Ortenblad wins US men's U23 championship

Tobin Ortenblad had one last chance to win a national championship before being thrust into the elite category, and the California Giant-Specialized rider was determined to finally capture the elusive stars and stripes. Seizing control of the race from the first lap, Ortenblad stayed at the front each lap and, fending off a concerted effort from Curtis White (Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld), Ortenblad maintained his composure to grab his first gold. Grant Ellwood (Boulder Cycle Sport/Yogaglo) was third.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Tobin Ortenblad (USA) California Giant Cycling0:53:18
2Curtis White (USA) Cannondale Cyclocrossworld0:53:28
3Grant Ellwood (USA) Boulder Cycle Sport/ YogaGlo0:54:20
4Scott Smith (USA) JAM / NCC / Vittoria0:54:55
5Ian Mcpherson (USA) The Pro's Closet0:55:37
6Cooper Willsey (USA) Cannondale Cyclocrossworld0:55:46
7Gavin Haley (USA) Giant Factory0:56:04
8Brannan Fix (USA) Alpha Bicycle Co.- Vista Subaru0:56:08
9Garrett Gerchar (USA)0:56:10
10Casey Hildebrandt (USA) The Underground Project0:56:21
11Lance Haidet (USA)0:56:25
12Byron Rice (USA) Clemmons Bicycle RacingRow 11 - Cell 2
13Andrew Dillman (USA) Cyclocross Network Racing0:56:52
14Maxx Chance (USA) The Pro's Closet0:56:55
15Nathaniel Morse (USA) RACE CF0:57:01
16Skyler Mackey (USA) KCCX Elite Cyclocross pb Clemen0:57:09
17Cody Cupp (USA) Set Coaching0:58:14
18Peter Goguen (USA) RACE CF0:58:39
19Liam Dunn (USA) TEAM CLIF BAR Cycling0:59:21
20Ian Mcshane (USA)0:59:23
21Taylor Squillaci (USA) Nero Veloce p/b Michael Thomas0:59:42
22Cormac Mcgeough (USA) Fort Lewis College0:59:48
23Spencer Downing (USA)0:59:51
24Jonathan Anderson (USA) Fort Lewis College0:59:52
25Andrew Bailey (USA) Provision PEAK Performance Team1:00:23
26Trent Blackburn (USA) Independent Fabrication1:00:24
27Cormac Dunn (USA) TEAM CLIF BAR Cycling1:00:26
28Rob Sandusky (USA) Matrix/RBM1:00:57
29Alex Meucci (USA)1:01:35
30David Greif (USA) Sabino Cycles Racing1:01:50
31John Francisco (USA) University of Louisville1:01:55
32Peter Botts (USA) Walt's Bike Shop/Logboat Brewin1:02:00
33Charlie Hough (USA) UCI CT: Holowesko | Citadel Rac1:02:24
34Andrew Borden (USA) Squadra Flying Tigers1:02:26
35Anders Nystrom (USA) Marian University Cycling Team1:03:04
36Andrew Lints (USA) Bicycle Express Racing1:04:28
37Cory Small (USA) NEXT-BMB-2
38Andrew Dietz (USA) Trek Cyclocross CollectiveRow 37 - Cell 2
39Nicholas Lando (USA) University of VermontRow 38 - Cell 2
40Peter Striegel (USA) University of VermontRow 39 - Cell 2
41Roger Young (USA) Team NYCROSS.comRow 40 - Cell 2
42Clayton Travis (USA) WAS Labs Cycling-3
43Ben Rothschild (USA) Georgia Tech CyclingRow 42 - Cell 2
44Andrew Nicholas (USA) Rensselaer Polytechnic InstitutRow 43 - Cell 2
45Dillen Maurer (USA) Kona BikesRow 44 - Cell 2
46Lane Johnson (USA) Move Up Development-TrekRow 45 - Cell 2
47Zach Bender (USA) Cycle-Smart Inc.Row 46 - Cell 2
48Zachary Nehr (USA) LAPT CCRow 47 - Cell 2
49Nick Thomas (USA) Trek Cyclocross CollectiveRow 48 - Cell 2
50Chris Goguen (USA) RACE CFRow 49 - Cell 2
51Andrew Luettgen (USA) East Point Track ClubRow 50 - Cell 2
52Sam Winters (USA) Marian University Cycling TeamRow 51 - Cell 2
53Andrew Hall (USA) Asheville CyclocrossRow 52 - Cell 2
54John Hoffman Jr. (USA) Marian University Cycling TeamRow 53 - Cell 2
55Devin Reavis (USA) High Country Development Team-4
56Garrett Clark (USA) Appalachian State UniversityRow 55 - Cell 2
57Caleb Smith (USA) High Country Development TeamRow 56 - Cell 2
58Andrew Hodges (USA) Prima Tappa Cycling p/b MansfieRow 57 - Cell 2
59Tyler Roberts (USA) ChristianCycling St LouisRow 58 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Laura Weislo
Managing Editor

Laura Weislo has been with Cyclingnews since 2006 after making a switch from a career in science. As Managing Editor, she coordinates coverage for North American events and global news. As former elite-level road racer who dabbled in cyclo-cross and track, Laura has a passion for all three disciplines. When not working she likes to go camping and explore lesser traveled roads, paths and gravel tracks. Laura specialises in covering doping, anti-doping, UCI governance and performing data analysis.