Skip to main content

Tirreno-Adriatico 2021

Latest News from the Race

Image 1 of 1

Tirreno Adriatico 2020 55th Edition 8th stage San Benedetto del Tronto San Benedetto del Tronto 101 km 14092020 Simon Yates GBR Mitchelton Scott Geraint Thomas GBR Ineos Grenadiers Rafal Majka POL Bora Hansgrohe photo Roberto BettiniBettiniPhoto2020

Simon Yates, now with Team BikeExchange, won the 2020 Tirreno-Adriatico, with Geraint Thomas (Ineos Grenadiers) second overall and Rafal Majka (Bora-Hansgrohe) third (Image credit: Bettini Image)

Tirreno-Adriatico is set to take place from March 10-16, returning to its usual pre-Milan-San Remo slot after being rescheduled to September in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. While last year’s race was extended to eight stages, the Race of the Two Seas returns to its traditional seven-day format in 2021. 

Last year’s Tirreno-Adriatico was won by Simon Yates (Team BikeExchange) and the Briton is expected to return in 2021. Vincenzo Nibali (Trek-Segafredo), who won the general classification in both 2012 and 2013, has confirmed that he will again ride Tirreno-Adriatico. Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) and Tour de France winner Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates) have also indicated they will compete at Tirreno-Adriatico. 

For the second year in succession there is no team time trial on the opening day. The race’s big weekend continues on stage 5 with the so-called Tappa dei Muri – the ‘Stage of the Walls’ – that will see the peloton tackle four laps of a tough, 23km circuit around Castelfidardo in the finale of the stage. Tirreno-Adriatico will once again finish with a time trial on the seafront in San Benedetto del Tronto, with a slightly different route than 2021, longer at 11.1 kilometres.

Top News on the Race

Related Features