Bosmans wins U23 World Cup at Koksijde

Wietse Bosmans (Belgium) sprinted faster than Michiel van der Heijden (Netherlands) in the third round of the under-23 cyclo-cross World Cup in the dunes of Koksijde, Belgium. The Belgian champion stopped the Dutchman’s remarkable comeback in the rain as he fought his way back out of a beaten position. Wout Van Aert (Belgium) grabbed the final podium spot, 14 seconds behind the winner.

After crossing the finish line, Bosmans released a primal scream. “I was content,” Bosmans smiled. “It was in my favour that he probably lost a lot of energy in the first half of the race.”

Bosmans featured in the five-man leading group that distanced the rest of the field on the second of seven laps. He was joined by compatriots Wout Van Aert (Belgium), Michael Vanthourenhout (Belgium), Gianni Vermeersch (Belgium) and World Cup leader Mike Teunissen (Netherlands). The latter crashed out of this group in the third lap but compatriot Corné van Kessel (Netherlands) took over his place in front.

At that stage in the race, Van der Heijden was still trying to make up for his poor starting position, riding outside the top 10. During the following two laps the Dutchman got into his rhythm and started making up ground and he surged towards the leaders. “It was tough because many riders were making mistakes ahead of me. Moving up was hard too because there’s only a few tracks to follow. Suddenly there was more space and I quickly bridged up to the leaders. By then I had shot my bolt,” Van der Heijden told Cyclingnews.

“During the first few laps we weren’t going too hard so I knew some guys would return from behind,” Bosmans commented. “When I saw Michiel I attacked to make it harder for him. In the last lap he still managed to get ahead of me and even gap me twice but eventually I was with him at the finish line,” Bosmans said.

The Dutchman played all or nothing in the last lap in an effort to get rid of Bosmans. “I didn’t have anything left for the sprint,” Van der Heijden said. The Belgian easily came around Van der Heijden to grab his second World Cup win of the season.

In the World Cup standings, Bosmans leads Van Aert by 46 points and four more over Van Kessel. Van der Heijden is only thirteenth as this was his first World Cup race of the season, taking a break after his successful MTB season in which he won the World Cup and captured silver at the world championships.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Full Results
1Wietse Bosmans (Bel) Belgium0:52:52
2Michiel van der Heijden (Ned) Netherlands0:00:01
3Wout Van Aert (Bel) Belgium0:00:14
4Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Belgium0:00:41
5Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel) Belgium0:00:48
6Corne Van Kessel (Ned) Netherlands0:01:02
7Tomas Paprstka (Cze) Czech Republic0:01:15
8Jens Adams (Bel) Belgium0:01:24
9Laurens Sweeck (Bel) Belgium0:01:32
10Jens Vandekinderen (Bel) Belgium-B0:01:39
11David Menut (Fra) France0:01:49
12Toon Aerts (Bel) Belgium-B0:02:01
13Mike Teunissen (Ned) Netherlands0:02:12
14Tijmen Eising (Ned) Netherlands0:02:26
15Quentin Jauregui (Fra) France0:02:33
16Clément Venturini (Fra) France0:02:43
17Jakub Skala (Cze) Czech Republic0:02:47
18Diether Sweeck (Bel) Belgium-B0:02:54
19Daan Soete (Bel) Belgium-B0:02:57
20Vojtech Nipl (Cze) Czech Republic0:03:02
21Zach McDonald (USA) United States0:03:24
22Lukas Müller (Swi) Switzerland0:03:29
23Michael Boros (Cze) Czech Republic0:04:00
24Emiel Dolfsma (Ned) Netherlands0:04:04
25Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) France0:04:09
26Kenneth Hansen (Den) Denmark0:04:17
27Michael Schweizer Jr. (Ger) Germany0:04:36
28Yorben Van Tichelt (Bel) Belgium-B0:04:55
29Matej Lasak (Cze) Czech Republic0:05:03
30Floris De Tier (Bel) Belgium-B0:05:20
31Severin Sagesser (Swi) Switzerland0:05:27
32Jonathan Lastra Martinez (Spa) Spain0:05:33
33Inigo Gomez Elorriaga (Spa) Spain0:05:38
34Yannick Mayer (Ger) Germany0:06:02
35Fabian Lienhard (Swi) Switzerland0:06:17
36Jon Gomez Elorriaga (Spa) Spain0:06:32
37Dario Stauble (Swi) Switzerland0:07:53
38Scott Thiltges (Lux) Luxembourg0:08:15
39Kevin Suarez Fernandez (Spa) Spain0:08:32
40Luke Gray (GBr) Great Britain-1lap
41Hugo Robinson (GBr) Great Britain-2laps
42Yannick Gruner (Ger) GermanyRow 41 - Cell 2
43Ludwig Söderquist (Swe) SwedenRow 42 - Cell 2
44Adam Martin (GBr) Great BritainRow 43 - Cell 2
45Lex Reichling (Lux) LuxembourgRow 44 - Cell 2
46Johannes Siemermann (Ger) GermanyRow 45 - Cell 2
47Enno Quast (Ger) GermanyRow 46 - Cell 2
48Steven James (GBr) Great Britain-3laps
49Emil Arvid Olsen (Den) Denmark-4laps
50Ben Sumner (GBr) Great BritainRow 49 - Cell 2
51Janos Panyi (Hun) Hungary-5laps
Swipe to scroll horizontally
World Cup standings after three rounds
1Wietse Bosmans (Bel) Belgium165pts
2Wout Van Aert (Bel) Belgium119Row 1 - Cell 3
3Corne Van Kessel (Ned) Netherlands115Row 2 - Cell 3
4Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel) Belgium115Row 3 - Cell 3
5Mike Teunissen (Ned) Netherlands108Row 4 - Cell 3
6Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Belgium75Row 5 - Cell 3
7David van der Poel (Ned) Netherlands68Row 6 - Cell 3
8Zach McDonald (USA) United States68Row 7 - Cell 3
9Tijmen Eising (Ned) Netherlands63Row 8 - Cell 3
10Laurens Sweeck (Bel) Belgium57Row 9 - Cell 3
11Jens Adams (Bel) Belgium56Row 10 - Cell 3
12Tomas Paprstka (Cze) Czech Republic56Row 11 - Cell 3
13Michiel van der Heijden (Ned) Netherlands50Row 12 - Cell 3
14Emiel Dolfsma (Ned) Netherlands45Row 13 - Cell 3
15Karel Hnik (Cze) Czech Republic41Row 14 - Cell 3
16Michael Boros (Cze) Czech Republic39Row 15 - Cell 3
17Vojtech Nipl (Cze) Czech Republic35Row 16 - Cell 3
18Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) France34Row 17 - Cell 3
19Michael Schweizer Jr. (Ger) Germany32Row 18 - Cell 3
20Gert-Jan Bosman (Ned) Netherlands31Row 19 - Cell 3
21Matej Lasak (Cze) Czech Republic29Row 20 - Cell 3
22Jakub Skala (Cze) Czech Republic27Row 21 - Cell 3
23Jens Vandekinderen (Bel) Belgium22Row 22 - Cell 3
24Clément Venturini (Fra) France21Row 23 - Cell 3
25David Menut (Fra) France20Row 24 - Cell 3
26Yannick Eckmann (Ger) Germany20Row 25 - Cell 3
27Toon Aerts (Bel) Belgium19Row 26 - Cell 3
28Fabien Doubey (Fra) France19Row 27 - Cell 3
29Lukas Müller (Swi) Switzerland19Row 28 - Cell 3
30Quentin Jauregui (Fra) France16Row 29 - Cell 3
31Radek Polnicky (Cze) Czech Republic15Row 30 - Cell 3
32Jonas Pedersen (Den) Denmark15Row 31 - Cell 3
33Luca Braidot (Ita) Italy14Row 32 - Cell 3
34Diether Sweeck (Bel) Belgium13Row 33 - Cell 3
35Daan Soete (Bel) Belgium12Row 34 - Cell 3
36Severin Sagesser (Swi) Switzerland12Row 35 - Cell 3
37Jan Nesvadba (Cze) Czech Republic10Row 36 - Cell 3
38Fabian Lienhard (Swi) Switzerland9Row 37 - Cell 3
39Lars Forster (Swi) Switzerland9Row 38 - Cell 3
40Kenneth Hansen (Den) Denmark5Row 39 - Cell 3
41Loic Doubey (Fra) France4Row 40 - Cell 3
42Yorben Van Tichelt (Bel) Belgium3Row 41 - Cell 3
43Cody Kaiser (USA) United States3Row 42 - Cell 3
44Floris De Tier (Bel) Belgium1Row 43 - Cell 3
45Jonathan Lastra Martinez (Spa) Spain1Row 44 - Cell 3

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews