Skip to main content

Norris wins Wilson Asset Management Criterium with solo attack

The Wilson Asset Management Criterium podium: Josh Taylor (GPM-Wilson Racing), Lachlan Norris (Drapac Professional Cycling) and Neil Van Der Ploeg (Search2Retain)

The Wilson Asset Management Criterium podium: Josh Taylor (GPM-Wilson Racing), Lachlan Norris (Drapac Professional Cycling) and Neil Van Der Ploeg (Search2Retain) (Image credit: Search2retain Team)

Lachlan Norris (Drapac Professional Cycling) has won the Wilson Asset Management Criterium in Goulburn, the warm-up event to Sunday's iconic Goulburn to Sydney Cycle Classic.

Norris, 25, took out the 45 minute plus three-lap event after a solo attack from his breakaway group.

Neil Van Der Ploeg (Search2Retain) finished second while Josh Taylor (GPM-Wilson Racing) was third continuing his great run of form off the back of collecting both the sprint and KOM championship at the Tour of Murray River last week. Savvy riding from Taylor saw him win the opening sprint prime.

With around 20 minutes remaining in the event, a breakaway containing Cameron Bayly, Van Der Ploeg (Search2Retain), Darren Lapthorne and Floris Goesinnen (Drapac Professional Cycling) had earned a gap of around 50 seconds on the remainder of the field when Norris attacked from the breakaway, quickly gaining eight seconds. From that point on, Norris never looked back, collecting the second sprint prime en route to victory.

In 2012, the prologue which has featured on the Saturday for the last two editions of the race, has been scrapped in favour of the criterium with the 170km Classic back as a stand alone event and one of five tier one races on the National Road Series calendar.


#Rider Name (Country) Team
1Lachlan Norris (Drapac Professional Cycling)
2Neil Van Der Ploeg (Search2Retain)
3Joshua Taylor (GPM-Wilson Racing)
4Scott Law (Illawarra CC)
5Darren Lapthorne (Drapac Professional Cycling)
6Floris Goesinnen (Drapac Professional Cycling)
7Cameron Bayly (Search2Retain)
8Craig Hutton (Racing Kangaroos)
9Michael Troy (Orange CTC)
10Cal Britten (Search2Retain)
11Thomas Donald (Search2Retain)
12Anthony Murray (Eastern Suburbs CC)
13Stuart Shaw (Drapac Professional Cycling)
14Rhys Pollock (Drapac Professional Cycling)
15Luke Fetch (Search2Retain)
16Nash Kent (Lidcombe Auburn CC)

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1


As a sports journalist and producer since 1997, Jane has covered Olympic and Commonwealth Games, rugby league, motorsport, cricket, surfing, triathlon, rugby union, and golf for print, radio, television and online. However her enduring passion has been cycling.


Jane is a former Australian Editor of Cyclingnews from 2011 to 2013 and continues to freelance within the cycling industry.


Latest on Cyclingnews