Skip to main content

Madigan Munro wins junior women's US cyclo-cross title

Madigan Munro (Boulder Junior Cycling) soloed to victory in the junior women’s race at the USA Cycling Cyclo-cross National Championships in Lakewood, Washington on Sunday. 

The Pan American champion dominated the race, opening up a massive lead early in the race, before going on to taking the win ahead of her teammate Michaela Thompson (Boulder Junior Cycling) and Lizzy Gunsalus (Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld).

"It was a really fun race," Munro said in a post-race interview. "I definitely want to take cyclo-cross seriously. I love racing bikes and especially cyclo-cross. I want to keep learning as much as I can."

Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Madigan Munro (Boulder Junior Cycling) 0:44:00
2Michaela Thompson (Boulder Junior Cycling) 0:03:17
3Lizzy Gunsalus (Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld) 0:03:39
4Cassidy Hickey (Unattached) 0:03:49
5Lauren Zoerner (Alpha Bicycle Co - Groove Suba) 0:04:05
6Kaia Schmid (New England Devo p/b Cadence We) 0:04:20
7Meredith Sierpina (JA King Cyclocross) 0:04:52
8Bridget Tooley (Easton-Giant p/b Transitions Li) 0:05:02
9Anna Katnik (Boulder Junior Cycling) 0:07:38
10Aubrey Drummond (SPCX p/b RK Black) 0:07:44
11Skylar Bovine (CXHAIRS DEVO : TREK BIKES) 0:07:50
12Abigail Yates (Matrix/Richardson Bike Mart) 0:07:53
13Taylor Johnson (Boulder Junior Cycling) 0:08:07
14Eleanor Dyas (Blue Ridge Cross p/b JA King) 0:09:12
15Tea Wright (Boulder Junior Cycling) 0:09:36
16Rowan Leary (Baltimore Youth Cycling) 0:11:58
17Allison Mccurry (Marian Univerity Cycling)
18Emma Herschbach (Reno Devo)
19Sarah Gibertoni (Killington Mountain School)
21Ella Dishong (Guipago Custom Cycles)
22Alyssa Hargis (TCNF Legal Racing Team)
23Ciara Wing (Truckee TNT)
24Audrey Baker (Midwest Devo)
25Kylie Eckert (Cascadia Junior Cycling)
DNFRyley Mosher (Wheelworks)

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1


Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews