Van der Poel wins second Cyclo-cross European Championship

Mathieu van der Poel (Netherlands) rode a pitch-perfect race to claim his second consecutive European cyclo-cross title Sunday in ‘s-Hertogenbosch, Netherlands. The Dutchman took the lead on lap two and never let it go, despite a late charge from Wout van Aert (Belgium) on the final lap. Laurens Sweeck made it home in third place, giving Belgium two riders on the podium.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathieu van der Poel (Netherlands)1:02:35
2Wout van Aert (Belgium)0:00:14
3Laurens Sweeck (Belgium)0:00:18
4Michael Vanthourenhout (Belgium)0:00:30
5Toon Aerts (Belgium)0:00:33
6Lars dan der Haar (Netherlands)0:00:37
7Joris Nieuwenhuis (Netherlands)0:01:08
8Quinten Hermans (Belgium)0:01:13
9Gianni Vermeersch (Belgium)0:01:15
10Daan Soete (Belgium)0:01:16
11Tim Merlier (Belgium)0:01:24
12Corne van Kessel (Netherlands)0:01:56
13David van der Poel (Netherlands)0:01:57
14Steve Chainel (France)0:02:00
15Michael Boroš (Czech Republic)0:02:33
16Sieben Wouters (Netherlands)0:02:42
17Stan Godrie (Netherlands)0:02:44
18Gioele Bertolini (Italy)0:03:20
19David Menut (France)0:03:28
20Marcel Wildhaber (Switzerland)0:03:32
21Timon Rüegg (Switzerland)0:03:34
22Joshua Dubau (France)0:03:47
23Matthieu Boulo (France)0:03:50
24Severin Sägesser (Switzerland)0:03:51
25Marek Konwa (Poland)0:03:54
26Tomáš Paprstka (Czech Republic)0:03:55
27Jan Nesvadba (Czech Republic)0:04:33
28Simon Zahner (Switzerland)0:04:49
29Gosse van der Meer (Netherlands)0:05:30
30Fabien Canal (France)0:06:05
31Ondrej Glajza (Slovakia)Row 30 - Cell 2
32Martin Haring (Slovakia)Row 31 - Cell 2
33Henrik Jansson (Sweden)Row 32 - Cell 2
34David Eriksson (Sweden)Row 33 - Cell 2
35Manuel Müller (Germany)Row 34 - Cell 2
36Martin Eriksson (Sweden)Row 35 - Cell 2
37Kenneth Hansen (Denmark)Row 36 - Cell 2
38Joachim Parbo (Denmark)Row 37 - Cell 2
39Jacob Lindsel (Denmark)Row 38 - Cell 2
DNFMarcel Meisen (Germany)Row 39 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1