Compton triumphs at Tabor World Cup

Katie Compton (Trek Cyclocross Collective) rode to victory in the second round of the cyclo-cross World Cup in Tabor.

The American held off a late challenge from British champion Nikki Harris and her Young Telenet-Fidea teammate Pavla Havlikova, who finished second and third respectively.

"It was hard today and really hot, too, so I definitely struggled out there," said Compton. "I attacked a little early but was able to maintain it."

With round one winner Marianne Vos opting not to race, Compton’s win saw her move to the top of the leader board in the overall women’s World Cup. Compton had finished a distant second behind Vos in Valkenburg the previous weekend but the defending World Cup champion now leads the overall standings with 110 points. Harris sits in second with 95 points, while Havlikova is one place further back with 75 points. Vos drops to sixth with 60 points.

"I want to win the overall again - that's my goal," said Compton. "I want to have a strong world championship, too, but I definitely like being consistent and on the podium a lot. I just want to win as many races, or get on the podium, as I can."

Compton, who finished second in Tabor last year, came to the fore on the second of five laps with Harris, Havlikova, Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (Faren-Kuota), Sanne Cant (Enertherm-BKCP) and Ellen Van Loy (DNCS-Pro 2012 Cycling Team) initially able to keep pace with the nine-time American champion.

Harris was clearly in form, the British champion having attempted to put Compton under pressure early on the opening lap, and mid-way through the second lap only Harris and Havlikova remained in contact with Compton.

They had no answer, however, when Compton stamped on the pedals once more and by the end of the lap the duo trailed the American by four seconds.

The predominantly grass parcours with its twists and turns and numerous short undulations had a familiar American-style feel for Compton who felt right at home on the fast circuit.

"I think on the downhills I was getting a little bit of time each lap and I was definitely trying to keep the pressure on on the uphills and they (Harris and Havlikova) were staying right there. I had just enough gap to stay on the pedals the whole time and not let up - it was hard."

Compton would steadily add seconds to her lead each lap and entering the fifth and final circuit she led Harris and Havlikova by 10 seconds while Cant continued alone in fourth at 32 seconds. American Meredith Miller (Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized) had been moving up throughout the race and when she heard the bell for the final lap she had advanced to fifth place at 40 seconds back.

A mechanical incident on the final lap forced Compton to lose a few seconds but her lead was sufficient enough to compose herself and surge once more without being caught by her two tenacious pursuers. Compton would solo to her first World Cup win of the season with Harris outsprinting Havlikova for second place six seconds later.

Ferrier-Bruneau managed to catch and outsprint Cant for fourth at 37 seconds while Miller finished alone in sixth at 47 seconds.

It would be an excellent day for the Americans as Kaitlin Antonneau (Cannondale p/b also cracked the top-10 with a ninth place result while Arley Kemmerer (C3-Twenty20 Cycling) placed 15th.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Full Results
1Katie Compton (USA) Trek Cyclocross Collective0:43:41
2Nikki Harris (GBr) Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:00:06
3Pavla Havlikova (Cze) Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:00:07
4Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (Fra) Faren Kuota0:00:37
5Sanne Cant (Bel) Enertherm-BKCP
6Meredith Miller (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized0:00:47
7Ellen Van Loy (Bel) DNCS-Pro 2012 Cycling Team0:00:54
8Lucie Chainel (Fra) BH-SR Suntour-KMC0:00:56
9Kaitlin Antonneau (USA) Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com0:01:05
10Sophie de Boer (Ned) Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:01:11
11Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona Factory Racing0:01:19
12Gabriella Durrin (GBr) Rapha-Focus0:01:41
13Martina Mikulaskova (Cze) TJ Stadion Louny0:01:59
14Marlene Morel Petitgirard (Fra) VCC Morteau-Montbenoit0:02:33
15Arley Kemmerer (USA) C3-Twenty20 Cycling0:02:39
16Nadja Heigl (Aut) RLM Wien0:02:48
17Caroline Mani (Fra) Raleigh-Clement0:02:55
18Tereza Medvedova (Svk) ZP Sport0:02:56
19Lana Verberne (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team0:03:10
20Annefleur Kalvenhaar (Ned) Giant Dealerteams0:03:32
21Karla Stepanova (Cze) Kona Cycling Point0:03:40
22Nikola Noskova (Cze) KC Kooperativa SG Jablonec0:03:45
23Jessica Lambracht (Ger) Stevens-1A-Crossteam0:03:49
24Margriet Helena Kloppenburg (Den) Endura Lady Force0:04:07
25Asa Maria Erlandsson (Swe) Varbergs MTB-Cube0:04:22
26Lisa Heckmann (Ger) VC-Racingteam0:04:42
27Ayako Toyooka (Jpn) Panasonic Ladies0:04:48
28Janka Stevkova (Svk) CK Epic Dohnany0:05:52
29Zuzana Vojtasova (Svk) CK Banska Bystrica0:06:02
30Jana Czeczinkarova (Cze) Remerx-Merida Team Kolin0:06:12
31Martina Kukulova (Cze) Stevens Bikes-Emilio Sport0:06:32
32Luisa Beck (Ger) Maxx-Solar Cycling0:06:50
33Livia Hanesova (Svk) CK Banska Bystrica0:08:45
DNFAgnes Naumann (Ger) Saikls Crossteam
Swipe to scroll horizontally
World Cup standings after round two
1Katie Compton (USA) Trek Cyclocross Collective110pts
2Nikki Harris (GBr) Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team95
3Pavla Havlikova (Cze) Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team75
4Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (Fra) Faren Kuota75
5Sanne Cant (Bel) Enertherm-BKCP61
6Marianne Vos (Ned) Rabobank Liv/Giant60
7Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona Factory Racing60
8Ellen Van Loy (Bel) DNCS-Pro 2012 Cycling Team56
9Lucie Chainel (Fra) BH-SR Suntour-KMC45
10Meredith Miller (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized44
11Kaitlin Antonneau (USA) Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com42
12Gabriella Durrin (GBr) Rapha-Focus39
13Caroline Mani (Fra) Raleigh-Clement36
14Annefleur Kalvenhaar (Ned) Giant Dealerteams35
15Marlene Morel Petitgirard (Fra) VCC Morteau-Montbenoit32
16Arley Kemmerer (USA) C3-Twenty20 Cycling32
17Sophie de Boer (Ned) Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team31
18Martina Mikulaskova (Cze) TJ Stadion Louny29
19Jessica Lambracht (Ger) Stevens-1A-Crossteam18
20Elena Valentini (Ita) Selle Italia-Guerciotti17
21Nikola Noskova (Cze) KC Kooperativa SG Jablonec16
22Nadja Heigl (Aut) RLM Wien15
23Tereza Medvedova (Svk) ZP Sport13
24Githa Michiels (Bel) Toka Print MTB Team13
25Lana Verberne (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team12
26Alice Maria Arzuffi (Ita) Selle Italia-Guerciotti12
27Karla Stepanova (Cze) Kona Cycling Point10
28Ayako Toyooka (Jpn) Panasonic Ladies9
29Yara Kastelijn (Ned) RTC Buitenlust8
30Margriet Helena Kloppenburg (Den) Endura Lady Force7
31Asa Maria Erlandsson (Swe) Varbergs MTB-Cube7
32Lotte Eikelenboom (Ned) DRC De Mol6
33Lisa Heckmann (Ger) VC-Racingteam5
34Laura Verdonschot (Bel) VZW Lotto-Ladiescycling4
35Janka Stevkova (Svk) CK Epic Dohnany3
36Esmee Oosterman (Ned) WRV De Peddelaars3
37Zuzana Vojtasova (Svk) CK Banska Bystrica2
38Karen Verhestraeten (Bel) Up Cycling Team2
39Jana Czeczinkarova (Cze) Remerx-Merida Team Kolin1

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1