TechPowered By

More tech

Boasson Hagen back to winning form

Cycling News

Norwegian claims first win since June over Van Hummel

Edvald Boasson Hagen (Sky) wins the 2010 edition of the Dutch Food Valley Classics.

Edvald Boasson Hagen (Sky) wins the 2010 edition of the Dutch Food Valley Classics.

view thumbnail gallery

Edvald Boasson Hagen (Team Sky) outsprinted last year's winner Kenny Robert van Hummel (Skil-Shimano) to win the Dutch Food Valley Classic with Stefan van Dijk (Netherlands National Team) rounding out the podium in third.

The 209.9-kilometres race in the Veluwe National Park featured a five-man break for much of the day which was reeled in with approximately 30km remaining. The five-man escape was comprised of Dennis Van Winden (Rabobank), Frederik Veuchelen (Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team), Martin Pedersen (Footon-Servetto), Tom Dumoulin (Netherlands National Team) and Steven Van Vooren (Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator).

Soon after the five-man break was absorbed Koos Moerenhout (Rabobank), Jurgen Van de Walle (Quick Step) and Piet Rooijakkers (Skil-Shimano) attacked in a bid for victory. This break, too, would be absorbed with three kilometres remaining as the teams of the sprinters pushed the pace at the front of the peloton in anticipation of a field sprint.

Sky teammate Chris Sutton provided a perfect lead-out for Boasson Hagen and the 23-year-old Norwegian took a clear-cut win by a couple of bike lengths in a race which was formerly known as Veenendaal-Veenendaal.

The victory by Boasson Hagen bodes well for Sunday's Vattenfall Cyclassics in Germany and next week's Eneco Tour for which he is the defending champion.

"Our objective from the start was a sprint win with Edvald so we didn't do anything other than try and make that happen," said Team Sky race coach Rod Ellingworth. "It was 210km today but it actually wasn't that hard for Edvald as he was well protected throughout so that should stand him in good stead on Sunday and beyond."


# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Sky Professional Cycling Team 4:51:32  
2 Kenny Robert Van Hummel (Ned) Skil - Shimano    
3 Stefan Van Dijk (Ned)    
4 Manuel Belletti (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
5 Nikolas Maes (Bel) Quick Step    
6 Pieter Vanspeybrouck (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator    
7 Sacha Modolo (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
8 Roy Sentjens (Bel) Team Milram    
9 Thomas Leezer (Ned) Rabobank    
10 Gorik Gardeyn (Bel) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team    
11 Kenny De Haes (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto    
12 Krzysztof Jezowski (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice    
13 Christopher Sutton (Aus) Sky Professional Cycling Team    
14 Bert De Backer (Bel) Skil - Shimano    
15 Kris Boeckmans (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator    
16 Aristide Ratti (Ita) CarmioOro NGC    
17 Enrique Mata (Spa) Footon-Servetto    
18 Johim Ariesen (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels    
19 Steven Caethoven (Bel) Landbouwkrediet    
20 Christoph Pfingsten (Ger) Van Vliet EBH Elshof    
21 Arnoud Van Groen (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team    
22 Markus Eichler (Ger) Team Milram    
23 Wim De Vocht (Bel) Team Milram    
24 Remco Te Brake (Ned) Van Vliet EBH Elshof    
25 Bart Dockx (Bel) Landbouwkrediet    
26 David Gutierrez Palacios (Spa) Footon-Servetto    
27 Alessandro Raisoni (Ita) CarmioOro NGC    
28 Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator    
29 Maarten De Jonge (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels    
30 Bobbie Traksel (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team    
31 Baptiste Plackaert (Bel) Landbouwkrediet    
32 Davy Commeyne (Bel) Landbouwkrediet 0:00:07  
33 Vidal Celis Zabala (Spa) Footon-Servetto    
34 Yoeri Havik (Ned) Van Vliet EBH Elshof    
35 Kurt Hovelynck (Bel) Quick Step    
36 Michele Merlo (Ita) Footon-Servetto    
37 Mirko Tedeschi (Ita) CarmioOro NGC    
38 Michiel Elijzen (Ned) Omega Pharma-Lotto    
39 Geert Steurs (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator    
40 Staf Scheirlinckx (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto    
41 Sebastian Langeveld (Ned) Rabobank    
42 Johnnie Walker (Aus) Footon-Servetto    
43 Dirk Bellemakers (Ned) Landbouwkrediet    
44 Guillaume Van Keirsbulck (Bel) Quick Step 0:00:11  
45 Sander Oostlander (Ned) Van Vliet EBH Elshof    
46 Klaas Lodewyck (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator    
47 David Deroo (Fra) Skil - Shimano    
48 Bob Schoonbroodt (Ned) Van Vliet EBH Elshof    
49 Pim Ligthart (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team    
50 Marco Bos (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels    
51 Jos Van Emden (Ned) Rabobank    
52 Kevin Neirynck (Bel) Landbouwkrediet    
53 Rob Ruijgh (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team    
54 Huub Duyn (Ned)    
55 Jelle Posthuma (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels    
56 Adam Blyth (GBr) Omega Pharma-Lotto    
57 Frederique Robert (Bel) Quick Step    
58 Rikke Dijkxhoorn (Ned) Van Vliet EBH Elshof    
59 Bartlomiej Matysiak (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice    
60 Niki Terpstra (Ned) Team Milram    
61 Artur Gajek (Ger) Team Milram    
62 Bert Scheirlinckx (Bel) Landbouwkrediet    
63 Marcello Pavarin (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
64 Koen Barbe (Bel) Landbouwkrediet    
65 Markus Eibegger (Aut) Footon-Servetto    
66 Albert Timmer (Ned) Skil - Shimano    
67 Stefan Schäfer (Ger) Team Milram    
68 Rick Flens (Ned) Rabobank    
69 Jaroslaw Rebiewski (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice    
70 Tim Mertens (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator    
71 Mitchell Docker (Aus) Skil - Shimano    
72 Patrick Ruckert (Ned)    
73 Tomasz Lisowicz (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice    
74 Federico Canuti (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
75 Lukasz Bodnar (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice    
76 Marco Frapporti (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
77 Tomasz Kiendys (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice    
78 Sierk De Haan (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels    
79 Antonio Quadranti (Ita) CarmioOro NGC    
80 Wilfried Cretskens (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto    
81 Tom Dumoulin (Ned)    
82 Alan Marangoni (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
83 Jens Mouris (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team    
84 Tom Stamsnijder (Ned) Rabobank    
85 Steven Van Vooren (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator    
86 Dries Devenyns (Bel) Quick Step    
87 Sylwester Janiszewski (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice    
88 Thom Van Dulmen (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels    
89 Nick Nuyens (Bel) Rabobank    
90 Koos Moerenhout (Ned) Rabobank    
91 Jurgen Van De Walle (Bel) Quick Step    
92 Joost Van Leijen (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team    
93 Cheng Ji (Chn) Skil - Shimano    
94 Addy Engels (Ned) Quick Step    
95 Mathew Hayman (Aus) Sky Professional Cycling Team    
96 Robert Wagner (Ger) Skil - Shimano 0:00:24  
97 Frederik Veuchelen (Bel) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team 0:00:30  
98 Wim Stroetinga (Ned) Team Milram 0:00:38  
99 Ian Stannard (GBr) Sky Professional Cycling Team 0:00:44  
100 Davide Vigano (Ita) Sky Professional Cycling Team 0:01:38  
101 Piet Rooijakkers (Ned) Skil - Shimano 0:01:46  
102 Jure Kocjan (Slo) CarmioOro NGC 0:02:29  
103 Robert De Greef (Ned)    
104 Umberto Atzori (Ned)    
105 Glenn D'hollander (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto    
106 Tom Stubbe (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto    
107 Peter Jan Polling (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels    
108 Bas Stamsnijder (Ned) Van Vliet EBH Elshof    
109 Jasper Hamelink (Ned)    
110 Kurt-Asle Arvesen (Nor) Sky Professional Cycling Team    
111 Lars Petter Nordhaug (Nor) Sky Professional Cycling Team    
112 Thomas Fothen (Ger) Team Milram    
113 Martin Pedersen (Den) Footon-Servetto    
114 Sebastien Fournet Fayard (Fra) CarmioOro NGC    
115 Stijn Joseph (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator    
116 Paride Grillo (Ita) CarmioOro NGC    
117 Dennis Van Winden (Ned) Rabobank    
118 Haan Wouter (Ned)    
119 Stefan Van Winden (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels