Colombia kicks off track World Cup with the first gold medal

Great Britain secures gold medals in men's and women's team pursuits

Colombia's Jannie Salcedo Zambrano secured the first gold medal at the UCI Track World Cup round two in the women's scratch race on Friday at the Lee Valley VeloPark in London. She won the race in a sprint ahead of American rider Lauren Stephens, who earned the silver medal. Poland's Katarzyna Pawlowska, who was a lap down, took the bronze medal.

Salcedo Zambrano and Stephens lapped the field partway through the scratch race and sprinted for the gold and silver medals. Race officials neutralized the event after a crash so that medical staff could treat an injured rider. The racing resumed with five laps to go.

Great Britain quartet - Laura Trott, Katie Archibald, Elinor Barker and Ciara Horne - took the gold medal in the women's team pursuit. Australia - Isabelle King, Ashlee Ankudinoff, Amy Cure and Melissa Hoskins - was forced to settle for the silver medal. Canada secured the bronze medal leaving China to settle for fourth place. Great Britain is leading the overall World Cup standings in the women's team pursuit with 600 points.

Great Britain - Andy Tennant, Steven Burke, Mark Christian and Owain Doull - also took the gold medal in the men's team pursuit. The team's Olympic champion Ed Clancy, raced the earlier rounds but did not compete in the finals for gold. New Zealand took the silver medal, and Denmark won the bronze medal round against Switzerland. Great Britain is also leading the World Cup standings in the men's team pursuit with a total of 570 points.

Germany proved to be the fastest team in the men's team sprint, winning the gold medal against Jayco-Ais. New Zealand scored the bronze medal. There was some disappointment in the men’s team sprint for Great Britain as its riders Philip Hindes, Jason Kenny and Callum Skinner qualified seventh fastest and did not move onto the medal rounds.

China won the gold medal in the women's team sprint against Germany. Again, Great Britain's Jessica Varnish and Vicky Williamson finished fifth in the qualifying round and they did not compete for a medal.

Spain’s Eloy Teruel Rovira won the gold medal in the men's points race with a total of 43 points, beating Belgium's Kenny De Ketele, who finished with 34 points and the silver medal, and Argentina's Eduardo Sepulveda finishing with 31 points, good enough for the bronze medal.

Full Results

Women's Team Sprint - Gold Medal
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
 Tianshi Zhong  
 Jinjie Gong  
 Kristina Vogel  
 Miriam Welte  
Women's Team Sprint - Bronze Medal
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
 Ekaterina Gnidenko  
 Anastasiia Voinova  
4Team Jayco-Ais0:00:33.487 
 Stephanie Morton  
 Anna Meares  
Women's Team Pursuit - Gold Medal
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Great Britain0:04:22.194 
 Katie Archibald  
 Laura Trott  
 Elinor Barker  
 Ciara Horne  
 Isabelle King  
 Ashlee Ankudinoff  
 Amy Cure  
 Melissa Hoskins  
Women's Team Pursuit - Bronze Medal
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
 Allison Beveridge  
 Jasmin Glaesser  
 Kristi Lay  
 Stephanie Roorda  
 Dong Yan Huang  
 Wenwen Jiang  
 Yali Jing  
 Baofang Zhao  
Men's Points Race - Final
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Eloy Teruel Rovira (Spa) Spain43 pts
2Kenny De Ketele (Bel) Belgium34 
3Eduardo Sepulveda (Arg) Argentina31 
4Takuto Kurabayashi (Jpn) Japan30 
5Edwin Avila Vanegas (Col) Colombia29 
6Adrian Teklinski (Pol) Poland15 
7Vitaliy Hryniv (Ukr) Ukraine10 
8Oliver Wood (GBr) Great Britain9 
9Pierre-Luc Perichon (Fra) France6 
10Roger Kluge (Ger) Germany5 
11Chun Wing Leung (HKg) Hong Kong, China3 
12Vojtech Hacecky (Cze) Czech Republic3 
13Claudio Imhof (Swi) Switzerland2 
14Jacob Duehring (USA) United States Of America1 
15Mark Stewart (GBr) Great Britain1 
16Javan Nulty (Irl) Ireland  
17Hiroaki Harada (Jpn) Japan-14 
18Liam Bertazzo (Ita) Italy-20 
19Cormac Clarke (Irl) Ireland-40 
DNFMher Mkrtchyan (Arm) Armenia  
DNFScott Sunderland (Aus) Australia  
DNFDmytro Ponomarenko (Ukr) Ukraine  
DNFEvgeny Kovalev RVL Russia  
Men's Team Sprint - Gold Medal
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
 Joachim Eilers  
 Robert Forstemann  
2Team Jayco-Ais0:00:44.113 
 Matthew Claetzer  
 Shane Perkins  
 Nathan Hart  
Men's Team Sprints - Bronze Medal
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
3New Zealand0:00:43.713 
 Edward Dawkins  
 Ethan Mitchell  
 Sam Webster  
 Michael d'Almeida  
 Francois Pervis  
 Kevin Sireau  
Men's Team Pursuit - Gold Medal
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Great Britain0:04:01.151 
 Steven Burke  
 Mark Christian  
 Owain Doull  
 Andrew Tennant  
2New Zealand0:04:05.463 
 Pieter Bulling  
 Westley Gough  
 Cameron Karwowski  
 Myron Simpson  
Men's Team Pursuit - Bronze Medal
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
 Casper Pedersen  
 Lasse Norman Hansen  
 Christian Rasmus Quaade  
 Casper Von Folsach  
 Tom Bohli  
 Stefan Kueng  
 Frank Pasche  
 Cyrille Thierry  
Women's Scratch Race - Final
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jannie Milena Salcedo Zambrano (Col) Colombia  
2Lauren Stephens (USA) United States Of America  
3Katarzyna Pawlowska (Pol) Poland  
4Laurie Berthon (Fra) France  
5Evgeniya Romanyuta (Rus) Russian Federation  
6Kelly Druyts (Bel) Belgium  
7Kirsten Wild (Ned) Netherlands  
8Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Italy  
9Alzbeta Pavlendova (Svk) Slovakia  
10Emily Kay (Wal) GBr  
11Sofia Arreola Navarro (Mex) Mexico  
12Tetyana Klimchenko (Ukr) Ukraine  
13Lydia Boylan (Irl) Ireland  
14Yoko Kojima (Jpn) Japan  
15Jarmila Machacova (Cze) Czech Republic  
16Olena Pavlukhina (Aze) Azerbaijan  
17Qianyu Yang (HKg) Hong Kong, China  
18Sheyla Gutierrez Ruiz (Spa) Spain  
19Marta Tereshchuk (Ukr) Ukraine  
20Natalia Rutkowska (Pol) Poland  
21Annie Foreman-Mackey (Can) Canada  
22Maria Giulia Confalonieri (Ita) Italy  
DNFYareli Salazar (Mex) Mexico  
DNFKisato Nakamura (Jpn) Japan  


Back to top