Van Aert solos to victory in Zilvermeercross

Wout Van Aert (Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace Cycling Team) gives a victory salute after winning Koppenbergcross

Wout Van Aert (Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace Cycling Team) gives a victory salute after winning Koppenbergcross (Image credit: Tim de Waele/

Wout Van Aert (Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace Cycling Team) took a solo victory at the UCI C2 Zilvermeercross held in Belgium on Sunday. Laurens Sweeck (Corendon - KwadrO Cycling Team) rode in alone for second place, leaving third place to Tom Meeusen (Telenet Fidea Cycling Team).

Sweeck put forth an impressive performance as he led the race mid-way, and showed his strength when he opened a small gap through the sand pit ahead of a small group of chasers that included Van Aert, Mathieu van der Poel (BKCP - Powerplus Cycling Team), Meeusen and Corné Van Kessel (Telenet Fidea Cycling Team), Rob Peeters (Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace Cycling Team), Philipp Walsleben (BKCP - Powerplus Cycling Team) and Klaas Vantornout (Sunweb - Napoleon Games Cycling Team).

Van Aert led the chase and brought Sweeck back into the mix. On the next lap Van Aert tried to distance himself from the others with little success.

Meeusen was the only rider to hop the barriers through the sand, skills that came in handy as he gained a small amount of time of the others. Again, it was Van Aert that brought him back, followed by van der Poel. The trio set off while Walsleben followed closely behind with Sweeck and the pair rejoined their competitors up front half a lap later.

Sweeck put in another dig and gained a small margin with Walsleben in tow. Meeusen picked up the pace behind and brought the duo back, and the group of five was back together.

Sweeck’s attacks were relentless and he put in a third attempt to rid the chasers. Alone off the front, he looked the strongest of the riders, especially on the run through the sand pit.

Van Aert followed Sweeck as the lone chaser, roughly five seconds back. A further 10 seconds back, Peeters led the second chase group with Meeusen, Walsleben and van der Poel along with Bart Aernouts (Corendon - KwadrO Cycling Team).

On the penultimate lap, Van Aert made it across to Sweeck and the pair raced against one another for the win. Sweeck lost time, however, on a small ride-up where he was forced to get off his bike and run behind Van Aert, who quickly rode over the top.

Van Aert extended his lead through the sand and started the last lap with a significant lead, while Sweeck was left to chase in second place. The small group of chasers behind raced one another for the third spot on the podium. Meeusen hopped the barriers one last time and gained the gap he needed to take third place.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Wout Van Aert (Bel) Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace Cycling Team1:01:07
2Laurens Sweeck (Bel) Corendon - KwadrO Cycling Team0:00:24
3Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:00:35
4Mathieu van der Poel (Ned) BKCP - Powerplus Cycling Team0:00:42
5Rob Peeters (Bel) Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace Cycling TeamRow 4 - Cell 2
6Bart Aernouts (Bel) Corendon - KwadrO Cycling Team0:00:49
7Corné Van Kessel (Ned) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:01:01
8Philipp Walsleben (Bel) BKCP - Powerplus Cycling Team0:01:04
9Jens Adams (Bel) Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace Cycling Team0:01:08
10Wietse Bosmans (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus0:01:18
11Joeri Adams (Bel) Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace Cycling Team0:01:44
12Yannick Peeters (Bel) Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace Cycling Team0:01:48
13Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb - Napoleon Games Cycling Team0:01:51
14Martin Bina (Cze) Corendon - KwadrO Cycling Team0:02:13
15Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:02:22
16Jan Denuwelaere (Bel) Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace Cycling Team0:02:40
17Dave De Cleyn (Bel) Cycling Team Zemst VZW0:03:55
18Thijs Aerts (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:04:21
19Thijs Van Amerongen (Ned) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:04:28
20Kevin Cant (Bel) Corendon - KwadrO Cycling Team0:04:33
21Vincent Baestaens (Bel)0:05:18
22Jelle Schuermans (Bel)0:06:44

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Kirsten Frattini
Women's Editor

Kirsten Frattini is an honours graduate of Kinesiology and Health Science from York University in Toronto, Canada. She has been involved in cycling from the community and grassroots level to professional cycling's WorldTour. She has worked in both print and digital publishing, and started with Cyclingnews as a North American Correspondent in 2006. Moving into a Production Editor's role in 2014, she produces and publishes international race coverage for all men's and women's races including Spring Classics, Grand Tours, World Championships and Olympic Games, and writes and edits news and features. As the Women's Editor at Cyclingnews, Kirsten also coordinates and oversees the global coverage of races, news, features and podcasts about women's professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews