Mathieu van der Poel wins Azencross

Mathieu Van Der Poel wins Azencross
Mathieu Van Der Poel wins Azencross (Image credit: Getty Images)

Mathieu Van Der Poel (Corendon-Circus) won the DVV Verzekeringen trofee Azencross in Loenhout on Friday. The world champion soloed to victory nine seconds ahead of runner-up Eli Iserbyt (Pauwels) and nearly a minute ahead of third placed Corne Van Kessel (Telenet Baloise Lions).

Wout van Aert has returned to racing at Azencross for the first time since his horrific crash at the Tour de France in July. He finished fifth at 1:14 behind Van der Poel.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathieu Van Der Poel (Ned) Corendon - Circus 1:00:26
2Eli Iserbyt (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal 0:00:09
3Corne Van Kessel (Ned) Telenet Baloise Lions 0:00:52
4Tim Merlier (Bel) Creafin – Fristads 0:01:13
5Wout Van Aert (Bel) 0:01:14
6Tom Meeusen (Bel) Corendon - Circus 0:01:16
7Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal 0:01:19
8Wietse Bosmans (Bel) 0:01:22
9Jim Aernouts (Bel) Telenet Baloise Lions 0:01:39
10Lars Van Der Haar (Ned) Telenet Baloise Lions 0:01:41
11Laurens Sweeck (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal 0:01:59
12Felipe Orts Lloret (Spa) Cyclo - Cross Team Teika - Gsport - Bh 0:02:03
13Jens Adams (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal 0:02:04
14Thijs Aerts (Bel) Telenet Baloise Lions 0:02:05
15Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Group Hens - Maes Containers 0:02:36
16Timon Rüegg (Swi) 0:03:53
17Stephen Hyde (USA) Cannondale Cyclocrossworld 0:04:23
18David Van Der Poel (Ned) Corendon - Circus 0:04:36
19Lander Loockx (Bel) Group Hens - Maes Containers 0:04:55
20Curtis White (USA) Cannondale Cyclocrossworld 0:05:09
21Jakob Dorigoni (Ita) Selle Italia - Guerciotti - Elite 0:05:43
22Michael Boroš (Cze) 0:05:45
23Simon Zahner (Swi) 0:05:46
24Kerry Werner (USA) 0:06:05
25Michael Van Den Ham (Can) Easton - Giant P / B Transitions Lifecare 0:06:20
26Klaas Groenen (Ned) 0:06:30
27Kevin Suarez Fernandez (Spa) Nesta - Skoda Alecar Cx Team 0:06:43
28Nick Peers (Bel) 0:06:52
29Matthieu Boulo (Fra) 0:06:53
30Senne De Meyer (Bel) 0:06:58
31Maarten Van Staeyen (Bel)
32Kelvin Bakx (Ned)
33Dario Tielen (Bel)
34Yelle Leaerts (Bel)
35Mario Junquera San Millan (Spa)
36Sieben Wouters (Ned) Creafin – Fristads
37Frederik Hähnel (Ger)
38Andrew Juiliano (USA)
39Tomáš Paprstka (Cze)
40Henrik Lunder Aalrust (Nor)
41Heinrich Haussler (Aus)
42Cristian Cominelli (Ita) Cycling Cafe' Racing Team
43Gilles Mottiez (Swi)
44Max Judelson (USA)
45Cameron Jette (Can)
46Albert Poblet Dot (Spa)
47Andrew Giniat (USA)
48Tony Le Bail (Fra)
49Niels Koyen (Bel)
50Bart Van Den Berg (Ned)
51Thomas Edhofer (Ger)
52Loris Tursi (Ita)
53Vincent Oger (Bel)
54Miguel Llaneza Arguelles (Spa)
55Kevin Dalla Pieta' (Ita)
DNFZdeněk Štybar (Cze)
DNFSascha Weber (Ger)
DNFEdwin De Wit (Bel)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews