Van der Poel dominates in Tabor

It’s not an easy task to walk in the footsteps of a famous father. Mathieu van der Poel is the son of famous cyclo-cross and road rider Adrie and the grandson of legendary French rider Raymond Poulidor. On Sunday morning he convincingly grabbed the win in the first round of the Junior Men World Cup in Tabor, Czech Republic.

The first-year Junior distanced his last opponent Quentin Jauregui (France) halfway through the race and despite easing off at the end he still had 20 seconds on runner-up Jauregui. Daan Hoeyberghs (Belgium) was third in Tabor; the home riders disappointed as none were able to crack the top-10 on home soil.

Jauregui and Van der Poel led the race together during the first two laps, while a large group of about ten riders kept the leaders in sight. After two laps the chase group was reduced to six riders as the speed in front was too high for Jauregui - he dropped back into the chase group with Hoeyberghs, Wout Van Aert (Belgium), Daan Soete (Belgium), Gioele Bertolini (Italy), Marco König (Germany) and Romain Seigle (France).

While Van der Poel kept extending his lead up to 30 seconds, the battle for second place was on in the chase group as Jauregui sneaked away together with Hoeyberghs. The two held off a comeback from Seigle, Bertolini, Van Aert and Soete and sprinted for the podium spots. Twenty seconds after Van der Poel secured his comfortable win Jauregui was much stronger and took second place. Seigle was best of the rest and finished fourth ahead of Soete, Bertolini and Van Aert.

British rider Hugo Robinson enjoyed a solid race and finished just outside the top 10, 58 seconds behind Van der Poel.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathieu Van Der Poel (Ned) Netherlands0:37:17
2Quentin Jauregui (Fra) France0:00:20
3Daan Hoeyberghs (Bel) Belgium0:00:22
4Romain Seigle (Fra) France0:00:24
5Daan Soete (Bel) BelgiumRow 4 - Cell 2
6Gioele Bertolini (Ita) ItalyRow 5 - Cell 2
7Wout Van Aert (Bel) Belgium0:00:25
8Marco König (Ger) Germany0:00:47
9Pjotr Van Beek (Ned) Netherlands0:00:54
10Quinten Hermans (Bel) Belgium0:00:55
11Hugo Robinson (GBr) Great Britain0:00:58
12Ariesen Tim (Ned) Netherlands0:01:27
13Jan Brezna (Cze) Czech RepublicRow 12 - Cell 2
14Matthias Van De Velde (Bel) Belgium0:01:33
15Yorben Van Tichelt (Bel) BelgiumRow 14 - Cell 2
16Nadir Colledani (Ita) Italy0:01:34
17Koen Weijers (Ned) NetherlandsRow 16 - Cell 2
18Simon Mateju (Cze) Czech Republic0:01:50
19Stefano Valdrighi (Ita) Italy0:01:55
20Yannick Gruner (Ger) Germany0:01:59
21Daniel Lukes (Cze) Czech Republic0:02:02
22Tomas Novacek (Cze) Czech Republic0:02:06
23Karel Pokorny (Cze) Czech Republic0:02:08
24Anthony Turgis (Fra) FranceRow 23 - Cell 2
25Michal Paluta (Pol) Poland0:02:26
26Riccardo Redaelli (Ita) Italy0:02:31
27Stefano Debellis (Ita) Italy0:02:36
28Steffen Müller (Ger) Germany0:02:38
29Francesco Pedante (Ita) Italy0:03:24
30Lubos Malovec (Svk) Slovakia0:03:25
31Ondrej Glajza (Svk) Slovakia0:03:50
32Max Lindenau (Ger) Germany0:04:21
33Wojciech Szyniec (Pol) Poland0:05:05
34Jakub Rydval (Cze) Czech Republic0:05:12
35Ivan Schvarcbacher (Svk) Slovakia0:05:53
36 (-1 lap)Sebastian Strasser (Aut) AustriaRow 35 - Cell 2

Junior Men - World Cup standings after 1 round

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResultHeader Cell - Column 3
1Mathieu Van Der Poel (Ned) Netherlands60pts
2Quentin Jauregui (Fra) France50Row 1 - Cell 3
3Daan Hoeyberghs (Bel) Belgium45Row 2 - Cell 3
4Romain Seigle (Fra) France40Row 3 - Cell 3
5Daan Soete (Bel) Belgium35Row 4 - Cell 3
6Gioele Bertolini (Ita) Italy30Row 5 - Cell 3
7Wout Van Aert (Bel) Belgium28Row 6 - Cell 3
8Marco König (Ger) Germany26Row 7 - Cell 3
9Pjotr Van Beek (Ned) Netherlands24Row 8 - Cell 3
10Quinten Hermans (Bel) Belgium22Row 9 - Cell 3
11Hugo Robinson (GBr) Great Britain20Row 10 - Cell 3
12Ariesen Tim (Ned) Netherlands19Row 11 - Cell 3
13Jan Brezna (Cze) Czech Republic18Row 12 - Cell 3
14Matthias Van De Velde (Bel) Belgium17Row 13 - Cell 3
15Yorben Van Tichelt (Bel) Belgium16Row 14 - Cell 3
16Nadir Colledani (Ita) Italy15Row 15 - Cell 3
17Koen Weijers (Ned) Netherlands14Row 16 - Cell 3
18Simon Mateju (Cze) Czech Republic13Row 17 - Cell 3
19Stefano Valdrighi (Ita) Italy12Row 18 - Cell 3
20Yannick Gruner (Ger) Germany11Row 19 - Cell 3
21Daniel Lukes (Cze) Czech Republic10Row 20 - Cell 3
22Tomas Novacek (Cze) Czech Republic9Row 21 - Cell 3
23Karel Pokorny (Cze) Czech Republic8Row 22 - Cell 3
24Anthony Turgis (Fra) France7Row 23 - Cell 3
25Michal Paluta (Pol) Poland6Row 24 - Cell 3
26Riccardo Redaelli (Ita) Italy5Row 25 - Cell 3
27Stefano Debellis (Ita) Italy4Row 26 - Cell 3
28Steffen Müller (Ger) Germany3Row 27 - Cell 3
29Francesco Pedante (Ita) Italy2Row 28 - Cell 3
30Lubos Malovec (Svk) Slovakia1Row 29 - Cell 3

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1