Skip to main content

Gilgen solos to Glencoe Grand Prix Win

The women's field rides together at the Winston-Salem Classic criterium before more attacks.

The women's field rides together at the Winston-Salem Classic criterium before more attacks. (Image credit: Jonathan Devich/

Jamie Gilgen took a convincing solo win under rainy skies at the Glencoe GP. Racing with no teammates, the Visit Dallas DNA Racing rider moved into fourth place in the Series after a successful late attack on breakaway companion, Sarah Fader (unattached) who finished second, 30 seconds behind. Daphne Karagianis (Chicago Cuttin' Crew) won the field sprint for third place.

Gilgen was aggressive from the word “go” during the 50 kilometre race almost immediately cutting the front group down to 12 riders from the original 30.

Halfway through the race, Rachel Langdon took off, taking 2014 Glencoe winner Fader along. Gilgen and Amelia Moore (Chicago Cuttin' Crew) quickly bridged and gained an advantage of around 15 seconds with 15 laps to go.

Langdon fell off the pace, then Moore had to fall out of the chase because of a mechanical. Just Gilgen and Fader remained in the breakaway with five laps left.

Gilgen, who had been doing much of the driving at the front of the breakaway, turned it up another notch after sensing a closing peloton. Her tempo shook off Fader with two laps to go and through gritted teeth she held off her competitors to take the win.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jamie Gilgen (USA) Visit Dallas DNA Cycling1:14:41
2Sarah Fader (USA)0:00:26
3Daphne Karagianis (USA) Chicago Cuttin' Crew0:00:32
4Ashley Barson (Can) Rise Racing0:00:33
5Holly Mathews (USA) ISCorp pb Smart Choice MRI
6Briana Clark (USA) First Internet Bank Cycling
7Christine Thornburg (USA) Psimet Racing
8Kelsey Devereaux (USA) First Internet Bank Cycling
9Tess Oliver (USA) QCW Cycling pb JLVelo0:00:34
10Amelia Moore (USA) Chicago Cuttin' Crew0:00:38
11Jannette Rho (USA) Chicago Cuttin' Crew0:01:23
12Rachel Langdon (USA) First Internet Bank Cycling0:01:54
13Tabitha Sherwood (USA) ISCorp pb Smart Choice MRI
14Andrea Pether (USA) ISCorp pb Smart Choice MRI
15Maria Larkin (USA) Chicago Cuttin Crew
16Sierra Siebenlist (USA) Women's Racing Project
17Kayla Doan (USA) KS Energy Services-Team Wisconsin
18Anne Meyer (USA) University of Iowa Heart and Vascular Care-Specialized
19Sarah Demerly (USA) First Internet Bank Cycling
20Julie Sanchez (USA) Women's Project Pedal pb Vo2
21Francine Haas (USA) PACT Dish Network Cycling
22Cathy Frampton (USA) PSIMET Racing
23Leah Sanda (USA) PSIMET Racing

Latest on Cyclingnews