Cant dominates in Essen

Sanne Cant giving everything to the pursuit

Sanne Cant giving everything to the pursuit (Image credit: Tim de Waele/

Sanne Cant (Beobank-Corendon) put in a commanding performance in the DVV Verzekeringen Trofee in Essen, keeping the lead nearly from start to finish on a heavy, muddy course to take out the victory over Nikki Brammeier (Boels Dolmans).

Cant took an early lead, but was soon joined by Brammeier and 19-year-old Dutchwoman Ceylin de Carmen. De Carmen could not hold the pace of the British champion and world champion, and faded back into the chasing group.

Behind, Katie Compton (Trek) avoided a stack-up involving series rival Helen Wyman (Kona), and made her way up to the leading duo.

Cant, Compton and Brammeier traded blows until the penultimate lap, when a mistake from Compton set her back. She never rejoined the duo ahead.

Cant powered away from Brammeier on the final lap to win by nine seconds in the timed series, with Compton third at 25 seconds.

Former cyclo-cross world champion Pauline Ferrand-Prevot (Canyon-SRAM) made her return to the sport, riding from the back of the grid through almost the entire field to take fourth.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sanne Cant (Bel) Beobank-Corendon0:39:34
2Nikki Brammeier (GBr) Boels Dolmans0:00:09
3Katherine Compton (USA) Trek0:00:25
4Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) Canyon-SRAM0:00:42
5Loes Sels (Bel) Crelan - Charles0:00:56
6Sophie De Boer (Ned)0:00:58
7Ellen Van Loy (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:01:03
8Evie Richards (GBr)0:01:08
9Ceylin Del Carmen Alvarado (Ned)0:01:18
10Kim Van De Steene (Bel) Tarteletto - Isorex0:01:21
11Maud Kaptheijns (Ned) Crelan - Charles0:01:29
12Fleur Nagengast (Ned) Telenet Fidea Lions0:01:31
13Laura Verdonschot (Bel) Marlux - Napoleon Games0:01:35
14Inge Van Der Heijden (Ned)0:01:43
15Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona0:01:47
16Emma White (USA)0:02:19
17Karen Verhestraeten (Bel)0:02:40
18Jolien Verschueren (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:03:24
19Harriet Harnden (GBr)0:03:47
20Shana Maes (Bel) Donen-Vondelmolen0:03:52
21Anna Kay (GBr)0:03:59
22Pauline Delhaye (Fra)Row 21 - Cell 2
23Geerte Hoeke (Ned)0:04:10
24Manon Bakker (Ned)0:04:27
25Esther Van Der Burg (Ned)0:04:30
26Lindy Van Anrooij (Ned)0:04:50
27Veerle Goossens (Ned)0:05:29
28Sophie Thackray (GBr)0:05:53
29Natalie Redmond (Aus)0:06:43
30Meg De Bruyne (Bel)0:06:47
31Corey Coogan Cisek (USA)0:06:59
32Emily Wadsworth (GBr)0:07:05
33Kaat Hannes (Bel)0:07:22
34Elodie Kuijper (Ned)0:07:33
35Caren Commissaris (Bel)0:07:45
36Tinne Vermeiren (Bel)0:07:54
37Kristien Nelen (Bel)0:08:04
38Tessa Zwaenepoel (Bel)0:08:21
39Tine Rombouts (Bel)0:08:45
40Hannah Van Boven (Ned)Row 39 - Cell 2
41Tess Van Loy (Bel)Row 40 - Cell 2
42Sabine Hey (Ned)Row 41 - Cell 2
43Béatrice Godart (Lux)Row 42 - Cell 2
44Sara Beeckmans (Bel)Row 43 - Cell 2
45Mieke Docx (Bel)Row 44 - Cell 2
46Anke Van Rompay (Bel)Row 45 - Cell 2
DNFMarion Norbert Riberolle (Fra)Row 46 - Cell 2
DNFEllen Noble (USA) Aspire RacingRow 47 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews