Sauser wins in Tallinn

Christoph Sauser (Specialized) won the MTB Port of Tallinn GP 2010 held during the Estonian MTB Estonian Weekend in Tallinn. The Estonian rider Martin Loo, who finished the overall competition in second place after Sauser, was victorious in the Under 23 class. Caspar Austa was second in the elite men's category, and Racenajs Kristofers was third.

Sauser finished in two hours, seven minutes and 52 seconds. He compared the track, due to its technical complexity and level of difficulty, with the World Cup courses.

"The difference in the track of Tallinn is the lack of long climbs. At the same time, the ascents are shorter, but steeper. And there are a vast number of technical sections that make the race course particularly hard," said Sauser.

Each 6.5km lap of the course included 170m of climbing.

Maaris Meier won the elite women's race, ahead of Ivanda Eiduka.

In association with the Estonian Cyclists Union and Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI), the goal of the organizers is to raise the category of the MTB Port of Tallinn GP competition each year and apply to host the 2014 European Championships.

Next year's race, a UCI Cat. 1, event will happen on July 9.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Christoph Sauser (Swi)2:07:52
2Martin Loo (Est)0:04:41
3Caspar Austa (Est)0:13:32
4Kristofers Racenajs (Lat)0:15:09
5Tauri Selder (Est)0:15:30
6Matis Preimanis (Lat)0:17:10
7Ernests Benhens (Lat)0:17:22
8Erki Pütsep (Est)0:21:52
9Ravshan Balgabaev (Rus)Row 8 - Cell 2
10Dmitrijs Sorokins (Lat)Row 9 - Cell 2
11Priit Prous (Rus)Row 10 - Cell 2
DNFErki Kukk (Est)Row 11 - Cell 2
DNFIvo Suur (Est)Row 12 - Cell 2
DNFRiivo Schumann (Est)Row 13 - Cell 2
DNFAllan Oras (Est)Row 14 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Maaris Meier (Est)1:58:50
2Ivanda Eiduka (Lat)0:01:27
3Angelica Edvardsson (Swe)0:11:42
4Emmy Thelberg (Swe)0:15:33
DNSLelde Tipane (Lat)Row 4 - Cell 2


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews