Alvarado recovers from last-lap crash to win GP Leuven

150220 / Belgium / Middelkerke / Veldrijden / Super Prestige /150220 / Belgium / Middelkerke / Veldrijden / Super Prestige /
(Image credit: Getty Images Sport)

Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado (Alpecin-Fenix) bounced back from a final-lap crash to win the 2020 GP Leuven on Saturday, beating Denise Betsema (Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal) in a two-up sprint. 

The world champion fell on the grass going around a left-hand bend early on the last of seven laps of the race, which this year is the fourth round of the Ethias Cross series. 

She quickly remounted and re-took her place in what was by then a five-rider lead group, along with Betsema, Lucinda Brand (Telenet Baloise Lions), Annemarie Worst (777), and Manon Bakker (Credishop-Fristads). 

Those riders had emerged as the strongest after Frenchwoman Perrine Clauzel (As Bike Cross Team) had made the early running, impressively handling the steep wooded banks before fading later in the race. 

Alvarado’s crash wasn’t the only dramatic moment on the final lap, as Brand, who had come through to the front after being mostly at the back of the group, crashed going down one of those banks mid-way through the lap. 

The recent Jaarmarktcross winner quickly got up and kept her lead as the others adjusted their lines, and even managed to restring her chain as she ran up the next bank. However, back on the grass, Betsema surged past, and Alvarado was the only one with the power to follow. 

The pair hit the pump track sections with a small lead and emerged together onto the tarmac to contest the finish. With a stronger sprint in her locker, Alvarado made no mistake and dispatched Betsema to reverse the result of the last round of the Ethias Cross from Beringen a month ago. 

Brand outsprinted Worst for the final podium spot, while Bakker trailed across the line for fifth place, with a much larger gap back to the rest of the field.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado (Ned) Alpecin-Fenix 0:46:53
2Denise Betsema (Ned) Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal 0:00:01
3Lucinda Brand (Ned) Telenet Baloise Lions0:00:03
4Annemarie Worst (Ned) 7770:00:05
5Manon Bakker (Ned) (Credishop-Fristads)0:00:09
6Perrine Clauzel (Fra) As Bike Cross Team0:00:47
7Kata Blanka Vas (Hun) Doltcini-Van Eyck0:00:57
8Fem Van Empel (Ned) Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal0:01:03
9Yara Kastelijn (Ned) Credishop-Fristads0:01:04
10Laura Verdonschot (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen-BingoalRow 9 - Cell 2
11Aniek van Alphen (Ned) Credishop-Fristads0:01:08
12Alicia Granck (Bel) Proximus-Alphamotorhomes-Dolcitini0:01:31
13Ellen Van Looy (Bel) Telenet Baloise Lions0:01:39
14Eva Lechner (Ita) Starcasino CX Team0:01:41
15Lucia Gonzalez Blanco (Spa) Nesta-Skoda-Alecar0:01:51
16Alice Maria Arzuffi (Ita) 7770:02:11
17Loes Sels (Bel) Iko-Crelan0:02:13
18Sanne Cante (Bel) Iko-Crelan0:02:29
19Maghalie Rochette (Can)0:02:31
20Clara Honsinger (USA)0:02:46
21Josie Nelson (GBr) Trinity Racing0:02:47
22Harriet Harnden (GBr) Trek Factory Racing0:02:58
23Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel)0:03:02
24Marlene Morel Petitgirard (Fra) Team S1neo-Graal-Bjorka0:03:10
25Zina Barhmoui (Swi)0:03:12
26Kaitlin Keough (USA)0:03:14
27Marthe Truyen (Bel) Telenet Baloise Lions0:03:32
28Lindy Van Anrooij (Ned) Starcasino CX Team0:03:52
29Susanne Meistrok (Ned) Proximus-Alphamotorhomes-DolcitiniRow 28 - Cell 2
30Ffion James (GBr)0:04:12
31Amira Mellor (GBr)0:04:34
32Esther van der Burg (Ned) Proximus-Alphamotorhomes-Dolcitini0:04:44
33Marine Strappazzon (Fra) Team Podiocom CC0:04:58
34Kione Crabbe (Bel)0:04:59
35Mascha Mulder (Ned) Hens-Maes0:05:51
36Rebecca Fahringer (USA)0:06:38
37Lise Van Wunswel (Bel)-1 lap
38Sophie Wright (GBr)Row 37 - Cell 2
39Camille Devigne (Fra) Ardennes Cross TeamRow 38 - Cell 2
40Julie Brouwers (Bel)Row 39 - Cell 2
41Aurelie Vermeir (Bel)Row 40 - Cell 2
42Tessa Zwaenepoel (Bel) Proximus-Alphamotorhomes-Dolcitini-2 laps
43Laura Porhel (Fra)Row 42 - Cell 2
44Meg De Bruyne (Bel)Row 43 - Cell 2
45Laura Greenhalgh (GBr)-3 laps
46Tine Rombouts (Bel)Row 45 - Cell 2
47Jana Dobbelaere (Bel)Row 46 - Cell 2
48Corey Coogan Cisek (USA)Row 47 - Cell 2
49Tinne Vermeiren (Bel)Row 48 - Cell 2
50Maite Barthels (Lux)Row 49 - Cell 2
51Michelle Geoghgean (Irl)Row 50 - Cell 2
52Nina Berton (Lux)-4 laps
53Liene Meeusen (Bel)Row 52 - Cell 2
54Paula Diaz Lopez (Spa)Row 53 - Cell 2
55Eline SteenhuysenRow 54 - Cell 2
DNFRuby West (Can) Proximus-Alphamotorhomes-DolcitiniRow 55 - Cell 2
DNFMaud Paptheijns (Ned) Pauwels Sauzen-BingoalRow 56 - Cell 2
DNFJulie De Wilder (Bel) Iko-CrelanRow 57 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1