Van der Poel and Ferrand-Prevot take Lenzerheide short track wins

Mathieu van der Poel (Corendon-Circus) proved once again that he is untouchable in the World Cup short track event, taking his fifth win in six races at Lenzerheide, Switzerland, on Friday. The only one he hasn't won this year was at Andorra, a race he didn't attend.

Held on a tight, twisty circuit at 1500 metres of altitude, a large group was still in contention with four laps to, before world champion and World Cup leader Nino Schurter (Scott-SRAM) accelerated. Only van der Poel and Henrique Avancini (Cannondale Factory) were able to go with him, and van der Poel took over the pace setting for the final two laps. In the final lap, Avancini attacked on a climb and van der Poel immediately countered, pulling away from the Brazilian to cruise across the finish line. Schurter took third.

"It is a good feeling [to win so many short tracks], but every one has been pretty hard to win," said van der Poel. "Nino was really strong today, and he did a different tactic than what I am used to from him; pulling all during the race and making it really hard. I'm really satisfied with my season; I've made the step up to be with the top guys. Winning two [XCO] World Cups so far and the European XCO championship; it's been a fantastic season for me on the mountain bike."

With his win, van der Poel has pulled to within 71 points of Schurter, with Avancini maintaining his third place in the standings. 

Ferrand-Prevot adds first short track win

One week after winning her first cross-country World Cup since 2015, Pauline Ferrand-Prevot (Canyon Factory) showed that it was not a fluke by winning Round 6 of the Short Track in Lenzerheide, Switzerland; her first win in the new discipline.

Held on a tight, twisty circuit at 1500 metres of altitude, the race saw a group of ten riders still in contention with three laps to go in the 20 minute race. Ferrand-Prevot had sat in the middle of the group, rejoining the leaders after crashing on the first lap. She began to to accelerate the pace, and the only riders able to go with her in the final lap were World Cup leader Jolanda Neff (Trek Factory) and Swedish champion Jenny Rissveds. Ferrand-Prevot got the inside line on the sweeping curve into the finish, crossing the line half a bike length ahead of Neff.

"It was incredible to win because I crashed on the first lap and was back in 12th position," said Ferrand-Prevot. "I came back, but it was so hard. I knew that I could not give up so I went full gas. For the sprint, since I won [the XCO World Cup] last week against Jolanda, I had some confidence, and I just gave it everything."

With her second place, Neff padded her lead in the overall rankings ahead of former leader Kate Courtney (Scott-SRAM), while Ferrand-Prevot moved up one spot to third overall.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite Men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathieu Van der Poel (Ned)0:20:07
2Henrique Avancini (Bra)0:00:01
3Nino Schurter (Swi)0:00:05
4Maxime Marotte (Fra)0:00:08
5Luca Braidot (Ita)0:00:09
6Manuel Fumic (Ger)0:00:10
7Victor Koretzky (Fra)0:00:14
8Titouan Carod (Fra)0:00:15
9Jordan Sarrou (Fra)0:00:16
10Mathias Flueckiger (Swi)0:00:26
11Erik Hægstad (Nor)0:00:29
12Nadir Colledani (Ita)0:00:30
13Matthias Stirnemann (Swi)0:00:32
14Stephane Tempier (Fra)0:00:34
15Gerhard Kerschbaumer (Ita)0:00:35
16Georg Egger (Ger)0:00:36
17Leandre Bouchard (Can)Row 16 - Cell 2
18Jan Škarnitzl (Cze)0:00:37
19Daniele Braidot (Ita)0:00:39
20Jens Schuermans (Bel)0:00:42
21Lars Forster (Swi)0:00:43
22Carlos Coloma Nicolas (Spa)Row 21 - Cell 2
23Anton Sintsov (Rus)0:00:44
24Peter Disera (Can)0:00:51
25Sebastian Fini Carstensen (Den)0:01:01
26Anton Cooper (NZl)0:01:03
27Guilherme Gotardelo Muller (Bra)0:01:07
28Bartlomiej Wawak (Pol)0:01:10
29Reto Indergand (Swi)0:01:15
30András Parti (Hun)Row 29 - Cell 2
31Ondřej Cink (Cze)Row 30 - Cell 2
32David Valero Serrano (Spa)Row 31 - Cell 2
33Gregor Raggl (Aut)Row 32 - Cell 2
34Ben Zwiehoff (Ger)Row 33 - Cell 2
35Kohei Yamamoto (Jpn)Row 34 - Cell 2
36Ben Oliver (NZl)Row 35 - Cell 2
37Karl Markt (Aut)Row 36 - Cell 2
DNFFlorian Vogel (Swi)Row 37 - Cell 2
DNFLuiz Henrique Cocuzzi (Bra)Row 38 - Cell 2
DNSRaphael Gagne (Can)Row 39 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite Women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Pauline Ferrand-Prevot (Fra)0:21:38
2Jolanda Neff (Swi)Row 1 - Cell 2
3Jenny Rissveds (Swe)0:00:01
4Anne Tauber (Ned)0:00:02
5Chloe Woodruff (USA)0:00:09
6Rebecca Mcconnell (Aus)0:00:10
7Anne Terpstra (Ned)0:00:11
8Alessandra Keller (Swi)0:00:12
9Kate Courtney (USA)0:00:26
10Lea Davison (USA)0:00:28
11Jitka Čábelická (Cze)0:00:31
12Candice Lill (RSA)0:00:32
13Annika Langvad (Den)0:00:35
14Sina Frei (Swi)0:00:36
15Emily Batty (Can)Row 14 - Cell 2
16Annie Last (GBr)0:00:38
17Tanja Žakelj (Slo)0:00:39
18Chiara Teocchi (Ita)0:00:49
19Catharine Pendrel (Can)Row 18 - Cell 2
20Eva Lechner (Ita)0:00:55
21Elisabeth Brandau (Ger)0:00:59
22Sandra Walter (Can)0:01:06
23Linda Indergand (Swi)0:01:11
24Julie Bresset (Fra)0:01:20
25Kathrin Stirnemann (Swi)0:01:25
26Paula Gorycka (Pol)0:01:37
27Githa Michiels (Bel)0:01:41
28Lotte Koopmans (Ned)0:01:53
29Rocio Del Alba Garcia Martinez (Spa)0:01:54
30Irina Kalentyeva (Rus)Row 29 - Cell 2
31Cherie Redecker (RSA)Row 30 - Cell 2
32Aleksandra Podgorska (Pol)Row 31 - Cell 2
33Jovana Crnogorac (Srb)Row 32 - Cell 2
34Adelheid Morath (Ger)Row 33 - Cell 2
35Sabrina Enaux (Fra)Row 34 - Cell 2
36Elisabeth Osl (Aut)Row 35 - Cell 2
37Haley Smith (Can)Row 36 - Cell 2
38Mariske Strauss (RSA)Row 37 - Cell 2
DNFIsla Short (GBr)Row 38 - Cell 2
DNFSophie Von Berswordt (Ned)Row 39 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1