Sunny King Criterium victory for Williams

Lily Williams (Hagens Berman | Supermint) on top step of the podium

Lily Williams (Hagens Berman | Supermint) on top step of the podium (Image credit: Peloton Sports)

Lily Williams (Hagens Berman-Supermint) out-kicked Lauretta Hanson (UnitedHealthcare) to take the Sunny King Criterium, the first race on the USA Cycling Pro Road Tour, with Harriet Owen (The Meteor/Intelligentsia) taking the final podium spot.

Hanson sparked the three-rider breakaway, but it was Williams who proved quickest in the rainy hour-long criterium.

"I'm really excited. It's only my second PRT victory," said Williams. "I started racing last spring, so it definitely affirms that I belong here. I'm really pleased how it went tonight. I definitely did not expect to win.

"Lauretta went, and I was in a pretty good position to follow. I was able to jump on and get to her wheel about three-quarters of a lap later. Then the third girl, Harriet, was on us pretty quickly after that," Williams said. "We all worked together pretty well, and we were able to put some time in (for the lead). For a while, I thought that the peloton was going to catch us because they were on the same stretch as us. Then I realized we had a good lead."

A 30-rider bunch sprint behind Owen was won by ISCorp's Samantha Schneider, last year's winner.

"We came to be aggressive, hoping to take the crown back," Schneider said. "We missed the (winning) move, unfortunately, but we were still able to get the field sprint for fourth. We started the season on a relatively high note, I would say.

"It was a pretty windy day and chilly. We had a rider floating in between for a while, just couldn't quite get there. That's bike racing," added Schneider.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lily Williams (Hagens Berman | Supermint)0:59:49
2Lauretta Hanson (UnitedHealthcare)Row 1 - Cell 2
3Harriet Owen (THE METEOR // INTELLIGENTSIA)0:00:02
4Samantha Schneider (ISCorp Pro Cycling)0:01:03
5Erica Allar (Rally Cycling)Row 4 - Cell 2
6Laura Jorgensen (Feed Hungry Kids Project)Row 5 - Cell 2
7Kendall Ryan (Team TIBCO-Silicon Val)Row 6 - Cell 2
8Josie Talbot (ISCorp Pro Cycling)0:01:04
9Kyrstin Bluhm (Papa John's Racing p/b TREK)Row 8 - Cell 2
10Jessica Mundy (THE METEOR // INTELLIGENTSIA)Row 9 - Cell 2
11Jennifer Caicedo (SC Competitive Cyclist)0:01:05
12Elizabeth Banks (UnitedHealthcare)Row 11 - Cell 2
13Kat Sweatt (Mellow Mushroom Racing)0:01:06
14Carolyn Defoore (Wolfpack p/b Hyperthreads)Row 13 - Cell 2
15Judah SencenbaughRow 14 - Cell 2
16Cynthia Frazier (THE METEOR // INTELLIGENTSIA)Row 15 - Cell 2
17Caroline Baur (ISCorp Pro Cycling)Row 16 - Cell 2
18Christina Gokey-Smith (Colavita|Bialetti Racing)Row 17 - Cell 2
19Stephanie Nave (OrthoCarolina Winston Women’s Cycling)0:01:07
20Lauren Hall (UnitedHealthcare)Row 19 - Cell 2
21Diana Penuela (UnitedHealthcare)Row 20 - Cell 2
22Madison Kelly (Papa John's Racing p/b TREK)Row 21 - Cell 2
23Starla Teddergreen (Hagens Berman | Supermint)Row 22 - Cell 2
24Janelle Cole (UnitedHealthcare)0:01:08
25Leah Thomas (UnitedHealthcare)Row 24 - Cell 2
26Yussely Soto (ISCorp Pro Cycling)0:01:09
27Tina Pic (Colavita|Bialetti Racing)Row 26 - Cell 2
28Megan Heath (Rally Cycling)Row 27 - Cell 2
29Kate Kirkpatrick (Mellow Mushroom Racing)Row 28 - Cell 2
30Julie Kuliecza (Hagens Berman | Supermint)0:01:10
31Jessie Hodges (ISCorp Pro Cycling)Row 30 - Cell 2
32Miriam Brouwer (Cyclery Racing)0:01:11
33Kristen Arnold (THE METEOR // INTELLIGENTSIA)Row 32 - Cell 2
34Emily Newsom (Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley)0:01:13
35Kathryn Buss (Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley)0:01:14
36Elizabeth Harden (Papa John's Racing p/b TREK)0:01:15
37Stephanie Smith0:02:07
38Debbie Prouty (Hilton Head Cycling/Robson Fore)Row 37 - Cell 2
39Arden Stelly (OrthoCarolina Winston Women’s)Row 38 - Cell 2
40Ayesha McGowan (Northern California/Nevada Cycling)Row 39 - Cell 2
41Merrill Thierman (Dornier Racing)Row 40 - Cell 2
42Victoria KanizerRow 41 - Cell 2
43Loren Morgan (Georgia Bicycle Racing Association)Row 42 - Cell 2
44Lori Nedescu (Welland Racing)Row 43 - Cell 2
45Deborah Paine (Feed Hungry Kids Project)Row 44 - Cell 2
46Jennifer Wagner (Mellow Mushroom Racing)Row 45 - Cell 2
47Amelia Kirby (Welland Racing)Row 46 - Cell 2
48Paige Kostanecki (NSMI RACING)Row 47 - Cell 2
49Alex Christofalos (CTH Performance Project)Row 48 - Cell 2
50Laura Van Gilder (Mellow Mushroom Racing)Row 49 - Cell 2
51Moriah SwanRow 50 - Cell 2
52Tabitha Sherwood (Mellow Mushroom Racing)Row 51 - Cell 2
53Jennifer Wakeman (Welland Racing)Row 52 - Cell 2
54Sarah Guilbert (Welland Racing)Row 53 - Cell 2


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews