Terpstra wins Dutch road race title

Sinkeldam and Danny Van Poppel complete podium

Niki Terpstra (Etixx-QuickStep) made up for not being named to ride the Tour de France by winning the Netherlands' national road race championship for the third time. Ramon Sinkeldam (Giant-Alpecin) was second and Danny Van Poppel (Trek) third.

The only representative from his team in the race, 31-year-old  Terpstra outfoxed teams with many riders fighting for the win. He narrowly won the sprint of a small group in the rain in Emmen.

Terpstra was surprised to have won a mass sprint, and said he assumed Sinkeldam would take it. “I know how fast he is and thought the title was his.” He was also surprised “that the breakaway got so much space. It was weird because the other teams were doing absolutely nothing.”

An escape group of eight riders dominated much of the race. Gert-Jan Bosman, Kobus Hereijgers, Patrick van Leeuwen, Bert-Jan Lindeman, Daan Meijers, Reinier Honig, Bram Nolten and René Hooghiemster had a lead of up to 17:40 on the 253 km flat course. Their lead was still over three minutes with 25 km to go, but the peloton mercilessly hunted them down.

Defending champion Sebastian Langeveld helped lead the chase, which saw the escapees caught with seven km to go, and the bunch sprint was set up.


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Niki Terpstra (Ned) Etixx - Quick-Step5:47:41 
2Ramon Sinkeldam (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin  
3Danny Van Poppel (Ned) Trek Factory Racing  
4Dylan Groenewegen (Ned) Team Roompot Oranje Peloton  
5Moreno Hofland (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo  
6Maurits Lammertink (Ned) Team Roompot Oranje Peloton  
7Floris Gerfs (Ned)  
8Lars Boom (Ned) Astana Pro Team0:00:04 
9André Looij (Ned) Team Roompot Oranje Peloton  
10Johim Ariesen (Ned) Metec - TKH Continental Cyclingteam p/b Mantel  
11Yoeri Havik (Ned) Seg Racing  
12Coen Vermeltfoort (Ned) Cyclingteam Join's - de Rijke0:00:07 
13Pim Ligthart (Ned) Lotto Soudal  
14Mike Terpstra (Ned) Team Roompot Oranje Peloton  
15Sjoerd Kouwenhoven (Ned) Metec - TKH Continental Cyclingteam p/b Mantel  
16Barry Markus (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo  
17Mike Teunissen (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo  
18Stefan Poutsma (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
19Matthijs Eversdijk (Ned) Cyclingteam Join's - de Rijke  
20Timo Roosen (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo  
21Wouter Wippert (Ned) Drapac Professional Cycling  
22Sven Van Luijk (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
23Joey Van Rhee (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
24Rob Ruijgh (Ned) Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace Continental Team  
25Sjoerd Van Ginneken (Ned) Team Roompot Oranje Peloton  
26Wesley Kreder (Ned) Team Roompot Oranje Peloton  
27Robbert De Greef (Ned) Cyclingteam Join's - de Rijke  
28Jim Van Den Berg (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team0:00:12 
29Kai Reus (Ned) Verandas Willems Cycling Team  
30Marinus Cornelis Minnaard (Ned) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
31Jeff Vermeulen (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
32Huub Duyn (Ned) Team Roompot Oranje Peloton  
33Jesper Asselman (Ned) Team Roompot Oranje Peloton  
34Marc Demaar (Ned) Team Roompot Oranje Peloton0:00:15 
35Koen De Kort (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin  
36Wouter Mol (Ned) Cyclingteam Join's - de Rijke0:00:18 
37Jochem Hoekstra (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
38Gert-Jan Bosman (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
39Johnny Hoogerland (Ned) Team Roompot Oranje Peloton  
40Jetse Bol (Ned) Cyclingteam Join's - de Rijke  
41Berden De Vries (Ned) Team Roompot Oranje Peloton  
42Boy Van Poppel (Ned) Trek Factory Racing0:00:25 
43Brian Van Goethem (Ned) Team Roompot Oranje Peloton0:00:37 
44Roy Curvers (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin0:00:40 
45Lars Van Der Haar (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin  
46Michael Vingerling (Ned) Team 3M  
47Martijn Keizer (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo0:00:47 
48Kobus Hereijgers (Ned) Cyclingteam Join's - de Rijke  
49Reinier Honig (Ned) Team Roompot Oranje Peloton  
50Jos Van Emden (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo0:00:56 
51Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo  
52Lieuwe Westra (Ned) Astana Pro Team  
53Jasper Bovenhuis (Ned) Seg Racing0:01:02 
54Bram Tankink (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo0:01:31 
55Dennis Van Winden (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo0:01:43 
56Thomas Leezer (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo0:02:11 
57Niels Wubben (Ned) Telenet - Fidea Cycling Team  
58Daan Meijers (Ned) Cyclingteam Join's - de Rijke0:03:59 
59Bram Nolten (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
60Bertjan Lindeman (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo  
61Dylan Van Baarle (Ned) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team0:05:25 
62Sebastian Langeveld (Ned) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team  
63Albert Timmer (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin  
64Rick Ottema (Ned) Colba - Superano Ham0:05:33 
65Twan Castelijns (Ned) Babydump Cycling Team  
66Etienne Van Empel (Ned) Team Roompot Oranje Peloton0:06:34 
67Maarten De Jonge (Ned) Bike Aid  
68Rens Te Stroet (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels0:06:37 
69Brian Bulgac (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo  
70Roy Eefting (Ned) Babydump Cycling Team  
71Melvin Van Zijl (Ned) Team 3M  
72Oscar Riesebeek (Ned) Metec - TKH Continental Cyclingteam p/b Mantel  
73Thijs Van Amerongen (Ned) Telenet - Fidea Cycling Team  
74Ivar Slik (Ned) Team Roompot Oranje Peloton  
75Dex Groen (Ned) Cyclingteam Join's - de Rijke  
76David Van Der Poel (Ned) BKCP-Powerplus  
77Remco Te Brake (Ned) Metec - TKH Continental Cyclingteam p/b Mantel0:07:05 
78Patrick Van Leeuwen (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels0:07:18 
79Lex Nederlof (Ned) CCN Cycling Team0:08:29 
80Lars Van De Vall (Ned) Babydump Cycling Team  
81Harry Sweering (Ned) Babydump Cycling Team  
82Aron Kremer (Ned) Colba - Superano Ham  
83Jurgen Van Diemen (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
84Geert Van Der Weijst (Ned) Team 3M  
DNFLaurens Ten Dam (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo  
DNFRick Flens (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo  
DNFMaarten Tjallingii (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo  
DNFTom Stamsnijder (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin  
DNFRaymond Kreder (Ned) Team Roompot Oranje Peloton  
DNFMartijn Verschoor (Ned) Team Novo Nordisk  
DNFPeter Koning (Ned) Drapac Professional Cycling  
DNFDion Beukeboom (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
DNFRick Van Breda (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
DNFElmar Reinders (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
DNFIke Groen (Ned) Cyclingteam Join's - de Rijke  
DNFRonan Van Zandbeek (Ned) Cyclingteam Join's - de Rijke  
DNFTijmen Eising (Ned) Metec - TKH Continental Cyclingteam p/b Mantel  
DNFNiek Boom (Ned) Babydump Cycling Team  
DNFRené Hooghiemster (Ned) Babydump Cycling Team  
DNFKoos Jeroen Kers (Ned) Babydump Cycling Team  
DNFJeroen Boelen (Ned)  
DNFKenny Nijssen (Ned) Team 7 - Eleven Roadbike Philippines  

Related Articles

Back to top