Grotts takes Carson City Off-Road win with last-lap attack

Howard Grotts (Specialized) won the Carson City Off-Road with a last lap uphill attack on Keegan Swenson (Cannondale). Swenson, who had led for most of the first two laps, was able to hang on for second place 2:16 behind Grotts. Stephen Ettinger (Focus Shimano) who was the initial aggressor and led the first lap rolled in alone to claim third place. USA Marathon Champion Payson McElveen (Orange Seal) was fourth, and young Cypress Gorry (KTM Factory) rounded out the podium in fifth place.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Howard Grotts (USA) Specialized3:52:25
2Keegan Swenson (USA) Cannondale 3Rox0:02:16
3Stephen Ettinger (USA) Focus, Shimano, Clif0:06:08
4Payson Mcelveen (USA) Orange Seal0:06:37
5Cypress Gorry (USA) KTM Factory USA0:07:25
6Kyle Trudeau (USA) CZ Racing,, Rouleur Carbon0:08:15
7Nic Beechan (USA) Trek Test Team, Shimano, Stans NoTubes, Ride 100%, Fox0:09:54
9Spencer Paxson (USA) KONA BICYCLES, WTB, SHIMANO0:14:41
10Ryan Standish (Aus) Merida Bikes, Torq Nutrition, Flight Centre Active Travel0:19:21
11Bryan Dillon (USA) Topeak-Ergon, Canyon, SRAM0:19:56
12Ernie Watenpaugh (USA) Jack Daniels, Box Canyon Bicycles, Sunshine Pharmacy, BMC0:21:17
13Alex Grant (USA) Cannondale, Enve Composites, Gear Rush0:22:34
14Carl Decker (USA) Giant Factory Off Road0:22:45
16Chris Baddick (GBr) Boulder Cycle Sport, Scott Bicycles0:25:04
17Stephan Davoust (USA) Giant Factory Off Road, SRAM, Schwalbe0:26:59
18Elliott Baring (USA) Pivot, Maxxis, Northstar Bicycles0:28:03
19Jorge Munoz (USA) CZ Racing, Bike Haus, and Tenac Championship Coaching0:31:15
20Liam Earl (USA) Clif Bar, Niner Bikes0:32:37
21Jason Blodgett (USA) KTM Bike Industries, Kenda Tires, SRAM0:32:48
22Nathan Barton (USA) Last Chance Racing, Auburn Bike Company0:33:42
23Stefano Barberi (USA) Support Clean Sport, SeaSucker, Guttenplan Coaching0:34:14
24Adam Bucklin (USA) Team Rwanda0:34:40
25Jeff Bender (USA) Kuhl/Trek/ESI/Red Ace Oganics0:35:57
26Weston Rasmussen (USA) CZ Racing0:40:43
27Barry Wicks (USA) Kona Endurance Team, Shimano, WTB0:41:30
28Josh Whitney (USA) Evol Foods, Giant Bicycles, Young Wealth Management0:42:55
29Geoff Kabush (Can) Scott Sports, Maxxis, Shimano0:44:32
30Jason King (USA) Lost Coast Brewery, ESI grips, Felt Bicycles0:46:14
31Alex Pond (USA) Sonoran Cycles, Honey Stinger, Big Agnes0:51:28
32Cody Schwartz (USA) Scott, SRAM, Jakroo0:51:46
33Tim Racette (USA) McDowell Mountain Cycles, Mike's Mix, Maxxis Tires0:51:48
34Jim Hewett (USA) Acme Bikes, Flynn Law, Trek0:52:11
35Chris Ganter (USA) Rolf Prima, Niner Bikes, First Endurance, Maxxis, Rudy Project0:52:20
36John Nobil (USA) BEAR VALLEY BIKES0:53:29
37Kris Sneddon (Can) Kona, Mom and Dad0:53:35
38Steven Mills (USA) Redding Sports LTD. New west Medical , Ibis cycles0:59:10
39Brad Bingham (USA) Kent Eriksen Cycles, Honey Stinger, Big Agnes1:05:30
40Leif Lujan (USA) Hendler Racing, Team Alchemist1:06:09
41Nick Thomas (USA) Cadence Promotions, Speedtech, Trek1:17:16
42David Duncan (USA) Scott Sports. SRAM. Cycling Development1:35:23
46Bobby Brown (USA) Bicycle Outfitters, Boyd Cycling2:22:40

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1