Skip to main content

Jan Bakelants wins final stage of La Méditerranéenne

Belgian Jan Bakelants celebrated his 30th birthday by winning the final stage of the first edition of La Méditerranéen in Bordighera. The AG2R La Mondiale rider attacked in the finale of the 126km stage to take the victory over Arnold Jeannesson (Cofidis) and Alexandre Geniez (FDJ).

Though he forged out a small gap on the group of the race leader, it was not enough to erase the 40 second deficit he had to Astana's Andriy Grivko. The Ukrainian finished 10th in the chasing bunch to seal the overall victory.


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jan Bakelants (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale2:37:38
2Arnold Jeannesson (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits0:00:02
3Alexandre Geniez (Fra) FDJ
4Simone Andreetta (Ita) Bardiani CSF0:00:08
5Julien El Fares (Fra) Delko Marseille Provence KTM
6Mikael Cherel (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
7Florian Vachon (Fra) Fortuneo - Vital Concept
8Romain Combaud (Fra) Delko Marseille Provence KTM
9Sergio Ferreira Sousa (Por) Team Vorarlberg
10Egan Arley Bernal (Col) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec
11Andriy Grivko (Ukr) Astana Pro Team
12Yoann Bagot (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
13Matthieu Ladagnous (Fra) FDJ
14Julien Antomarchi (Fra) Roubaix Metropole Europeenne De Lille0:00:20
15Thierry Hupond (Fra) Delko Marseille Provence KTM0:00:31
16Maxime Cam (Fra) Fortuneo - Vital Concept0:00:32
17Eros Capecchi (Ita) Astana Pro Team
18Lilian Calmejane (Fra) Direct Energie
19Guillaume Levarlet (Fra) HP-BTP Auber 930:00:37
20Christophe Riblon (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:00:39
21Anthony Delaplace (Fra) Fortuneo - Vital Concept0:00:55
22Andrey Zeits (Kaz) Astana Pro Team0:01:19
23Pierrick Fedrigo (Fra) Fortuneo - Vital Concept0:01:30
24Jeremy Cornu (Fra) Direct Energie0:01:31
25Serghei Tvetcov (Rom) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec0:01:32
26Aritz Bagües (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias
27Brian Nauleau (Fra) Direct Energie0:02:00
28Cyril Gautier (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
29Tony Hurel (Fra) Direct Energie
30Odd Christian Eiking (Nor) FDJ0:02:15
31Kevin Lebreton (Fra) Armee De Terre0:02:21
32Yoann Barbas (Fra) Armee De Terre
33Armindo Fonseca (Fra) Fortuneo - Vital Concept
34Antoine Duchesne (Can) Direct Energie0:02:45
35Florian Senechal (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits0:02:47
36Jon Ander Insausti Irastorza (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias
37Felix Pouilly (Fra) Roubaix Metropole Europeenne De Lille
38Romain Feillu (Fra) HP-BTP Auber 93
39Théo Vimpere (Fra) HP-BTP Auber 930:02:58
40Julien Guay (Fra) HP-BTP Auber 93
41César Bihel (Fra) HP-BTP Auber 930:03:11
42Axel Domont (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:03:19
43Ben Gastauer (Lux) AG2R La Mondiale
44Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec
45Daniel Diaz (Arg) Delko Marseille Provence KTM
46Rayane Bouhanni (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits0:04:03
47Arnaud Demare (Fra) FDJ0:04:18
48Daniel Hoelgaard (Nor) FDJ
49Ignatas Konovalovas (Ltu) FDJ0:04:20
50Alex Aranburu (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias0:04:23
51Adrian Gonzalez (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias
52Bakhtiyar Kozhatayev (Kaz) Astana Pro Team0:04:45
53Maxime Renault (Fra) HP-BTP Auber 93
54Loïc Chetout (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits0:05:40
55Jimmy Raibaud (Fra) Armee De Terre
56Romain Cardis (Fra) Direct Energie
57Daniil Fominykh (Kaz) Astana Pro Team0:05:42
DNFAlexis Vuillermoz (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
DNFMickael Delage (Fra) FDJ
DNFMarc Sarreau (Fra) FDJ
DNFLaurens De Vreese (Bel) Astana Pro Team
DNFGuillaume Thévenot (Fra) Direct Energie
DNFThomas Boudat (Fra) Direct Energie
DNFKevin Ledanois (Fra) Fortuneo - Vital Concept
DNFChristophe Laborie (Fra) Delko Marseille Provence KTM
DNFYannick Martinez (Fra) Delko Marseille Provence KTM
DNFMarco Bandiera (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec
DNFGiorgio Cecchinel (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec
DNFTiziano Dall'antonia (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec
DNFNicola Boem (Ita) Bardiani CSF
DNFPaolo Simion (Ita) Bardiani CSF
DNFPierre Gouault (Fra) HP-BTP Auber 93
DNFAlo Jakin (Est) HP-BTP Auber 93
DNFRudy Barbier (Fra) Roubaix Metropole Europeenne De Lille
DNFDieter Bouvry (Bel) Roubaix Metropole Europeenne De Lille
DNFDaan Myngheer (Bel) Roubaix Metropole Europeenne De Lille
DNFFlorent Pereira (Fra) Roubaix Metropole Europeenne De Lille
DNFPierrick Naud (Can) Rally Cycling
DNFAdam De Vos (Can) Rally Cycling
DNFKenny Bouvry (Bel) Veranclassic-AGO
DNFDimitri Peyskens (Bel) Veranclassic-AGO
DNFClément Penven (Fra) Armee De Terre
DNFStéphane Poulhies (Fra) Armee De Terre

Final General Classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Andriy Grivko (Ukr) Astana Pro Team11:21:27
2Matthieu Ladagnous (Fra) FDJ0:00:18
3Jan Bakelants (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale0:00:32
4Mikael Cherel (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:00:42
5Yoann Bagot (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits0:00:58
6Florian Vachon (Fra) Fortuneo - Vital Concept0:01:03
7Alexandre Geniez (Fra) FDJ0:01:21
8Lilian Calmejane (Fra) Direct Energie0:01:26
9Guillaume Levarlet (Fra) HP-BTP Auber 930:01:32
10Thierry Hupond (Fra) Delko Marseille Provence KTM0:01:40
11Eros Capecchi (Ita) Astana Pro Team0:01:55
12Arnold Jeannesson (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits0:02:34
13Romain Combaud (Fra) Delko Marseille Provence KTM0:03:32
14Yoann Barbas (Fra) Armee De Terre0:03:35
15Simone Andreetta (Ita) Bardiani CSF0:03:50
16Sergio Ferreira Sousa (Por) Team Vorarlberg0:04:17
17Cyril Gautier (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:04:21
18Egan Arley Bernal (Col) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec0:05:09
19Ignatas Konovalovas (Ltu) FDJ0:05:15
20Maxime Cam (Fra) Fortuneo - Vital Concept0:05:16
21Antoine Duchesne (Can) Direct Energie0:05:37
22Pierrick Fedrigo (Fra) Fortuneo - Vital Concept0:05:48
23Daniel Diaz (Arg) Delko Marseille Provence KTM0:06:14
24Anthony Delaplace (Fra) Fortuneo - Vital Concept0:06:48
25Andrey Zeits (Kaz) Astana Pro Team0:06:56
26Julien El Fares (Fra) Delko Marseille Provence KTM0:07:11
27Tony Hurel (Fra) Direct Energie0:07:45
28Daniil Fominykh (Kaz) Astana Pro Team0:08:03
29Armindo Fonseca (Fra) Fortuneo - Vital Concept0:08:14
30Kevin Lebreton (Fra) Armee De Terre0:08:29
31Odd Christian Eiking (Nor) FDJ0:08:32
32Julien Guay (Fra) HP-BTP Auber 930:09:01
33Florian Senechal (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits0:09:36
34Julien Antomarchi (Fra) Roubaix Metropole Europeenne De Lille0:09:42
35Maxime Renault (Fra) HP-BTP Auber 930:10:48
36Brian Nauleau (Fra) Direct Energie0:11:19
37Romain Feillu (Fra) HP-BTP Auber 930:12:24
38Jeremy Cornu (Fra) Direct Energie0:13:50
39Loïc Chetout (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits0:15:02
40Jon Ander Insausti Irastorza (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias0:15:30
41César Bihel (Fra) HP-BTP Auber 930:15:48
42Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec0:15:51
43Christophe Riblon (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:16:05
44Arnaud Demare (Fra) FDJ0:16:29
45Daniel Hoelgaard (Nor) FDJ0:16:48
46Adrian Gonzalez (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias0:17:06
47Felix Pouilly (Fra) Roubaix Metropole Europeenne De Lille0:17:23
48Bakhtiyar Kozhatayev (Kaz) Astana Pro Team0:17:31
49Romain Cardis (Fra) Direct Energie0:18:13
50Serghei Tvetcov (Rom) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec0:18:25
51Axel Domont (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:18:45
52Ben Gastauer (Lux) AG2R La Mondiale0:18:58
53Aritz Bagües (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias0:19:18
54Théo Vimpere (Fra) HP-BTP Auber 930:19:47
55Alex Aranburu (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias0:25:25
56Jimmy Raibaud (Fra) Armee De Terre0:26:45
57Rayane Bouhanni (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits0:28:15

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1