Lizzie Deignan wins fourth British road race title

Lizzie Deignan (Boels-Dolmans) claimed a fourth British women's road race title on Sunday, attacking late from a group of four to win solo. 

The former world champion, who won the national title in 2011, 2013, and 2015, spent much of the day as part of a chase group, and no sooner than she finally joined up with the head of the race, with two kilometres remaining, had she taken off solo, and there was no catching her. 

Katie Archibald outsprinted 2016 champion Hannah Barnes for the silver medal, several seconds back, while Elinor Barker, who had spent most of the day at the front of the race, rolled home in fourth. 

"It's great to be in the jersey again. It's always such a difficult race to win – you don't just need good legs, you need a bit of luck too," said Deignan. 

Luck wasn't on Barker's side in the end, but it looked like the Olympic track champion was on her way to a huge victory on the road. She made it into a group of three that formed on the long loop of the Isle of Man course, and that led onto the 7.2km finishing circuit - to be covered six times.

Behind her, Deignan, Barnes, and Archibald gave chase in a group of seven as the peloton drifted back. Barker went solo but never had more than a minute, though when her lead started to rise again towards 45 seconds, with just over a lap remaining, it looked promising. 

Deignan attacked from the chase on the last lap, dragging Barnes and Archibald with her, and that spelled trouble for Barker, who tried to hold on for as long as possible with the chasers just a hundred metres back. When the catch was made, Deignan, by far the most experience of the group, wasted no time, and seized the moment to take her fourth title.

"It's one of the hardest national championships I've ever won – it wasn't a case of going in to the race with five rivals, it was more likely 20, and I'm very proud of the fact that we have so many women now who are capable of competing internationally as well as domestically," she said. 

"I know that Elinor will be so disappointed but she shouldn't be; it was an incredible performance. It'll stand her in good stead in the future."

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Elizabeth Deignan (GBr) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam2:44:18
2Katie Archibald (GBr) Team WNT Pro Cycling0:00:14
3Hannah Barnes (GBr) Canyon SRAM Racing
4Elinor Barker (GBr)0:00:17
5Melissa Lowther (GBr)0:01:28
6Neah Evans (GBr)
7Manon Lloyd (GBr)
8Hayley Simmonds (GBr) Team WNT Pro Cycling
9Anna Christian (GBr) Drops Cycling Team
10Eleanor Dickinson (GBr)0:08:34
11Dani King (GBr) Cylance Pro Cycling
12Emily Nelson (GBr)
13Abigail Van Twisk (GBr) Drops Cycling Team
14Natalie Grinczer (GBr) Team WNT Pro Cycling
15Rebecca Durrell (GBr) Drops Cycling Team
16Elizabeth Stedman (GBr)
17Laura Massey (GBr) Drops Cycling Team
18Joscelin Lowden (GBr)
19Elizabeth Holden (GBr) Drops Cycling Team
20Dani Christmas (GBr)
21Julie Erskine (GBr)
22Hayley Jones (GBr) Team WNT Pro Cycling
23Abby-Mae Parkinson (GBr) Drops Cycling Team
24Annasley Park (GBr) Drops Cycling Team
25Elizabeth-Jane Harris (GBr)
26Jennifer Powell (GBr)
27Rebecca Carter (GBr) Team WNT Pro Cycling
28Hannah Payton (GBr) Drops Cycling Team
29Molly Weaver (GBr) Team Sunweb Women
30Alicia Speake (GBr)
31Lucy Shaw (GBr) Drops Cycling Team
32Claire Rose (GBr) Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling
33Bethany Crumpton (GBr)
34Kimberley Ashton (GBr)0:08:39
35Emma Cockroft (GBr)
36Jennifer George (GBr)
37Chanel Mason (GBr)
38Georgina Panchaud (GBr)
39Jennifer Hudson (GBr)
40Genevieve Whitson (GBr)
41Alice Barnes (GBr) Drops Cycling Team
42Emma Lewis (GBr)0:08:44
43Bethany Hayward (GBr)0:09:01
44Amy Gornall (GBr)0:09:05
45Corrine Hall (GBr)0:09:10
46Amy Roberts (GBr) Wiggle High50:09:19
47Hannah Walker (GBr) Team WNT Pro Cycling0:10:32
OTLMonica Dew (GBr)
OTLMelissa Brand (GBr)
OTLHolly Flannery (GBr)
OTLFiona Hunter-Johnston (GBr)
OTLMaryka Sennema (GBr)
OTLAmy Hill (GBr)
OTLGemma Sargent (GBr)
OTLRose Osborne (GBr) Drops Cycling Team
OTLGabriella Shaw (GBr) Team WNT Pro Cycling
OTLMolly Patch (GBr)
OTLChloe Weller (GBr)
OTLCharmaine Porter (GBr)
OTLKeira Mcvitty (GBr) Team WNT Pro Cycling
OTLBethany Taylor (GBr)
OTLJennifer Holden (GBr)
OTLRebecca Goodson (GBr)
OTLKaren Poole (GBr)
OTLJessica Duffy (GBr)
OTLGrace Garner (GBr) Wiggle High5
OTLEmily Kay (GBr) Team WNT Pro Cycling
OTLTina Hartwright (GBr)
OTLCrystal Lane (GBr)
OTLCharlotte Redden (GBr)
OTLCharlotte Colclough (GBr)
OTLAlexandra Sheehan (GBr)
OTLLucy Harper (GBr)
DNFLucy Garner (GBr) Wiggle High5
DNFSarah King (GBr)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1