Annie Foreman-Mackey wins Canadian road title

Defending champion Numainville second, Leah Kirchmann third

Canadian track rider Annie Foreman-Mackey (The Cyclery-Opus) pulled off an impressive upset in the women's road race at the Canadian Road Nationals in Ottawa on Saturday, winning solo by over a minute ahead of a field filled with road pros. Joelle Numainville (Cervelo Bigla) outsprinted Leah Kirchmann (Liv-Plantur) for second.

Foreman-Mackey, a member of Canada's world-class team pursuit squad, and a bronze medalist at the world championships in the Individual Pursuit, joined a breakaway on the fourth lap of 11, on a mostly flat 10 kilometre circuit. The break never gained more than 2:20 on the peloton, but persisted at the front of the field, as the top European and U.S.-based pros could not put together a consistent chase.

Jamie Gilgen (Visit Dallas DNA) started the break on the first lap, and was joined on the fourth lap by Gillian Ellsay (Trek Red Truck), Alizee Brien (Tibco-SVB) and Foreman-Mackey.

By the halfway mark the gap was approaching a minute and a half, with the two biggest domestic teams - The Cyclery-Opus and Trek Red Truck - having no interest in chasing. Karol-Ann Canuel (Boels-Dolman) and Kirchmann would periodically go to the front, and a brief surge would knock ten seconds off the lead, but as soon as they stopped the chase, the gap would start to grow again.

With less than five laps to go, Foreman-Mackey and Brien attacked, and only Gilgen was able to come across. As the race went under 40 kilometres to go, Gilgen was the next to get dropped from the leaders, but the gap had grown to over two minutes. Foreman-Mackey was doing much of the work, with Brien struggling to hold on and, with a lap and a half to go, the Tibco rider finally cracked, leaving Foreman-Mackey alone at the front.

The chase seemed to get briefly organized, with the split dipping below 90 seconds, but Foreman-Mackey looked strong, and kept ticking over the pedals. The reduced peloton finally gave up as the race entered the last lap, and started preparing for a sprint for second, allowing Foreman-Mackey to cruise to victory, before collapsing at the side of the course, after spending nearly 70 kilometres at the front.

Numainville, the defending champion, was first out of the final corner with just under 300 metres to go, holding off Kirchmann and Tara Whitten (The Cyclery-Opus) to take second.

Foreman-Mackey attributed her win to strong team support. "I didn't think the break was going to stick," she admitted, "I thought it was a bit too early. But I knew I had a lot of team mates back in the pack, so I was able to lay it out on the line, knowing that if it got caught, I had a whole bunch of team mates ready to go. So I was able to commit fully to the break. I couldn't be happier that it stayed away."

Numainville said "Annie had an amazing ride. We knew that she is an amazing young rider on the track. The Nationals is so tactical, and really hard to manage, and a lot of us are here on our own without teams.. When she [Foreman-Mackey] got up there, I knew she was a dangerous one. At the end of the day I pulled off a pretty good sprint, so I'm happy with my ride."

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Annie Foreman-Mackey (Can) The Cyclery-Opus2:52:44 
2Joelle Numainville (Can) Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team0:01:18 
3Leah Kirchmann (Can) Team Liv-Plantur  
4Tara Whitten (Can) The Cyclery-Opus  
5Alison Jackson (Can) Twenty16 RideBiker  
6Sara Bergen (Can) Trek Red Truck p/b Mosaic Homes  
7Ariane Bonhomme (Can) The Cyclery-Opus  
8Sara Poidevin (Can) Rally Cycling  
9Kinley Gibson (Can) Trek Red Truck p/b Mosaic Homes  
10Lex Albrecht (Can) BePink  
11Karol-Ann Canuel (Can) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam  
12Marie-Soleil Blais (Can) Cycle Neron/Specialized  
13Elisabeth Albert (Can) Independent  
14Diane Moug (Can) Folsom Bike / Trek  
15Justine Clift (Can) The Cyclery-Opus  
16Frederique Larose Gingras (Can) Équipe du Québec  
17Gabrielle Pilote-Fortin (Can) Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team  
18Catherine Ouellette (Can) Rally Cycling  
19Ashley Barson (Can) Rise Racing  
20Emily Flynn (Can) The Cyclery-Opus  
21Marine Lewis (Can) Bicycles Quilicot  
22Adriane Provost (Can) SAS-Macogep-Acquisio p/p Mazda  
23Allyson Gillard (Can) TRJ Télécom - Desjardins Ford  
24Amélie Bruneau (Can) The Cyclery-Opus  
25Denise Ramsden (Can) Trek Red Truck p/b Mosaic Homes  
26Luce Bourbeau (Can) SAS-Macogep-Acquisio p/p Mazda  
27Helene Pilote Fortin (Can) Stingray/Trek/Lacasse0:01:27 
28Ellen Watters (Can) The Cyclery-Opus  
29Miriam Brouwer (Can) The Cyclery-Opus  
30Elyse Nieuwold (Can) PHI Hotel Group/P-K Express p/b Holiday  
31Evelyne Gagnon (Can) Stingray/Trek/Lacasse  
32Carrie Cartmill (Can) The Cyclery-Opus0:01:33 
33Lindsay Sferrazza (Can) Kallisto-FCV p/b Toyo Tires0:06:19 
34Sarah Anne Rasmussen (Can) SAS-Macogep-Acquisio p/p Mazda0:07:22 
35Isabelle Mayrand (Can) Équipe Iris  
36Alizée Brien (Can) Team TIBCO - Silicon Valley Bank0:07:28 
37Joyce Spruyt (Can) Rise Racing0:08:17 
38Sophie Bernard (Can) Cyclery Racing0:08:45 
39Sara Giovannetti (Can) Kurzawinski Coach - Bike Zone0:12:03 
40Jodi Wendland (Can) Velo Outaouais  
41Emily Marcolini (Can) PHI Hotel Group/P-K Express p/b Holiday0:12:28 
42Dominique Danco (Can) TRJ Télécom - Desjardins Ford0:12:45 
43Elise Piedalue (Can) Équipe du Québec  
44Gillian Ellsay (Can) Trek Red Truck p/b Mosaic Homes0:12:49 
45Kate Heckman (Can) Dark Horse Flyers Cycling Club0:15:04 
46Janie Rioux-Coulombe (Can) TRJ Télécom - Desjardins Ford0:15:55 
DNFKaitlyn Steeves (Can) NCCH p/b DEC Express  
DNFSuzanne Hamilton (Can) Trek Red Truck p/b Mosaic Homes  
DNFCaroline Boileau (Can) Cycling Team  
DNFMolly Mccracken (Can) Dark Horse Flyers Cycling Club  
DNFCatherine Strus (Can) Kallisto-FCV p/b Toyo Tires  
DNFTara Macdonald (Can) NCCH p/b DEC Express  
DNFCatherine Dessureault (Can) SAS-Macogep-Acquisio p/p Mazda  
DNFAnne-Marie B. Morin (Can) Stingray/Trek/Lacasse  
DNFGeneviève Fradet-Carlos (Can) Stingray/Trek/Lacasse  
DNFCoco Helbig (Can) Velo iBike  
DNFCaroline Poole (Can) Velo iBike  
DNFJamie Gilgen (Can) Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling  
DNFDafné Théroux-Izquierdo (Can) BZK  
DNFMarina Aspen (Can) Team Saskatchewan  
DNFRoxanne Pépin (Can) IAMGOLD  
DNFSarah Mason (Can) Rise Racing  
DNFMélyssa Fortin (Can) TRJ Télécom - Desjardins Ford  
DNFAnna Talman (Can) Trek Red Truck p/b Mosaic Homes  
DNFOlivia Baril (Can) Équipe du Québec  
DNSKatherine Maine (Can) Rally Cycling  


Back to top