Saudi Tour: Dylan Groenewegen wins stage 3

ALULA SAUDI ARABIA FEBRUARY 03 Dylan Groenewegen of Netherlands and Team BikeExchange Jayco celebrates winning during the 6th Saudi Tour 2022 Stage 3 a 1812 km stage from Tayma Hadaj Well to AIUIa Old Town SaudiTour on February 03 2022 in AIUIa Saudi Arabia Photo by Tim de WaeleGetty Images
Dylan Groenewegen of Team BikeExchange-Jayco celebrates winning stage 3 (Image credit: Tim de Waele/Getty Images)

Dylan Groenewegen (BikeExchange-Jayco) won stage 3 of the Saudi Tour, beating Dan McLay (Arkéa-Samsic) and Caleb Ewan in a reduced bunch finish in AlUla Old Town. Santiago Buitrago (Bahrain Victorious) finished safely in the front group to retain the overall lead with two stages remaining.

The race splintered into echelons early on during a a windy day of racing, leaving a leading group of 50 or so riders to contest the finish. Nikki Terpstra (TotalEnergies) looked to take advantage of a brief moment of confusion in the front group when he delivered a smart attack inside the final 5km, but he was swept back up by a delegation from QuickStep-AlphaVinyl.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Brief Results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Dylan Groenewegen (Ned) BikeExchange-Jayco 5:11:22
2Daniel McLay (GBr) Arkea-Samsic
3Caleb Ewan (Aus) Lotto Soudal
4Danny van Poppel (Ned) Bora-Hansgrohe
5Alberto Dainese (Ita) Team DSM
6Fernando Gaviria Rendon (Col) UAE Team Emirates
7Erlend Blikra (Nor) Uno-X Pro Cycling Team
8Jasper De Buyst (Bel) Lotto Soudal
9Simone Consonni (Ita) Cofidis
10Davide Ballerini (Ita) Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team
Swipe to scroll horizontally
General classification after stage 3
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Santiago Buitrago Sanchez (Col) Bahrain Victorious 13:36:55
2Caleb Ewan (Aus) Lotto Soudal 0:00:03
3Maxim Van Gils (Bel) Lotto Soudal 0:00:17
4Simone Consonni (Ita) Cofidis 0:00:21
5Danny van Poppel (Ned) Bora-Hansgrohe
6Cyril Barthe (Fra) B&B Hotels-KTM
7Ruben Fernandez (Spa) Cofidis
8Benjamin Declercq (Bel) Arkea-Samsic
9Daniel Oss (Ita) TotalEnergies
10Eliot Lietaer (Bel) B&B Hotels-KTM 0:00:26

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews