Van der Poel doubles up with Bern World Cup win

Mathieu van der Poel opened his 2018-2019 Telenet UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup account on Sunday afternoon with a solo victory on a fast course in Bern, Switzerland. The European champion distanced his rivals during the third of 11 laps, held off a comeback from world champion Wout van Aert and completed his long solo effort to capture the win at the Weyermannshaus open-air pool in Bern.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathieu Van Der Poel (Ned)1:04:48
2Wout Van Aert (Bel)0:00:08
3Toon Aerts (Bel)0:00:58
4Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel)0:01:07
5Quinten Hermans (Bel)0:01:10
6Daan Soete (Bel)0:01:13
7Corne Van Kessel (Ned)Row 6 - Cell 2
8Felipe Orts Lloret (Spa)0:01:17
9Lars Van Der Haar (Ned)0:01:22
10Steve Chainel (Fra)0:01:38
11Gianni Vermeersch (Bel)0:01:50
12Tom Meeusen (Bel)0:01:51
13Vincent Baestaens (Bel)Row 12 - Cell 2
14Jens Adams (Bel)0:02:03
15Tim Merlier (Bel)0:02:09
16Kevin Pauwels (Bel)0:02:13
17Nicolas Cleppe (Bel)Row 16 - Cell 2
18Laurens Sweeck (Bel)0:02:26
19Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel)0:02:28
20Fabien Canal (Fra)0:02:29
21David Van Der Poel (Ned)0:02:30
22Marcel Wildhaber (Swi)0:02:33
23Michael Boroš (Cze)0:02:34
24Jim Aernouts (Bel)0:02:48
25Adam Ťoupalík (Cze)0:02:54
26Joshua Dubau (Fra)0:02:55
27Sieben Wouters (Ned)0:03:03
28Diether Sweeck (Bel)0:03:05
29Matthieu Boulo (Fra)0:03:06
30Thijs Aerts (Bel)0:03:12
31Gioele Bertolini (Ita)0:03:14
32David Menut (Fra)0:03:19
33Simon Zahner (Swi)Row 32 - Cell 2
34Timon Rüegg (Swi)0:03:21
35Nicolas Samparisi (Ita)0:03:26
36Kevin Suarez Fernandez (Spa)0:03:38
37Gosse Van Der Meer (Ned)0:03:49
38Marek Konwa (Pol)0:04:02
39Ismael Esteban Aguero (Spa)0:04:22
40Jan Nesvadba (Cze)0:04:30
41Stan Godrie (Ned)0:04:35
42Lucas Dubau (Fra)Row 41 - Cell 2
43Severin Sägesser (Swi)Row 42 - Cell 2
44Wietse Bosmans (Bel)Row 43 - Cell 2
45Yan Gras (Fra)Row 44 - Cell 2
46Alois Falenta (Fra)Row 45 - Cell 2
47Andreas Moser (Swi)Row 46 - Cell 2
48Lukas Winterberg (Swi)Row 47 - Cell 2
49Marvin Schmidt (Ger)Row 48 - Cell 2
DNFJoris Nieuwenhuis (Ned)Row 49 - Cell 2
DNFMarcel Meisen (Ger)Row 50 - Cell 2
DNFSascha Weber (Ger)Row 51 - Cell 2
DNSManuel Müller (Ger)Row 52 - Cell 2
DNSYu Takenouchi (Jpn)Row 53 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1