Ryan Aitcheson wins Glencoe Grand Prix

The Astellas Cycling Team

The Astellas Cycling Team (Image credit: Tim de Waele/TDWSport.com)

Ryan Aitcheson (Astellas Cyling Team) took top honors at the 10th Annual Glencoe Grand Prix presented by the Illinois Bone and Joint Institute, held outside of Chicago, Illinois. The Canadian’s second win at the TUFMED USA CRITS SERIES came out of a sprint after lapping the main field with Bryan Gomez (Gateway Harley-Davidson/Trek U25) and Ryan Knapp (First Internet Bank Cycling), who finished second and third, respectively.

On the same course that was used for the 2010 U.S. Criterium Nationals, 72 riders set off on a challenging 10-corner, 2.2 km circuit that equated to around 80 km of racing.

Knapp was the first rider to take a crack off the front and stretch out a significant advantage of 30 seconds, 10 laps into the race.

After letting Knapp enjoy some solo time off the front, Ryan Aitcheson, who was sitting fourth overall in the Series at the start of the seventh race, decided the move turned dangerous and attacked out of the field. Gomez saw an opportunity to get into a break with this year’s winner of Athens Twilight and went along for the ride.

“Knapp is definitely someone to keep an eye out for,” Aitchenson said about the decision to bridge. “He’s been on the radar for a few years. We used to be teammates, so I know exactly how strong he is. I knew it was tempting to let him sit out there a little longer, but it was getting dangerous really quick.”

It took about 10 laps, but Aitcheson and Gomez finally made the connection as they came through the start/finish with 26 laps left in the race. The three worked well together, good enough, in fact, to eventually lap the field with six laps remaining.

“It ended up rolling,” Aitcheson said. “I was quite surprised. I was waiting for more guys to come up and help us, but we pulled pretty hard and we ended up lapping, which I surprised about.

With the original break safely in the field, it was down to their teammates to negotiate the top three through the bunch for final placings. First Internet Bank Cycling team set a fierce tempo for Knapp until inside two laps to go, when Astellas came to the front for Aitcheson.

Current BikeReg Best Young Rider Eamon Lucas was the last Astellas rider to lead Aitcheson through the final corner. Gomez was firmly stuck on his wheel, but failed to come around the Canadian.

Maxwell Ackermann (Gateway Harley-Davidson/Trek U25) won the bunch sprint out of the lapped field to take home fourth place.

In the TUFMED USA CRITS standings, Thomas Gibbons (Unattached) maintained his lead with 1223 points. Aitcheson moved up into second with 1119, and his teammate Lucas is sitting in third with 1092 points.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Ryan Aitcheson (USA) Astellas Cycling Team1:53:08
2Bryan Gomez (Col) Gateway Harley-Davidson TrekRow 1 - Cell 2
3Ryan Knapp (USA) First Internet Bank CyclingRow 2 - Cell 2
4Maxwell Ackermann (USA) Gateway Harley-Davidson TrekRow 3 - Cell 2
5Eamon Lucas (USA) Astellas Cycling Team0:00:01
6Benjamin Renkema (USA) Team Finish Strong0:00:02
7Grant Erhard (USA) Summit Wealth StrategiesRow 6 - Cell 2
8Ed Veal (USA) RealDealD'Ornellas pb Garneau0:00:03
9Thomas Gibbons (USA)Row 8 - Cell 2
10Adam Myerson (USA) Cycle-SmartRow 9 - Cell 2
11Trevor O'donnell (Can) RealDealD'Ornellas pb GarneauRow 10 - Cell 2
12Paul Martin (USA) First Internet Bank CyclingRow 11 - Cell 2
13John Harris (USA) GREEN LINE VELO driven by ZipcarRow 12 - Cell 2
14Dennis Ramirez (USA) Gateway Harley-Davidson Trek0:00:04
15Robert Sroka (USA) First Internet Bank Cycling0:00:05
16Eric Thompson (USA) Donkey Label Racing0:00:06
17Joshua Johnson (USA) Bissell ABG GiantRow 16 - Cell 2
18Rudyard Peterson (USA) Credite' Velo TREKRow 17 - Cell 2
19Matt Salpietro (USA) Texas Roadhouse CyclingRow 18 - Cell 2
20Anton Varabei (USA) RealDealD'Ornellas pb GarneauRow 19 - Cell 2
21Andrew Giniat (USA) EGO pb Sammy's BikesRow 20 - Cell 2
22Parker Kyzer (USA) Team Finish Strong0:00:07
23Rahsaan Bahati (USA) Bahati-WTR0:00:08
24Maxwell Anderson (USA) LAPT - Wilde SubaruRow 23 - Cell 2
25Brian Kaker (USA) LAPT - Wilde Subaru0:00:12
26Hogan Sills (USA) Bissell ABG GiantRow 25 - Cell 2
27Jack Mccann (USA) First Internet Bank Cycling0:00:13
28Luke Momper (USA) Summit Wealth Strategies0:00:17
29Chris Arndt (USA) LAPT - Wilde SubaruRow 28 - Cell 2
30Robert White (USA) Avant Cycling pb Precision Plus0:00:18
31Bill Mulligan (USA) GDVCRow 30 - Cell 2
32Matthew Kelley (USA) Summit Wealth Strategies0:00:19
33Justin Meade (USA) Team Finish StrongRow 32 - Cell 2
34Michael Keller (USA) Bissell ABG Giant0:00:21
35Levon Kalemkiarian (USA) Donkey Label RacingRow 34 - Cell 2
36Tristin Bentzler (USA) Donkey Label RacingRow 35 - Cell 2
37Andrew House (Can) To Wheels Epic Sports Performance BCC0:00:22
38Stephen Wagstaff (USA) LAPT - Wilde Subaru0:00:23
39Eric Hill (USA) LAPT - Wilde Subaru0:00:25
40Matt Moosa (USA) Team Finish Strong0:00:27
41Ian Keough (USA) Astellas Cycling Team0:00:28
42Clay Murfet (USA) Astellas Cycling TeamRow 41 - Cell 2
43Kirk Albers (USA) First Internet Bank CyclingRow 42 - Cell 2
44John Woods (USA) First Internet Bank Cycling0:00:29
45John Becker (USA) First Internet Bank Cycling0:00:49
46Fletcher Lydick (USA) Team Finish Strong0:01:33
47Johnny Mitchell (USA) Team Finish StrongRow 46 - Cell 2
48Travis Lyons (USA) Team Mike's Bikes pb Equator Co0:01:58
49Alexander Voitik (USA) EGO pb Sammy's Bikes0:11:52
50Joshua Kush (USA) Clarksville Schwinn powered byRow 49 - Cell 2
51Jarret Oldham (USA) Clarksville Schwinn powered by0:12:30
52Scott Ogilvie (USA) Dogfish RacingRow 51 - Cell 2
53Kyle Selph (USA) EGO pb Sammy's BikesRow 52 - Cell 2
54Tim Speciale (USA) EGO pb Sammy's Bikes0:13:08
55Tim Burton (Can) RealDealD'Ornellas pb GarneauRow 54 - Cell 2
56Sven Gartner (USA) EGO pb Sammy's BikesRow 55 - Cell 2
57Adam Mcclurg (USA) LAPT - Wilde SubaruRow 56 - Cell 2
58Ryan White (USA) Velo CauseRow 57 - Cell 2
59Shane Feehery (USA) Summit Wealth StrategiesRow 58 - Cell 2
60Nathan Labecki (USA) Giant Racing pb IntelligentsiaRow 59 - Cell 2
DNFJohn Kuhfahl (USA) xXx Racing-AthleticoRow 60 - Cell 2
DNFAaron Beebe (USA) Bissell ABG GiantRow 61 - Cell 2
DNFChad Hartley (USA) Giant Racing pb IntelligentsiaRow 62 - Cell 2
DNFKonrad Witt (USA) Athletes By DesignRow 63 - Cell 2
DNFTrevor Rolette (USA) EGO pb Sammy's BikesRow 64 - Cell 2
DNFPeter Kelley (USA) Team Bicycle HeavenRow 65 - Cell 2
DNFJoshua Carter (USA) EGO pb Sammy's BikesRow 66 - Cell 2
DNFJordan Diekema (USA) Bissell ABG GiantRow 67 - Cell 2
DNFJohn Leach (USA) Bissell ABG GiantRow 68 - Cell 2
DNFJeff Schiller (Can) To Wheels Epic Sports Performance BCCRow 69 - Cell 2
DNFDaniel Gay (USA) Gateway Harley-Davidson TrekRow 70 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews