Hecht wins US Open of Cyclocross opener

Gage Hecht took the win during the opening day of the US Open of Cyclcoross Saturday in Boulder, Colorado.

A 47-rider field took to the dusty course at the end of the day for the Elite Men. It would be Hecht (Alpha Bicycle Co./ Groove Subaru), Eric Brunner (Full Cycle Cyclocross Team), Lance Haidet (Donnelly Sports) and Cody Kaiser (LangeTwins / Specialized) surging to the front after the holeshot at Valmont Bike Park.

Hecht, 20, would push the pace and create a gap to the chasers after the first three of 11 laps. No one closed the gap to Hecht, who would win his first ProCX title of the season in a time of 1 hour, 5 minutes, 7 seconds.

“It was really fun. I like having some open roads in front of me,” said Hecht, who won two U23 national titles in 2018 (criterium and time trial). “It was a good day and I’m really happy with it.”

Brunner and Haidet matched the pace set by Hecht for the first few laps, with Kaiser dropping back for a solo fourth place. On lap five, Hecht had a 13-second lead over Haidet, and a 21-second gap to Brunner. That would be the order of finish at the end of the contest, with Haidet crossing the line 33 seconds after Hecht. Brunner would finish another 20 seconds later to secure third. Kaiser would hold on for fourth.

“There was really good competition out there,” added Hecht. “Lance (Haidet) was keeping me honest the entire race. Eric (Brunner) was with me the entire first three laps and really pushing me.”


Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Gage Hecht (USA)1:05:07
2Lance Haidet (USA)0:00:33
3Eric Brunner (USA)0:00:53
4Cody Kaiser (USA)0:01:07
5Garry Millburn (Aus)0:01:11
6Caleb Swartz (USA)0:01:12
7Troy Wells (USA)0:01:35
8Allen Krughoff (USA)0:01:40
9Ross Ellwood (USA)0:01:45
10Stephan Davoust (USA)0:01:46
11Grant Ellwood (USA)0:01:55
12Justin Lindine (USA)0:02:01
13Brian Matter (USA)0:02:09
14Brannan Fix (USA)0:02:19
15Yannick Eckmann (USA)0:02:52
16Jack Tanner (USA)Row 15 - Cell 2
17Kevin Bradford-Parish (USA)0:03:21
18Bjorn Selander (USA)0:03:38
19Mitchell Hoke (USA)0:04:06
20Ian Mcpherson (USA)0:04:07
21Samuel O'keefe (USA)0:04:29
22Samuel Dolzani (USA)0:04:38
23Mark Flis (USA)0:04:46
24Alec Pasqualina (USA)0:05:34
25Maxx Chance (USA)0:06:39
26Allan Schroeder (USA)-3 laps
27Josh Direen (USA)-3 laps
28Terol Pursell (USA)-4 laps
29Greg Lewis (USA)-4 laps
30Russell Stevenson (USA)-4 laps
31Nathaniel Vacura (USA)-4 laps
32Jakub Valigura (Cze)-4 laps
33Campbell Watson (USA)-4 laps
34Skyler Mackey (USA)-5 laps
35Stephen Cochran (USA)-5 laps
36Zachary Dolzani (USA)-5 laps
37Christian Culpepper (USA)-5 laps
38Kobi Gyetvan (USA)-5 laps
39Rhys Louis (USA)-6 laps
40Ryan Rinn (USA)-6 laps
41Aaron Vaughn (USA)-6 laps
42Ian Megale (USA)-6 laps
43William Allen (USA)-6 laps
44Garrett Gerchar (USA)-7 laps
45Cassidy Keeland (USA)-8 laps
DNFKyle Johnson (USA)Row 45 - Cell 2
DNFDenzel Stephenson (USA)Row 46 - Cell 2
DNSScott Funston (USA)Row 47 - Cell 2
DNSJonathan Anderson (USA)Row 48 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews