Lucinda Brand wins World Cup Tabor

World cyclo-cross champion Lucinda Brand (Baloise Trek Lions) used her superior power and tactics to ride away from a leading group of seven riders on the last lap to win the elite women's UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup in Tabor.

The Dutch rider took the lead for the last lap, with her increase in pace too strong for her rivals, who fell away in the last moments of the race. 

Teenager Puck Pieterse (Alpecin - Fenix) had made the race with constant attacks and by jumping over the uphill planks section. She was rewarded by sprinting home for second narrowly beating Annemarie Worst (777) into third. 

Brand extended her lead in the world cup to 19 points after rival for the series Betsema placed fifth despite finishing just nine seconds behind winner Brand. In her post-race interview Brand praised 19-year-old Pieterse and her attacks over the uphill planks on each lap. 

“It was a really good race again,” said 19-year-old Pieters, talking about her second place. 

“The small climbs, the power and the corner and of course the barriers.” 

How it unfolded

Lucinda Brand (Baloise Trek Lions) was the in-form rider coming into the event having won the European championships last weekend and midweek Superprestige event in Niel. 

The Dutch rider took the lead after the fast and wide asphalt start with Under 23 rider Puck Pieterse (Alpecin-Fenix) monitoring her senior rival while further down the field early crashes delayed those towards the back of the field. 

After winning the previous world cup round in Overijse, Blanka Vas (Team SD Worx) led the rest of the field back to the early leaders as they snaked around the dry and fast course in the Czech Republic. 

Pieterse, aged just 19, lead into the uphill planks before using her skills to bunny hop the obstacle. Impressively, she was the only elite woman able to do so. 

Unlike the mud which has greeted riders in Belgium and Holland in recent weeks, the dry Tabor course allowed a group of 10 riders to form after the opening lap. 

After finishing second in the last World Cup race in Overijse, Pieterse continued to push the pace while road rider Brand was using her strength on the relentless grassy climbs to put her rivals under pressure. 

Pieterse attacked again on the uphill planks using her speed and forced Brand to close the gap with Vas able to respond but the remainder of the leading group under pressure. 

The leading trio kept the pressure on their rivals in the front group with Annemarie Worst (777), Ceylin Alvarado (Alpecin-Fenix), Denise Betsema (Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal) and Shirin Van Anrooij (Baloise Trek Lions) all pulling their way back to the head of proceedings. 

Betsema who sat level on points at the head of the World Cup with Brand coming into the sixth round looked to be struggling with the constant pace being enforced by Vas, Pieterse and Brand. 

However, as the pace slowed on the asphalt start/finish area Betsema came back through the leading group of eight riders and looked to attack, only for Vas to outmuscle the Dutch rider and continue to push the pace. 

On the fourth lap, Pieterse again attacked through the planks and got the slender gap she desired, as the chasers led by Vas sat eight seconds back with two laps remaining. 

As the chasing group started to feel the relentless pace of the race, Betsema came to the front closing the gap to Pieterse before they hit planks again allowing the youngster to grow her gap once more. 

Betsema again responded by pulling the leading group back to the leader, with only Van Anrooij losing ground on the six leaders together with a lap remaining. 

World champion Brand had sat back in the leading group for a while but suddenly attacked off the asphalt section on the last lap to lead into the twisty grass corners and sharp climbs for the final time. 

Pressure from Brand on the final lap distanced her rivals and cleverly stopped Pieterse attacking on the plank section but the young rider used her better technique to move up to second place. 

The relentless pace of Brand forced open a gap of three seconds at the finish with Pieterse sprinting past Worst for second while Alvarado was pushed down into fourth. 

Betsema was slightly distanced from the sprint for the podium places and lost vital world cup points over Brand finishing fifth.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lucinda Brand (Ned) Baloise Trek Lions 0:52:00
2Puck Pieterse (Ned) Alpecin - Fenix 0:00:03
3Annemarie Worst (Ned) 777
4Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado (Ned) Alpecin - Fenix 0:00:04
5Denise Betsema (Ned) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal 0:00:09
6Kata Blanka Vas (Hun) 0:00:19
7Shirin van Anrooij (Ned) Baloise Trek Lions 0:00:25
8Fem van Empel (Ned) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal 0:00:52
9Inge van der Heijden (Ned) 777 0:01:10
10Maghalie Rochette (Can) 0:01:16
11Clara Honsinger (USA) Cannondale/Cyclocrossworld
12Hélène Clauzel (Fra) A.S. Bike Crossteam
13Eva Lechner (Ita) 0:01:17
14Alicia Franck (Bel) Proximus - Alphamotorhomes - Doltcini CT 0:01:19
15Alice Maria Arzuffi (Ita) 0:01:54
16Gaia Realini (Ita) Selle Italia - Guerciotti - Elite
17Yara Kastelijn (Ned) Iko - Crelan 0:02:21
18Manon Bakker (Ned) Iko - Crelan 0:02:30
19Aniek van Alphen (Ned) 777 0:02:53
20Kristýna Zemanová (Cze) 0:03:03
21Marie Schreiber (Lux) Tormans - Circus Cyclo Cross Team 0:03:42
22Katie Clouse (USA) Cannondale/Cyclocrossworld 0:03:58
23Marion Norbert Riberolle (Bel) Starcasino CX Team 0:04:09
24Millie Couzens (GBr) 0:04:22
25Suzanne Verhoeven (Bel)
26Olivia Onesti (Fra) Starcasino CX Team
27Marthe Truyen (Bel) Iko - Crelan 0:04:29
28Lucia Gonzalez Blanco (Spa) Nesta - MMR CX Team 0:04:35
29Judith Krahl (Ger) Team Schamel p/b Kloster Kitchen 0:04:49
30Carlotta Borello (Ita) 0:05:02
31Lucia Bramati (Ita) 0:05:03
32Sidney Mcgill (Can) 0:05:04
33Raylyn Nuss (USA) 0:05:07
34Pavla Havlíková (Cze) 0:05:09
35Karla Štěpánová (Cze) 0:05:20
36Tereza Tvarůžková (Cze) 0:05:30
37Tereza Vaníčková (Cze) 0:05:36
38Jana Dobbelaere (Bel) Starcasino CX Team 0:05:48
39Kiona Crabbé (Bel) 0:05:59
40Nadja Heigl (Aut) KTM Alchemist powered by Brenta Brakes 0:06:06
41Asia Zontone (Ita) 0:06:14
42Fauve Bastiaenssen (Bel) BNS Technics - Groep T.O.M. 0:06:24
43Alice Papo (Ita)
44Francesca Baroni (Ita) KTM Alchemist powered by Brenta Brakes 0:07:12
45Clea Seidel (Ger) 0:07:13
46Dominika Wlodarczyk (Pol) 0:08:03
47Lydia Pinto Larenjo (Spa) Nesta - MMR CX Team 0:08:09
48Malgorzata Mazurek (Pol)
49Prisca Jaquet (Swi)
DNSCharline Fragnière (Swi)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1