Cummings wins British time trial championship

Stephen Cummings (Dimension Data) took a surprise victory in the British time trial championships with a time of 57:18. In his first event in almost three months, Cummings beat defending champion Alex Dowsett (Movistar) by just nine seconds, with James Gullen (JLT Condor) taking third.

Cummings has been battling to come back from injury after fracturing his collarbone, scapula and sternum in a crash at the Vuelta al Pais Vasco at the start of April. The importance of the victory for Cummings was shown when he welled up with tears during a post-race interview.

"I haven't really had time to think over the last few months – I haven't let myself think," said Cummings. "I've just been trying to get back, and today's the perfect confirmation of what I've been seeing in training. It wasn't perfect, it wasn't pretty, but it was as much as I could do today and it was good enough.

"I wasn't so good on the corners, I was losing time, but that's normal – you're going to be a bit cautious and out of practice. It was a tough course but I just concentrated on going as hard as I could on the climbs and recovering a bit on the downhill. It's pretty cool to be national champion. It's been really nice to be here this year – I haven't been to the Isle of Man for 17 years I don't think, but you see the same people and they have welcomed me back and it's been really nice."

Due to his lack of racing coming into the event and his late application to ride the national championships, Cummings had a comparatively early start. The Dimension Data rider went off in the first half of the field and immediately set about posting the fastest time at each of the checks.

By the time he hit the line, he was 1:44 quicker than the current fastest time set by Harry Tanfield. Nobody could get near Cummings' time, until multiple champion Dowsett began beating Cummings at each of the early check points. He was five seconds up on Cummings by the end of the first lap.

As calm as Dowsett was, there was drama unfolding behind him. Attached to the top of the following car, Dowsett's spare bike hit the clock on the finishing gantry. The impact forced the bike sideways and it was left listless and broken atop the car. It wasn't a disaster for Dowsett but it left him without an alternative if he had any mechanical issues.

Meanwhile, Jon Dibben (Team Sky) – who had been one of the pre-race favourites – came home more than three minutes down on Cummings. Dibben had been going well on the opening lap, but his day was scuppered by a puncture.

Last year's runner up, James Gullen (JLT Condor), came home almost a minute short of the fastest time set by Cummings, leaving only Dowsett able to unseat the Wirral-born rider. Having gone faster than Cummings on the first lap, Dowsett struggled to match his second-lap time and despite pushing himself to his limits on the descent towards Ballacraine, Dowsett lost nine seconds on the line.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Stephen Cummings (GBr) Team Dimension Data0:57:18
2Alex Dowsett (GBr) Movistar Team0:00:09
3James Gullen (GBr) JLT Condor0:00:51
4Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBr) Team Sky0:01:27
5Harry Tanfield (GBr) BIKE Channel Canyon0:01:34
6Peter Williams (GBr) One Pro Cycling0:01:53
7Ryan Perry (GBr) Raleigh GAC0:01:56
8Samuel Harrison (GBr) Team Wiggins0:02:31
9Richard Handley (GBr) Madison Genesis0:02:47
10Jonathan Dibben (GBr) Team Sky0:03:19
11Ioan Smallwood (GBr) Cardiff Ajax CC0:03:20
12James McLaughlin (GBr) Hrinkow Advarics Cycleang0:03:27
13Lloyd Chapman (GBr) Catford CC Equipe/Banks0:03:46
14John Archibald (GBr) Pro Vision Scotland0:03:47
15Rhys Howells (GBr) Team Wiggins0:04:36
16Adam Kenway (GBr) Raleigh GAC0:04:50
17James Tucker (GBr)0:05:07
18Adam Robinson (GBr) Team KTM0:05:10
19Steven Lawley (GBr) Metaltek Kuota Racing Team0:05:15
20Daniel Halksworth (GBr) Team Bottrill - HSS Hire0:05:38
21Lawrence Carpenter (GBr) Catford CC Equipe/Banks0:05:57
22Jon Entwistle (GBr) GTR0:06:03
23Fraser Rounds (GBr) Team KTM0:06:36
24Dean Robson (GBr) Northovers VT0:06:39
25Gruffudd Lewis (GBr) Madison Genesis0:06:41
26Ryan Morley (GBr) Royal Air Force CA0:06:42
27Sam Brand (GBr) Team Novo Nordisk (Development0:07:39
28Philip Jones (GBr) Bella In Sella Racing0:08:15
29David Griffiths (GBr) Pro Vision Scotland0:08:23
30Andrew Disley (GBr) Team KTM0:08:47
31Warwick Sanderson (GBr) Manx Viking Wheelers CC0:11:40
32Jamie Fletcher (GBr) Ellan Vannin CC/Appleby0:13:58
33John Sanderson (GBr) Manx Viking Wheelers CC0:14:20
34Paul Dable (GBr) NFTO0:14:58
35David Radcliffe (GBr) Manx Viking Wheelers CC0:16:45
DNFOwain Doull (GBr) Team Sky

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1