Hugo Houle wins men's Canadian time trial title

The Canadian national time trial titles have been contested for the first time in more than two years, with Hugo Houle (opens in new tab) winning the men’s title. 

The first national road championships since June of 2019 opened on Friday, hosted by the organizers of the Tour de Beauce, in the region south of Quebec City. 

Houle came into the race as the favourite after finishing 13th in the time trial at the Olympics. The Quebec rider won the title in 2015, and was fourth in 2016, the last time he attended the national championships. 

The Astana-Premier Tech (opens in new tab) rider was clearly riding at a different level then the rest of the field, completing the 34 kilometre course in 41:48, 1:39 ahead of second placed Alec Cowan (L39ion of Los Angeles). Olympic team pursuiter Derek Gee (Xspeed United) was third, at 1:45.

"It was a nice opportunity to be here this year," said Houle. 

"The last few years I haven't been able to attend the Nationals because I was preparing for the Tour de France. When I saw that it was in September this year, I had it in the back of my mind to try and win the jersey; it's always nice to be able to wear it in Europe."

"I'm glad I could do it; I think everyone was expecting it from me, but you still have to deliver the ride. Obviously, today was a really good day, and I felt strong from the start. I was able to execute my plan perfectly. It was a demanding course, a lot of up and down, and the rough road wasn't good, with a lot of holes and cracks. But I managed to stay on the bike and keep the tires safe all the way home. I'm really happy with my ride, it was the best I could give today and I was able to push to my limit."

The out-and-back course featured the well-known rolling Beauce terrain and rough roads. Rain held off for most of the day, but strong gusting crosswinds proved to be a factor.

"I was going 70 to 75 kmph on some of the downhills and the bike was swinging," admitted Houle. 

"It was scary the way the wind was pushing my bike around, I had to be quite careful."

Houle will line up for the road race on Saturday, looking to bring both Canadian national championship jerseys to the WorldTour. 

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite Men
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Hugo Houle (Can) Astana-Premier Tech 0:41:48
2Alec Cowan (Can) L39Ion Of Los Angeles 0:01:39
3Derek Gee (Can) Xspeed United Continental 0:01:45
4Adam Roberge (Can) Elevate-Webiplex Pro 0:01:47
5Edward Ouellet (Can) Yoeleo Test Team 0:01:56
6Tristan Jussaume (Can) Équipe Du Québec 0:02:10
7Jordan Cheyne (Can) Elevate-Webiplex Pro 0:02:34
8Ethan Sittlington (Can) Toronto Hustle 0:02:40
9Carson Miles (Can) Tag Cycling Race Team 0:02:43
10Jean-Denis Thibault (Can) Team U Cube 17 0:02:46
11Jack Burke (Can) Union Raiffeisen Radteam 0:03:05
12Chris Ernst (Can) Xspeed United Continental 0:03:11
13Joseph Chamberlain (Can) Lorneville Cycling Club 0:03:20
14Warren Muir (Can) Indépendant 0:03:37
15Thomas Schellenberg (Can) Tag Cycling Race Team 0:03:44
16Nicholas-Ian McDonnell-Stewart (Can) Veloselect-Silber 0:03:47
17Patrick Riddell (Can) Redkilo 0:04:03
18Ethan Pauly (Can) Tag Cycling Race Team 0:04:05
19Simon Dubuc (Can) Digital Commerce Bank 0:04:18
20Francis Juneau (Can) Team Macadam'S Cowboys 0:04:22
21Thomas Nadeau (Can) Desjardins-Ford 0:04:39
22Jérémie la Grenade (Can) Ride With Rendall 0:04:50
23William Goodfellow (Can) Yoeleo Test Team 0:05:01
24Christopher Rowley (Can) Yoeleo Test Team 0:05:02
25André Boudreau (Can) Indépendant 0:05:06
26Arnaud Beaudoin (Can) Équipe Du Québec 0:05:19
27Jude Szabo (Can) Ignite Development 0:05:27
28Declan Kelly (Can) Red Truck Racing 0:05:29
29Joseph Lupien (Can) Team Skyline 0:05:31
30Gabriel Guay (Can) Desjardins-Ford 0:05:38
31Lukas Conly (Can) Digital Commerce Bank 0:05:39
32Nicolas Cote (Can) Desjardins-Ford 0:05:46
33Zach Webster (Can) Ignite Development 0:05:53
34Charles Antoine Forest Leblanc (Can) Desjardins-Ford 0:05:54
35Eric Inkster (Can) Gsc Blagnac Velo Sport 31 0:05:57
36Nicolas Rivard (Can) Équipe Du Québec 0:06:04
37Daniel Koszela (Can) Win Cycling Centre 0:06:07
38Nicholas Menegon (Can) Toronto Hustle 0:06:57
39Jacob Lacroix (Can) Ride With Rendall 0:07:01
40Joel Plamondon (Can) Espoirs Quilicot 0:07:01
41Jeremy Obrand (Can) Toronto Hustle 0:07:01
42Evan Russell (Can) Tag Cycling Race Team 0:07:03
43Emmett Culp (Can) Digital Commerce Bank 0:07:20
44Philippe Schampaert (Can) Odd Collectif 0:07:34
45Gregory Santiago Zapata Cordoba (Can) Team Macadam's Cowboys 0:07:37
46Aidan Oliphant (Can) Indépendant 0:08:07
47Jason Vettorel (Can) Veloselect-Silber 0:08:42
48Victor Marchand (Can) Desjardins-Ford 0:09:59
49Brayden Windsor (Can) Team Sask 0:10:00
50Tommy Feng (Can) 0:10:04
DNFLukas Carreau (Can) Équipe Du Québec
DNFBraden Kersey (Can) Tag Cycling Race Team
DNFCaleb Bender (Can) Tag Cycling Race Team
DNFAlexis Rochette (Can) IBIKE
DNSDavid Dubé(Can) Desjardins-Ford
DNSZakariya Jackson (Can) Newmarket Eagles

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews