Cyclo-Cross World Championships: Ryan Kamp wins U23 men's title

Ryan Kamp found his form at the right time to ride away from his rivals and clinch the U23 men's cyclo-cross world championship title.

The 20-year-old Dutchman used several attacks before riding alone to win by 36 seconds ahead of home rider Kevin Kuhn and compatriot Mees Hendrikx.

Kamp, who medalled as a junior rider, was the favourite coming into the event following his World Cup win at Hoogerheide last weekend. He admitted that he didn’t feel as good early on but found his form as the grueling race went on.

"The last two races I also won so I came with a good feeling to this race and luckily I had good teammates in Mees [Hendrick] and Pim [Ronhaar]," said Kamp

"They were good and did the job we;; so I’m very happy with them. The first two laps my legs felt very bad and Pim, also my roommate, came to the front of the race and kept the pace very high.

"I tried [to attack earlier on] but it didn’t work as my legs were not as good as in the last part of the race. When I got a little gap, the legs felt good again and I know it was hard for me because of the hard winds so I knew it was also hard for my opponents to close the gap. There was just a feeling that I thought I would win and go for it."

From the outset, Kamp was joined at the head of the race by Frenchman Antoine Benoist and Kuhn. Despite trying to force the pace, his rivals matched him before fellow Dutchmen Hendrikx and Pim Ronhaar joined the leading group.

With strength in numbers in the Dutch team, Kamp attacked alone forcing Kuhn to chase behind which split the group. Frenchman Benoist had been chasing in third but payed for his earlier efforts as Hendrikx caught and past the Frenchman for bronze.

Kamp extended his gap over Kuhn, while Hendrikx secured bronze.

Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal rider Kamp says the win saw him complete both of his season goals and said that he wanted to ride in the rainbow stripes at U23 category races before moving up to the elite ranks.

"One of my goals was to become world champion so today that came true and I also wanted to be a pro cyclist in the future and a month ago I signed a pro contract with my team," he said.

"The goals I set at the beginning of the year, I got them, so now I can set new goals. First of all, I want to ride in this jersey next year and then I will consider going to the elites."

Earlier in the season, Kamp finished just eighth in the European championships but has found form in the past month, winning the Dutch national championships before winning his first World Cup in Nommay and then repeating that accomplishment in Hooderheide last weekend.

"I’m already in good shape for the whole season and did nothing different in training or at home," Kamp added.

"I was just doing the same thing as always so maybe when I got my first win of the season in Holland with the Dutch Championships, that gave a real good boost.”

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Ryan Kamp (Netherlands)00:47:53
2Kevin Kuhn (Switzerland)00:00:36
3Mees Hendrikx (Netherlands)00:00:52
4Antoine Benoist (France)00:01:16
5Pim Ronhaar (Netherlands)00:01:19
6Ivan Feijoo Alberte (Spain)00:01:32
7Niels Vandeputte (Belgium)00:01:36
8Cameron Mason (Great Britain)00:01:44
9Jelle Camps (Belgium)00:02:15
10Yentl Bekaert (Belgium)00:02:36
11Loris Rouiller (Switzerland)00:02:51
12Kyle Agterberg (Netherlands)00:02:55
13Eric Brunner (USA)00:02:58
14Timo Kielich (Belgium)00:02:59
15Ben Turner (Great Britain)00:03:01
16Gage Hecht (USA)00:03:09
17Toon Vandebosch (Belgium)00:03:11
18Antonio Folcarelli (Italy)00:03:12
19Tim van Dijke (Netherlands)00:03:17
20Theo Thomas (France00:03:18
21Caleb Swartz (USA)00:03:48
22Thomas Mein (Great Britain)00:03:50
23Jofre Cullell Estape (Spain)00:04:04
24Jan Sommer (Switzerland00:04:07
25Maxime Gagnaire (France)00:04:14
26Thomas Bonnet (France)00:04:17
27Zabier Murias Garcia (Spain)00:04:19
28Joris Delbove (France)00:04:24
29Josef Jelinek (Czech Republic)00:04:28
30Mickael Crispin (France)00:04:34
31Tyler Orschel (Canada)00:04:35
32Ben Tulett (Great Britain)00:04:44
33Jakub Riman (Czech Republic)00:04:53
34Tomas Kopecky (Czech Republic)00:05:22
35Davide Toneatti (Italy)00:05:39
36Samuele Leone (Italy)00:05:55
37Alex Morton (USA)00:06:01
38Felix Stehli (Switzerland)00:06:37
39Pascal Tomke (Germany)00:06:44
40Jakob Dorigoni (Italy)00:06:45
41Karel Camrda (Czech Republic)00:06:49
42Sam Noel (USA)00:07:07
43Simon Bak (Denmark)00:07:08
44Hijiri Oda (Japan)00:07:25
45Tomas Jezek (Czech Republic)00:07:57
46Lane Maher (USA)-2 laps
47Malcolm Barton (Canada)-2 laps
48Maximilian Mobis (Germany)-2 laps
49David Conroy (Ireland)-2 laps
50Mads Hoiberg Klinke (Denmark)-2 laps
DNFCarlos Canal Blanco (Spain)Row 50 - Cell 2
DNFBalazs Vas (Hungary)Row 51 - Cell 2
DNFTom Lindner (Germany)Row 52 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1