Van Dijk takes fourth women's TT title

Ellen van Dijk (Netherlands) won her fourth consecutive European time trial title in Alkmaar, dominating on the 22.4km course, despite some recent back problems. Van Dijk set a time of 28:07, beating Lisa Klein of Germany by 30 seconds. Compatriot Lucinda Brand was third at 52 seconds.

32-year-old Van Dijk has won every time trial title since the creation of the European road race championships in 2016 and seemed in control on the course that raced through the flat country roads out and back of Allkmaar despite some cross wind.

Klein has taken two bronze and silver in recent years but again failed to better van Dijk. It is the second European title for the Netherlands after they won the new mixed team time trial event on Wednesday. With the individual time trial coming just 24 hours later, van Dijk was not part of the mixed team time trial line-up, saving herself for the individual time trial.

"If you look at he results, it perhaps seemed easy, just a case of getting to the start and grabbing gold. But the preparation was difficult due to back problems,” van Dijk explained.

“That is why this title is so special. It could have gone bad or it could have gone well. Fortunately it went well. This is also a boost for the world championships." 


Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Ellen van Dijk (Netherlands)28:07:00
2Lisa Klein (Germany)0:00:30
3Lucinda Brand (Netherlands)0:00:52
4Vita Heine (Norway)0:00:54
5Anna Kiesenhofer (Austria)0:01:03
6Mieke Kröger (Germany)0:01:07
7Hayley Simmonds (Great Britain)0:01:14
8Pernille Mathiesen (Denmark)0:01:15
9Alice Barnes (Great Britain)Row 8 - Cell 2
10Kelly Murphy (Ireland)0:01:27
11Vittoria Bussi (Italy)0:01:40
12Anna Turvey (Ireland)0:01:53
13Rotem Gafinovitz (Israel)0:01:55
14Séverine Eraud (France)0:01:58
15Valeriya Kononenko (Ukraine)0:02:16
16Tatsiana Sharakova (Belarus)0:02:28
17Ann-sophie Duyck (Belgium)0:02:31
18Yelyzaveta Oshurkova (Russia)0:02:48
19Julie Van De Velde (Belgium)0:02:52
20Anastasiia Pliaskina (Russia)0:03:03
21Mia Radotic (Croatia)0:03:09
22Liisi Rist (Estonia)0:03:11
23Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (Denmark)0:03:14
24Gloria Rodríguez (Spain)0:03:15
25Katazyna Sosna (Lithuania)0:03:27
26Tetyana Riabchenko (Ukraine)0:03:33
27Tereza Korvasova (Czech Republic)0:03:36
28Lourdes Oyarbide (Spain)0:04:02
29Jarmila Machacova (Czech Republic)0:04:23
30Tatiana Jaseková (Slovakia)0:04:53
31Daniela Reis (Portugal)0:05:05

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews