Flückiger claims victory in Les Gets World Cup

Mathis Flueckiger
Mathis Flueckiger (Image credit: Getty Images)

For the second consecutive XCO World Cup, Mathias Flückiger (Thomus RN Swiss Bike) completed a perfect weekend of racing in Les Gets, France, winning the Short Track (XCC) on Friday and then the XCO on Sunday. Ondrej Cink (Kross Orlen) finished second to Flückiger in both races for the second consecutive World Cup, while world champion Jordan Sarrou (Specialized) gave the French fans something to cheer about with his third place. Tom Pidcock (Ines Grenedier), back for his first race after breaking his collarbone, was not a factor, appearing to have crashed in the opening lap by his ripped shorts, and then sliding well back before withdrawing from the race.

The rain that began on Saturday during the Downhill turned the course into a muddy, slippery mess. Almost every rider went down at some point, with the off camber grass descents sending riders sliding out of control.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Full Results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathias Flueckiger (Swi) 1:27:33
2Ondřej Cink (Cze) 0:00:25
3Jordan Sarrou (Fra) 0:00:35
4Alan Hatherly (RSA) 0:00:39
5Nino Schurter (Swi) 0:01:21
6Daniele Braidot (Ita) 0:01:24
7Simon Andreassen (Den) 0:01:32
8Luca Braidot (Ita) 0:01:44
9Lars Forster (Swi) 0:01:55
10Nadir Colledani (Ita) 0:01:58
11Milan Vader (Ned) 0:02:46
12Antoine Philipp (Fra) 0:02:49
13Thomas Griot (Fra) 0:02:55
14Vlad Dascalu (Rom) 0:03:08
15Jens Schuermans (Bel) 0:03:12
16Anton Cooper (NZl) 0:03:16
17Marcel Guerrini (Swi)
18Stephane Tempier (Fra) 0:03:18
19David Valero Serrano (Spa) 0:03:19
20Maxime Marotte (Fra) 0:03:40
21Andri Frischknecht (Swi) 0:04:03
22Victor Koretzky (Fra) 0:04:12
23Pierre De Froidmont (Bel) 0:04:13
24Luca Schwarzbauer (Ger)
25Joshua Dubau (Fra) 0:04:21
26Gioele Bertolini (Ita) 0:04:25
27Pablo Rodriguez Guede (Spa) 0:04:35
28Thomas Litscher (Swi) 0:04:53
29Martin Fanger (Swi) 0:05:31
30Christopher Blevins (USA) 0:05:41
31Samuel Gaze (NZl) 0:05:43
32Reto Indergand (Swi) 0:05:57
33Jofre Cullell Estape (Spa) 0:06:04
34Mário Costa (Por) 0:06:16
35Bartlomiej Wawak (Pol) 0:06:19
36Anton Sintsov (Rus) 0:06:27
37Maximilian Brandl (Ger) 0:06:30
38Jonas Lindberg (Den) 0:06:33
39Sebastian Fini Carstensen (Den) 0:06:48
40Emil Lindgren (Swe) 0:06:50
41Leandre Bouchard (Can) 0:07:01
42Emil Hasund Eid (Nor) 0:07:09
43Filippo Colombo (Swi) 0:07:19
44Ben Oliver (NZl) 0:07:20
45Peter Disera (Can) 0:07:22
46Simon Vitzthum (Swi) 0:07:36
47Martins Blums (Lat) 0:07:39
48Julian Schelb (Ger)
49Manuel Fumic (Ger) 0:07:41
50Sergio Mantecon Gutierrez (Spa) 0:08:05
51Lukáš Kobes (Cze) 0:08:07
52Andrin Beeli (Swi) 0:08:17
53Matthias Stirnemann (Swi) 0:08:18
54Vital Albin (Swi) 0:08:24
55Niklas Schehl (Ger) 0:08:27
56Jan Vastl (Cze) 0:08:51
57Lukas Flückiger (Swi) 0:09:05
58Marc Andre Fortier (Can) 0:09:17
59Ismael Esteban Aguero (Spa) 0:09:23
60David Nordemann (Ned) 0:09:35
61Quinton Disera (Can)
62Erik Hægstad (Nor)
63Matej Ulik (Svk)
64Sven Olivetti (Swi)
65Jan Škarnitzl (Cze)
66Bruno Vitali (Swi)
67Daniel Mcconnell (Aus)
68Nicholas Pettina' (Ita)
69Mirko Tabacchi (Ita)
70András Parti (Hun)
71Axel Lindh (Swe)
72Andrew L'Esperance (Can)
73Remy Duquesne (Fra)
74Pierre-Geoffroy Plantet (Fra)
75Basile Allard (Fra)
76Maximilian Foidl (Aut)
77Silas Graf (Ger)
78Lucas Dubau (Fra)
79Zsombor Palumby (Hun)
80Alessio Agostinelli (Ita)
81Anthony Zaragoza (Fra)
82Ursin Spescha (Swi)
83Maxime Loret (Fra)
84Patricio Farias Diaz (Chi)
85Clément Auvin (Fra)
86Anthony Bergeron (Can)
87Raphael Auclair (Can)
88Nicolas Lüthi (Swi)
89Dario Thoma (Swi)
90Michael Olsson (Swe)
91Zdeněk Vobecký (Cze)
92Pau Romero Barcelo (Spa)
93Tumelo Makae (Les)
94Victor Selles Pardo (Spa)
95Fabian Giger (Swi)
96Mickael Brunello (Fra)
97Vincent Jonatan Beckmann (Ger)
DNFGerhard Kerschbaumer (Ita)
DNFThomas Pidcock (GBr)
DNFTitouan Carod (Fra)
DNFGeorg Egger (Ger)
DNFShlomi Haimy (Isr)
DNSIvan Filatov (Rus)
DNSTimofei Ivanov (Rus)
DNSFrazer Clacherty (GBr)
DNSGioele De Cosmo (Ita)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews