Compton racks up another win in Belgium

Vos, Harris round out podium in Baal

Katie Compton (Trek Cyclocross Collective) won the GP Sven Nys in Baal, Belgium on New Year’s Day. The US champion beat world champion Marianne Vos (Rabobank Women) after fighting out a race-long duel. Vos was set back by a flat tyre in the final lap. It’s the third time out of four races Compton has beaten Vos in the past two weeks.

Vos got off to a good start but she was quickly joined by Compton on the fast course in Baal. Nikki Harris (Young Telenet-Fidea) rode most of the race alone in third place. In contrast to previous years there wasn’t a lot of water on the course and the sun even greeted the women during their race. It was the first race from Compton on her new Trek Boone 7 bike.

Full results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Katie Compton (USA) Trek Cyclocross Collective0:38:07 
2Marianne Vos (Ned) Rabobank Liv/Giant0:00:20 
3Nikki Harris (GBr) Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:00:44 
4Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona Factory Racing0:01:29 
5Sophie de Boer (Ned) Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:01:51 
6Elle Anderson (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized0:02:01 
7Sanne Cant (Bel) Enertherm-BKCP0:02:08 
8Ellen Van Loy (Bel) DNCS-Pro 2012 Cycling Team0:02:30 
9Githa Michiels (Bel) Toka Print MTB Team0:02:45 
10Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) Rabobank Liv/Giant0:03:19 
11Courtenay McFadden (USA) Bicycle Blue Book-HRS-Rock Lobster0:04:04 
12Jolien Verschueren (Bel) Cycling Team Drogenboom0:04:16 
13Loes Sels (Bel) DNCS-Pro 2012 Cycling Team0:04:47 
14Asa Maria Erlandsson (Swe) Varbergs MTB-Cube0:04:55 
15Ayako Toyooka (Jpn) Panasonic Ladies0:05:16 
16Margriet Helena Kloppenburg (Den) Endura Lady Force0:05:58 
17Karen Verhestraeten (Bel) Up Cycling Team0:06:19 
18Bianca Van Den Hoek0:06:43 
19Katrien Thijs (Bel) Up Cycling Team0:07:03 
20Cindy Bauwens (Bel)0:07:13 
21Christine Vardaros (USA) Team Stevens0:07:46 
22Ilona Meter (Ned) Giant0:08:18 
23Lindy Van Anrooij (Ned) ZRTC Theo Middelkamp0:08:29 
24Corey Coogan (USA)0:08:31 
25Shana Maes (Bel) Kriekel Cycling Team0:09:52 
26Lena Bischoff-Stein (Ger)0:10:15 
27 (-1 lap)Clémence Ondet (Fra)  
28Jelena Eric (Srb)  
29Lene Vrijsen (Bel)  
30 (-2 laps)Hilde Quintens (Bel) Cycling Team Zemst VZW  
31Britta Werners (Ger)  
 Cindy Diericx (Bel) Autoglass Wetteren Solar CT  
Standings after 6 races
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona Factory Racing3:59:36 
2Nikki Harris (GBr) Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:00:54 
3Sanne Cant (Bel) Enertherm-BKCP0:01:39 
4Sophie de Boer (Ned) Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:08:53 
5Ellen Van Loy (Bel) DNCS-Pro 2012 Cycling Team0:12:45 
6Githa Michiels (Bel) Toka Print MTB Team0:12:51 
7Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) Rabobank Liv/Giant0:14:27 
8Gabriella Durrin (GBr) Rapha-Focus0:17:02 
9Marianne Vos (Ned) Rabobank Liv/Giant0:17:59 
10Katie Compton (USA) Trek Cyclocross Collective0:18:26 
11Pavla Havlikova (Cze) Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:18:56 
12Loes Sels (Bel) DNCS-Pro 2012 Cycling Team0:22:49 
13Karen Verhestraeten (Bel) Up Cycling Team0:23:03 
14Reza Hormes-Ravenstijn (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team0:23:06 
15Lucie Chainel (Fra) BH-SR Suntour-KMC0:25:09 
16Maureen Bruno Roy (USA) Bob's Red Mill p/b Seven Cycles  
17Elle Anderson (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized0:25:25 
18Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (Fra) Faren Kuota0:25:28 
19Eva Lechner (Ita)0:25:33 
20Laura Verdonschot (Bel) VZW Lotto-Ladiescycling0:25:42 

Related Articles

Back to top