Skip to main content

Navarro wins on uphill finish

Dani Navarro (Cofidis) beat Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) and Bauke Mollema (Blanco Cycling) on a testing uphill finish to win the Vuelta a Murcia.

The Spanish race has been reduced from a stage race to a one-day event, but it still attracted a quality field of riders keen to race in the warmer conditions of southern Europe.

The Movistar and Blanco teams rode to set up their leaders in the final kilometres, but Navarro was far too strong in the final surge to the line and had the strength to beat Mollema and Valverde.

Robert Gesink (Team Blanco) finished fourth after working for Mollema in the finale. Luis Ángel Maté (Cofidis) was fifth, Igor Antón (Euskaltel-Euskadi) sixth, Davide Rebellin (CC Polsat) seventh and Jakob Fuglsang (Astana) was eighth.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Daniel Navarro Garcia (Spa) Cofidis, Solutions Credits4:40:32
2Bauke Mollema (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team
3Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) Movistar Team
4Robert Gesink (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team
5Luis Angel Mate Mardones (Spa) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
6Igor Anton Hernandez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
7Davide Rebellin (Ita) CCC Polsat Polkowice
8Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team
9Jonathan Hivert (Fra) Sojasun
10Enzo Moyano (Arg) Caja Rural
11Nairo Alexander Quintana Rojas (Col) Movistar Team0:00:03
12Egor Silin (Rus) Astana Pro Team0:00:06
13Jerome Coppel (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits0:00:07
14José Joao Pimenta Costa Mendes (Por) Team NetApp-Endura0:00:08
15Wouter Poels (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team0:00:26
16Nicolas Edet (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits0:00:28
17Martijn Keizer (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team0:00:44
18Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team0:00:46
19Janez Brajkovic (Slo) Astana Pro Team
20Laurens Ten Dam (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team0:00:49
21Ruben Perez Moreno (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
22Iker Camano Ortuzar (Spa) Team NetApp-Endura
23David Arroyo Duran (Spa) Caja Rural
24Karol Domagalski (Pol) Caja Rural
25Samuel Sanchez Gonzalez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi0:00:53
26Tristan Valentin (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits0:01:11
27David De La Cruz Melgarejo (Spa) Team NetApp-Endura
28Ricardo Mestre (Por) Euskaltel-Euskadi
29Andrey Zeits (Kaz) Astana Pro Team
30Fabien Schmidt (Fra) Sojasun0:01:42
31Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar Team0:01:56
32Juan Manuel Garate (Spa) Blanco Pro Cycling Team0:02:17
33Rob Ruijgh (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
34Ruben Fernandez (Spa) Caja Rural0:02:22
35Kevin Seeldraeyers (Bel) Astana Pro Team0:02:52
36Ruben Plaza Molina (Spa) Movistar Team0:03:42
37Mikel Bizkarra (Spa) EUK0:06:37
38Jesus Herrada Lopez (Spa) Movistar Team0:07:01
39Cesare Benedetti (Ita) Team NetApp-Endura0:10:20
40Jan Barta (Cze) Team NetApp-Endura
41Fredrik Carl Wilhelm Kessiakoff (Swe) Astana Pro Team
42Antonio Piedra Perez (Spa) Caja Rural
43Yannick Talabardon (Fra) Sojasun
44Bartosz Huzarski (Pol) Team NetApp-Endura
45Lukasz Owsian (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice
46Juan Jose Oroz Ugalde (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi0:11:57
47Maurits Lammertink (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team0:15:38
48Aritz Bagües (Spa) EUK0:17:22
49Carlos Barbero Cuesta (Spa) EUK
50Tanel Kangert (Est) Astana Pro Team
51Jon Larrinaga (Spa)
52Paul Poux (Fra) Sojasun
53Danail Andonov Petrov (Bul) Caja Rural
54Yelko Gomez (Pan) Caja Rural
55Igor Merino Cortazar (Spa) EUK
56Leopold Konig (Cze) Team NetApp-Endura0:17:27
57Stef Clement (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team0:20:38
58Mikel Iturria (Spa) EUK
59Adrian Honkisz (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice
60Daniel Schorn (Aut) Team NetApp-Endura
61Tomasz Kiendys (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice
62Illart Zuazubiskar Gallastegi (Spa) EUK
63Nikolay Mihaylov (Bul) CCC Polsat Polkowice
64Gert Joeaar (Est) Cofidis, Solutions Credits0:20:41
65David Tanner (Aus) Blanco Pro Cycling Team
DNFPablo Lastras Garcia (Spa) Movistar Team
DNFPablo Urtasun Perez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
DNFMarcos Garcia (Spa) Caja Rural
DNFJosé Herrada Lopez (Spa) Movistar Team
DNFJuan Jose Cobo Acebo (Spa) Movistar Team
DNFBrice Feillu (Fra) Sojasun
DNFPim Ligthart (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
DNFJuan Jose Lobato Del Valle (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
DNFCyril Bessy (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
DNFNikita Novikov (Rus) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
DNFMark Renshaw (Aus) Blanco Pro Cycling Team
DNFSimone Ponzi (Ita) Astana Pro Team
DNFStéphane Poulhies (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
DNFMaxime Mederel (Fra) Sojasun
DNFTarik Chaoufi (Mar) Euskaltel-Euskadi
DNFPiotr Gawronski (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice
DNFPawel Charucki (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice
DNFMateusz Taciak (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice
DNFUnai Iparragirre (Spa) EUK
DNFBarry Markus (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews