White claims men's race on day two at Bay Crits

Nick White wins stage 2 of the 2020 Bay Crits
Nick White wins stage 2 of the 2020 Bay Crits (Image credit: Con Chronis Photography)

Nick White (BridgeLane) took the overall lead at the Bay Crits after he sprinted to victory on stage 2. The Australian under-23 champion claimed the bunch sprint after he produced a fine acceleration to beat Brenton Jones (Novotel-Mitchelton) and Jensen Plowright (BridgeLane).

The race was delayed by an hour following a crash in the women’s race, and when proceedings got underway, it was decreed that the race would be reduced in length from one hour to 45 minutes.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Nicholas White (Bridgelane) 0:46:20
2Brenton Jones (Novotel - Mitchelton)
3Jensen Plowright (Bridgelane)
4Sam Welsford (Lexus Of Blackburn)
5Cameron Ivory (Gpm Stulz)
6Benjamin Hill (Bridgelane)
7Taj Jones (Sunshine Coast Aca)
8Thomas Bolton (Oliver's Real Food Racing) 0:00:03
9Rudy Porter (Inform Tm Insight Make)
10Mathew Ross (Cyclehouse)
11Ben Perry (Cyclehouse) 0:00:07
12Tasman Nankervis (Gpm Stulz) 0:00:10
13Sean Whitfield (Oliver's Real Food Racing)
14Aiden Buttigieg (Cyclehouse)
15Matthew Rice (Sunshine Coast Aca)
16Alex Lack (Gpm Stulz)
17Thomas Benton (Inform Tm Insight Make)
18Liam White (Novotel - Mitchelton) 0:00:15
19Tom Leaper (Cyclehouse) 0:00:19
20Stevo Michalicka (Novotel - Mitchelton)
21Kaden Groves (Novotel - Mitchelton)
22Luke Durbridge (Novotel - Mitchelton)
23Harrison Bailey (Gpm Stulz)
24Tom Chapman (Bridgelane)
25Michael Freiberg (Sunshine Coast Aca)
26Nicholas Spratt (Gpm Stulz) 0:00:31
27Chris Ball (Team Japan) 0:00:43
28Leigh Howard (Lexus Of Blackburn) 0:00:51
29Patrick Eddy (Inform Tm Insight Make) 0:00:54
30Callan Douglas (Cyclehouse)
31Benjamin Spenceley (Gpm Stulz)
32Kelland O'Brien (Lexus Of Blackburn) 0:01:02
33Zack Gilmore (Sunshine Coast Aca)
34Cameron Scott (Lexus Of Blackburn) 0:01:31
35William Hodges (Oliver's Real Food Racing) 0:02:05
36Samual Eddy (Inform Tm Insight Make)
DNFMatthew Sherwin (Novotel - Mitchelton)
DNFAlexander Porter (Lexus Of Blackburn)
DNFAngus Lyons (Oliver's Real Food Racing)
DNFTatsuyoshi Nakamura (Team Japan)
DNFTomoki Saito (Team Japan)
DNFTetsuo Yamamoto (Team Japan)
DNFPatrick Drapac (Cyclehouse)
DNSLucas Plapp (Lexus Of Blackburn)
DNSBenjamin Andrews (Oliver's Real Food Racing)
DNSKarl Michelin-Beard (Oliver's Real Food Racing)
Swipe to scroll horizontally
General classification after stage 2
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Nicholas White (Bridgelane) 19
2Sam Welsford (Lexus Of Blackburn) 19
3Brenton Jones (Novotel - Mitchelton) 18
4Cameron Ivory (Gpm Stulz) 16
5Jensen Plowright (Bridgelane) 14
6Benjamin Hill (Bridgelane) 7
7Taj Jones (Sunshine Coast Aca) 7
8Kelland O'Brien (Lexus Of Blackburn) 5
9Michael Freiberg (Sunshine Coast Aca) 4
10Thomas Bolton (Oliver's Real Food Racing) 3
11Rudy Porter (Inform Tm Insight Make) 2
12Mathew Ross (Cyclehouse) 1
13Nicholas Spratt (Gpm Stulz) 1

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews