Mathieu van der Poel dominant again in Hoogerheide

At only one week of the Valkenburg 2018 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships, Mathieu van der Poel (Corendon-Circus) won a fast edition of the GP Adrie van der Poel, the ninth and final Telenet UCI World Cup round of the season in Hoogerheide (Netherlands).

The 23-year-old Dutch rider was already certain of the overall victory in the World Cup. World champion Wout Van Aert (Crelan-Charles) was yet again runner-up, at short distance this time. Michael Vanthourenhout (Marlux-Bingoal) was third at nearly two minutes from the winner.

"It's good to win here but it took a lot of effort. My start was good but I had to shift back and from there the gap remained at about 15 seconds. I was unable to go faster but the same counted for Wout. It was important to avoid the mistakes," van der Poel said in the post-race flash interview.

The youngest son of the race organizer blasted away straight from the start on a grey and windy Sunday afternoon in Hoogerheide, near the Dutch-Belgian border.

On a fast but technical course, van der Poel was only seen back at the finish line. Van Aert didn't have a great start and by the time he moved into second position, van der Poel was long gone. Both riders rode flawlessly throughout the race and lapped no less than 39 riders during their duel.

"During the opening lap I was really bad. I was unable to follow straight at the start but luckily I had a front-row start position, otherwise I would've been further back when coming off the asphalt," a coughing Van Aert said in the post-race flash interview.

The Belgian rider did recover and he came up with a good fight. He made van der Poel work hard for the victory. "Luckily, I started going better and I was able to keep the pressure high on Mathieu. Halfway, the race it was hard to keep up the effort but in the final laps I felt much better. I'm satisfied about today," Van Aert said.

He crossed the line at only eight seconds from winner van der Poel. He's also the runner-up in the World Cup classification in which the top-five remained the same.

"The world championships are the only thing on my mind so this good results comes unexpectedly. The focus is on Valkenburg so I'm satisfied with this result at short distance from Mathieu," Van Aert said.

Nearly two minutes later, Michael Vanthourenhout clenched his fist after winning a hard-fought battle for the final podium spot over Laurens Sweeck (ERA-Circus). It was the first World Cup podium result of the season for Vanthourenhout, who never finished out of the top-10 in a World Cup round this season thus claiming fourth place in the World Cup classification, behind Toon Aerts (Telenet Fidea Lions) but just ahead of Sweeck.

"It's better to head off to the world championships with a good feeling. I'm satisfied with third place. I'm longing for the course in Valkenburg. I've seen it this week and it suits me. I’ve been third over there in the past," Vanthourenhout said. During the first half of the race he rode together with Sweeck but in the sixth of ten laps he dropped his compatriot. The latter fought back and two laps later the duo was back together. In the final lap Vanthourenhout managed to shake off Sweeck for good.

"I think he made a mistake in the forest and I got ten metres. From there it was about going flat out until the finish," Vanthourenhout said.

Half a minute later, Kevin Pauwels (Marlux-Bingoal) won the fight for sixth place over Aerts and Tim Merlier (Crelan-Charles). It was Pauwels’ answer for not being selected in the Belgian team for worlds. The 33 year-old didn't fit in the young selection after a somewhat anonymous season. Pauwels is sixth in the World Cup classification.

David van der Poel (Corendon-Circus) had his typical fast start but held on to a top-10 result, finishing eighth at nearly three minutes of his younger brother. Compatriot Lars van der Haar (Telenet Fidea Lions) was unable to repeat last year's victory. After an anonymous race he finished ninth, ahead of Michael Boros (Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice). The Czech held off three riders from the Telenet Fidea Lions team and French champion Steve Chainel (Chazal-Canyon).

For more of the Cyclingnews podcast, click here (opens in new tab).

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathieu Van Der Poel (Ned)1:05:54
2Wout Van Aert (Bel)0:00:08
3Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel)0:01:41
4Laurens Sweeck (Bel)0:01:58
5Kevin Pauwels (Bel)0:02:22
6Tim Merlier (Bel)0:02:24
7Toon Aerts (Bel)0:02:27
8David Van Der Poel (Ned)0:02:50
9Lars Van Der Haar (Ned)0:03:02
10Michael Boroš (Cze)0:03:14
11Quinten Hermans (Bel)0:03:25
12Corne Van Kessel (Ned)0:03:32
13Daan Soete (Bel)Row 12 - Cell 2
14Steve Chainel (Fra)0:03:43
15Gianni Vermeersch (Bel)0:03:44
16Felipe Orts Lloret (Spa)0:03:53
17Gioele Bertolini (Ita)0:04:12
18Marcel Meisen (Ger)0:04:37
19Jim Aernouts (Bel)0:04:39
20Nicolas Cleppe (Bel)0:04:42
21Jens Adams (Bel)0:04:50
22Diether Sweeck (Bel)0:04:55
23Stephen Hyde (USA)0:04:59
24Tom Meeusen (Bel)0:05:05
25Matthieu Boulo (Fra)0:05:10
26David Menut (Fra)0:05:23
27Luca Braidot (Ita)0:05:29
28Marcel Wildhaber (Swi)0:05:34
29Severin Sägesser (Swi)0:05:41
30Jan Nesvadba (Cze)0:06:03
31Marco Aurelio Fontana (Ita)-1 Lap
32Martin Haring (Svk)Row 31 - Cell 2
33Ismael Esteban Aguero (Spa)Row 32 - Cell 2
34Nicolas Samparisi (Ita)Row 33 - Cell 2
35Kevin Suarez Fernandez (Spa)Row 34 - Cell 2
36Lorenzo Samparisi (Ita)Row 35 - Cell 2
37Kerry Werner (USA)Row 36 - Cell 2
38Francis Mourey (Fra)Row 37 - Cell 2
39Ian Field (GBr)Row 38 - Cell 2
40Twan Van Den Brand (Ned)Row 39 - Cell 2
41Javier Ruiz De Larrinaga Ibañez (Spa)Row 40 - Cell 2
42Aitor Hernandez Gutierrez (Spa)Row 41 - Cell 2
43Jack Kisseberth (USA)Row 42 - Cell 2
44Patrick Van Leeuwen (Ned)Row 43 - Cell 2
45Michael Van Den Ham (Can)Row 44 - Cell 2
46Manuel Müller (Ger)Row 45 - Cell 2
47Vincent Dias Dos Santos (Lux)Row 46 - Cell 2
48Jeremy Powers (USA)Row 47 - Cell 2
49Eric Thompson (USA)Row 48 - Cell 2
50Florian Trigo (Fra)Row 49 - Cell 2
51Thijs Van Amerongen (Ned)Row 50 - Cell 2
52Emil Hekele (Cze)Row 51 - Cell 2
53Cody Kaiser (USA)Row 52 - Cell 2
54Gusty Bausch (Lux)Row 53 - Cell 2
55Yu Takenouchi (Jpn)Row 54 - Cell 2
56Garry Millburn (Aus)Row 55 - Cell 2
57Ondrej Glajza (Svk)Row 56 - Cell 2
58Daniele Braidot (Ita)Row 57 - Cell 2
59Hikaru Kosaka (Jpn)Row 58 - Cell 2
60Max Lindenau (Ger)Row 59 - Cell 2
61Scott Thiltges (Lux)Row 60 - Cell 2
62Ulrich Theobald (Ger)Row 61 - Cell 2
63Mark Mcconnell (Can)Row 62 - Cell 2
64Philipp Heigl (Aut)Row 63 - Cell 2
65Joachim Parbo (Den)Row 64 - Cell 2
66Tyler Cloutier (USA)Row 65 - Cell 2
67Martin Eriksson (Swe)Row 66 - Cell 2
68Yannick Mayer (Ger)Row 67 - Cell 2
69Glenn Kinning (Irl)Row 68 - Cell 2
DNFStan Godrie (Ned)Row 69 - Cell 2
DNFMaxime Gossard (Fra)Row 70 - Cell 2
DNFSimon Zahner (Swi)Row 71 - Cell 2
DNFDaniel Ania Gonzalez (Spa)Row 72 - Cell 2
DNSVincent Baestaens (Bel)Row 73 - Cell 2
DNSWietse Bosmans (Bel)Row 74 - Cell 2
DNSGosse Van Der Meer (Ned)Row 75 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1