Quinziato wins time trial title at Italian championships

Boaro second and Moser third

Manuel Quinziato (BMC) secured his first-ever national time trial title at the Italian championships on Wednesday in Romanengo. He won on the 41.3km course ahead of Manuele Boaro (Tinkoff) and Moreno Moser (Cannondale).

"I was on the podium three times before and I hadn't raced the championships the past six years. I'm really happy that I finally got the jersey because I had never won it," Quinziato said in a team press release.

"On the first lap I went through the check point down on Boaro but then on the last lap I kept it really steady and really came home hard. In the end I had a really good gap. The level was pretty high with riders like Boaro and Moser so to have won by a lot is really nice."

"I'll have my first chance to wear the national champion's jersey at the Tour of Poland in July as there is a time trial there so I can't wait! I feel confident ahead of the road race on Sunday. I haven't had a really good look at the parcours yet but I know that it is a good parcours for me because it should be pretty fast with a small climb every loop. It's not like a 4000m climb like there has been the last couple of years. My mood is good and my shape is good so I'm definitely going to try."

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Manuel Quinziato (Ita) BMC Racing Team0:49:00 
2Manuele Boaro (Ita) Tinkoff Team0:00:38 
3Moreno Moser (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling0:01:00 
4Gianni Moscon (Ita) Team Sky0:01:18 
5Marco Coledan (Ita) Trek-Segafredo0:01:24 
6Davide Martinelli (Ita) Etixx - Quick-Step0:01:36 
7Dario Cataldo (Ita) Astana Pro Team0:01:51 
8Fabio Felline (Ita) Trek-Segafredo0:01:54 
9Alan Marangoni (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling0:02:26 
10Marco Frapporti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec0:02:34 
11Tiziano Dall'antonia (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec0:03:31 
12Riccardo Stacchiotti (Ita) Nippo - Vini Fantini0:04:00 
13Giacomo Berlato (Ita) Nippo - Vini Fantini0:04:12 
14Alessandro Tonelli (Ita) Bardiani CSF0:04:17 
15Liam Bertazzo (Ita) Wilier Trestina-Southeast0:04:22 
16Mattia Cattaneo (Ita) Lampre - Merida0:04:31 
17Matteo Spreafico (Ita) Kolss-BDC Team0:04:42 
18Michele Scartezzini (Ita) Norda - Mg. K Vis0:04:46 
19Simone Antonini (Ita) Wanty - Groupe Gobert0:04:47 
20Iuri Filosi (Ita) Nippo - Vini Fantini0:05:35 
21Lorenzo Rota (Ita) Bardiani CSF0:06:14 
22Mirko Tedeschi (Ita) Wilier Trestina-Southeast0:06:33 
23Marco Bandiera (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec0:06:34 
24Samuele Conti (Ita) Wilier Trestina-Southeast0:06:49 
25Cristian Bianchini (Ita)0:07:57 
26Simone Sterbini (Ita) Bardiani CSF0:08:14 
27Paolo Lunardon (Ita) Amore & Vita - Selle SMP0:08:19 
28Manuel Cazzaro (Ita)0:08:46 
OTLOmar Saronni (Ita)0:18:19 

Related Articles

Back to top