:59 
7Emily Batty (Canada)0:04:23 
8Corina Gantenbein (Switzerland)  
9Barbara Benkó (Hungary)0:04:45 
10Tanja Žakelj (Slovenia)0:04:58 
11Helen Grobert (Germany)0:05:05 
12Anne Terpstra (Netherlands)0:05:27 
13Gunn-Rita Dahle Flesjaa (Norway)0:05:29 
14Raiza Goulao Henrique (Brazil)0:06:02 
15Erin Huck (United States Of America)  
16Haley Smith (Canada)0:06:21 
17Eva Lechner (Italy)0:06:38 
18Katarzyna Solus-Miskowicz (Poland)0:06:45 
19Elisabeth Osl (Austria)0:06:49 
20Rebecca Henderson (Australia)0:06:55 
21Githa Michiels (Belgium)0:06:57 
22Karla Štepánová (Czech Republic)0:07:03 
23Adelheid Morath (Germany)0:07:15 
24Mariske Strauss (South Africa)0:07:30 
25Annika Langvad (Denmark)0:07:48 
26Kathrin Stirnemann (Switzerland)0:07:58 
27Catharine Pendrel (Canada)0:08:01 
28Samara Sheppard (New Zealand)0:08:29 
29Chloe Woodruff (United States Of America)0:08:51 
30Sandra Walter (Canada)0:09:07 
31Ekaterina Anoshina (Russian Federation)  
32Sabine Spitz (Germany)0:10:46 
33Rose Grant (United States Of America)0:10:55 
34Serena Calvetti (Italy)0:10:56 
35Jovana Crnogorac (Serbia)0:12:44 
LAPDaniela Campuzano Chavez Peon (Mexico)  
LAPCindy Montambault (Canada)  
LAPPeta Mullens (Australia)  
LAPJitka Škarnitzlová (Czech Republic)  
LAPLinda Indergand (Switzerland)  
LAPRebecca Beaumont (Canada)  
LAPYosiana Fareidy Quintero Pineda (Colombia)  
LAPClaudia Galicia Cotrina (Spain)  
LAPAgustina Maria Apaza (Argentina)  
LAPMichelle Vorster (Namibia)  
LAPAlexis Skarda (United States Of America)  
LAPEliza Kwan (Australia)  
LAPKathryn Mcinerney (Australia)  
LAPAnna Beck (Australia)  
LAPTsalina Yi-Lin Phang (Singapore)  
LAPMachuene Rozalia Kubyana (South Africa)  
DNFYana Belomoina (Ukraine)  
DNFTory Thomas (Australia)  
DNSCatherine Fleury (Canada)  

Related Articles

Back to top