Van Kessel wins Zilvermeercross

Aernouts and Aerts make it a Telenet Fidea Lions clean sweep

Corné van Kessel (Telenet Fidea Lions) won the Lampiris Zilvermeercross in Mol, Belgium, attacking from an elite lead group with four laps left to run. Van Kessel’s teammates Jim Aernouts and Thijs Aerts completed a Telenet podium sweep with attacks on the penultimate lap.

The race got off to a quick start, with Diether Sweeck (Pauwels Sauzen-Vastgoedservice) among those at the front of the peloton, which was strung-out under the pressure. It didn’t take long for a group to separate themselves from the main pack.

Nine men made up the lead group, but Van Kessel wasn’t satisfied with the pace, heading off alone and quickly building a 10-second gap. David van der Poel (Corendon-Circus) was among those in the chase group, along with two other Telenet Fidea Lions riders in the shape of Aernouts and Aerts.

On the sand section, Aernouts made it up to Van Kessel, while shortly after Tom Meeusen (Corendon-Circus) came from behind to make it a lead trio. Van der Poel was the next to join up, making it two from each team in the lead at the midway point of the race.

Despite saying he didn’t feel good at the start, Meeusen was keen to attack, dropping teammate Van der Poel from the lead group at one point. Van Kessel had more in the tank though, putting in a flying attack to leave the rest behind and build a gap of 14 seconds with three laps to run.

While Van Kessel was on the way to a solo victory, further back the attacking continued. Aernouts broke away from the chasers in a solo bid for second, and later Aerts went on the attack too, making it a Telenet Fidea Lions podium sweep barring disaster on the final lap.

That disaster never came though, much to relief of team manager Sven Nys, and Van Kessel soloed across the line ahead of his two teammates. The Corendon-Circus duo of Van der Poel and Meeusen were the best non-Telenet finishers in fourth and fifth.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Corne Van Kessel (Ned) Telenet Fidea Lions1:01:24 
2Jim Aernouts (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:00:24 
3Thijs Aerts (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:00:43 
4David Van Der Poel (Ned) Corendon - Circus0:01:11 
5Tom Meeusen (Bel) Corendon - Circus  
6Sieben Wouters (Ned) Creafin Tüv Sud  
7Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) Marlux - Bingoal0:01:18 
8Yannick Peeters (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:02:15 
9Victor Vandebosch (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:02:17 
10Jarno Liessens (Bel) Creafin Tüv Sud  
11Gert Smets (Bel) Steylaerts - 7770:02:27 
12Thomas Joseph (Bel) Marlux - Bingoal  
13Thomas Mein (GBr) Tarteletto - Isorex0:02:52 
14Seppe Rombouts (Bel) Creafin Tüv Sud0:03:07 
15Mathijs Wuyts (Bel)0:03:23 
16Julian Siemons (Bel)0:03:30 
17Ingmar Uytdewilligen (Bel) Tarteletto - Isorex0:03:47 
18Tomas Kopecky (Cze) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:03:49 
19Maxim Dewulf (Bel)0:04:07 
20Kenneth Van Compernolle (Bel) Tarteletto - Isorex0:04:10 
21Dario Tielen (Bel)0:04:22 
22Thibaut De Smet (Bel) Tarteletto - Isorex  
23Nick Peers (Bel)0:04:39 
24Arne Vrachten (Bel) Tarteletto - Isorex0:05:00 
25Sander De Vet (Bel)0:05:12 
26Robin Alderweireld (Bel)0:05:41 
27Senne De Meyer (Bel)0:05:45 
28Yelle Leaerts (Bel)-2 laps 
29Florian Trigo (Fra)-2 laps 
30Arno Van Den Broeck (Bel)-2 laps 
31Cameron Mason (GBr)-3 laps 
32Jens Clynhens (Bel)-3 laps 
33Vince Van Den Eynde (Bel) Tarteletto - Isorex-3 laps 
34Maarten Van Staeyen (Bel)-3 laps 
35Edwin De Wit (Bel)-3 laps 
36Gerben Kuypers (Bel) Tarteletto - Isorex-3 laps 
37David Eriksson (Swe)-3 laps 
38Niels Koyen (Bel)-4 laps 
39Leonardo Cover (Ita)-5 laps 
40Pieter Meelberghs (Bel)-5 laps 
41Wouter Goosen (Bel)-5 laps 
42Jurgen Van Den Aarssen (Ned)-5 laps 
43Grégory Careme (Bel)-5 laps 
44Stefano Museeuw (Bel) Tarteletto - Isorex-5 laps 
45Márcio Barbosa (Por)-5 laps 
46Darnell Moore (Irl)-5 laps 
47Alexander Forrester (GBr)-6 laps 
48Finlay Robertson (GBr)-6 laps 
49Joe Williams (GBr)-6 laps 
50Kwinten Stuer (Bel)-6 laps 
51Marco Ehlert (Ned)-6 laps 
52Mauro Caneva (Ita)-6 laps 
53Jesse Rients (USA)-6 laps 
54Cedric Mertens (Bel)-6 laps 
55Tetsuki Kaji (Jpn)-7 laps 
56Marvin Runhaar (Ned)-7 laps 
57Felix Stephan (Ger)-7 laps 
58Baptiste Trigo (Fra)-8 laps 
59Gauthier Heymes (Fra)-8 laps 
DNFDiether Sweeck (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice  
DNFGianni Siebens (Bel)  
DNFAndres Verdonck (Bel)  
DNFJens Dekker (Ned) Corendon - Circus  
Back to top