Arzuffi wins Superprestige Ladies Trophy at Gavere

Alice Maria Arzuffi ( won the third round of the Superprestige Ladies Trophy at Gavere, going solo for over half the race to take her first win of the season. A well-paced effort saw Nikki Brammeier (Mudiita Pro Team) finish second 17 seconds down, while 38 seconds back Sanne Cant (Iko-Beobank) took third place, just ahead of Annemarie Worst (

In the early stages of the race it was Cant and Worst who dominated proceedings, but after the surge of the first two laps, it seemed as though they had gone out too fast, with Arzuffi bridging a 17-second gap before going on the attack herself.

At the midway point of the race, the Italian was away for good, and all that remained was the battle for the other podium places. Brammeier's late surge interrupted what looked to be a Cant-Worst battle, with the Brit saving her effort for the closing laps as Cant outsprinted Worst for third.

"One of my season goals was to get some podium places at the Superprestige races," Arzuffi said after the race. "Today it's my first Superprestige victory and I'm very happy.

"I have to thank the team because if it were not for them I probably wouldn't have managed to get this far."

How it happened

World champion Sanne Cant (Iko-Beobank) led things out from the start, going out fast. Midway through the opening lap it was newly-crowned European champion Worst who went on the offensive, stretching out the lead group with Cant, Arzuffi and Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado (Corendon-Circus) chasing one by one.

At the start of lap two, Worst and Cant were separated by 7 seconds while Arzuffi and Alvarado lay 17 seconds down. Next on track were the two Brits, Brammeier and Helen Wyman (Xypex-Verge Sport) who were around 30 seconds back. Cant took the lead soon after, as Worst slipped on the thick mud and hit the deck heading into the pits.

Arzuffi soon joined the leaders, making it three up front with Alvarado and Brammeier 22 seconds behind. Lap three saw the Italian push on to lead alone, with Cant and Worst falling back within striking distance of Brammeier. With Arzuffi's relentless pace, she made short work of building an advantage of 20 seconds over the chasers.

Meanwhile Brammeier was powering on, passing Cant and Worst before the start of the final lap. Arzuffi was already gone, almost half a minute up the road, but the battle for second and third was still on, though Brammeier enjoyed a 13-second lead over the chasing World and European champions, while Italian champion Eva Lechner (Clif Pro Team) was coming up fast.

Perhaps feeling the effort from Saturday's win in the DVV Trofee, Cant couldn't match Worst when the Austrian upped the pace midway through the last lap. They were soon reunited though, with Wyman close behind.

With the first two podium places already decided, it was down to a sprint for third as Cant led out. The Belgian held on to take it, beating out Worst, who made it a 1-4 for

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Alice Maria Arzuffi (Ita) Steylaerts-7770:45:25
2Nikki Brammeier (GBr) Mudiita Pro Team0:00:17
3Sanne Cant (Bel) Beobank-Corendon0:00:38
4Annemarie Worst (Ned) Steylaerts-777Row 3 - Cell 2
5Helen Wyman (GBr)0:00:42
6Eva Lechner (Ita) Creafin Tüv Sud0:00:51
7Ceylin Del Carmen Alvarado (Ned) Corendon - Circus0:01:05
8Lucinda Brand (Ned) Team Sunweb Women0:01:09
9Kim Van De Steene (Bel) Tarteletto - Isorex0:01:24
10Denise Betsema (Ned) Marlux - Bingoal0:01:34
11Christine Majerus (Lux) Boels Dolmans0:01:51
12Fleur Nagengast (Ned) Telenet Fidea LionsRow 11 - Cell 2
13Ellen Van Loy (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:02:24
14Laura Verdonschot (Bel) Marlux - Bingoal0:02:43
15Geerte Hoeke (Ned) Creafin Tüv Sud0:03:40
16Manon Bakker (Ned)0:03:51
17Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel)0:04:00
18Inge Van Der Heijden (Ned)0:04:11
19Elle Anderson (USA)0:04:26
20Shirin Van Anrooij (Ned)0:04:51
21Pauline Delhaye (Fra)0:05:22
22Emily Wadsworth (GBr) Tp Racing0:05:49
23Aniek Van Alphen (Ned)0:06:40
24Katherine Compton (USA)0:06:49
25Marthe Truyen (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:06:57
26Esther Van Der Burg (Ned)0:08:20
27Susanne Meistrok (Ned)Row 26 - Cell 2
28Tereza Vaníčková (Cze)Row 27 - Cell 2
29Jana Dobbelaere (Bel)Row 28 - Cell 2
30Aurélie Vermeir (Bel)Row 29 - Cell 2
31Laetitia Maus (Lux)Row 30 - Cell 2
32Kim Van De Putte (Bel)Row 31 - Cell 2
33Tessa Zwaenepoel (Bel)Row 32 - Cell 2
34Suzie Godart (Lux)Row 33 - Cell 2
35Irene Gerritsen (Ned)Row 34 - Cell 2
36Jo Blanchaert (Bel)Row 35 - Cell 2
37Famke Van Waterschoot (Ned)Row 36 - Cell 2
DNFMaud Kaptheijns (Ned) Crelan - CharlesRow 37 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1