La Course by Le Tour de France 2020

Latest News from the Race

Lizzie Deignan wins 2020 La Course

Lizzie Deignan wins 2020 La Course (Image credit: Getty Images)

Lizzie Deignan (Trek-Segafredo) has won La Course by Le Tour de France, beating Marianne Vos (CCC-Liv) and Demi Vollering (Parkhotel Valkenburg) in the sprint of a group of six on Nice’s Promenade des Anglais.

World champion Annemiek van Vleuten (Mitchelton-Scott) initiated the winning move when she went hard from the bottom of the Côte de Rimiez with 44km to go, and only five riders were able to stay with Van Vleuten over the climb.

La Course by Le Tour de France 2020 was moved from Paris to Nice and held in conjunction with the opening stage of the Tour de France on August 29.

The UCI announced the revised-late season calendar in May and the Women's WorldTour, and while several events have already cancelled, it has retained some of the original 22 events. 

UCI President David Lappartient said that moving the event to Nice was discussed with ASO, as part of the revised calendar meetings, because of the potential challenges of hosting a race in Paris due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

The race was originally set to return to a one-day circuit race held along the Champs-Élysées in Paris on July 19. ASO instead designed a 96km road race that included two climbs over the Cote de Rimiez before finishing back in Nice.

La Course by Le Tour de France was established by ASO in 2014 as a circuit race on the Champs-Élysées on the final day of the Tour de France. The sprinter-friendly format saw victories for Marianne Vos, Anna van der Breggen and Chloe Hosking in the first three editions.

Organisers shifted to a two-day experiment in 2017, which saw a summit finish on the Col d'Izoard, held on the same day as stage 18 of the men's race, followed by a handicapped time trial in Marseille. Annemiek van Vleuten won both stages and the overall title.

The race then shifted back to just one day in 2018, as a mountainous road race that linked Annecy and Le Grand-Bornand. Van Vleuten won that edition as well, which was held in conjunction with stage 10 of the Tour de France.

The 2019 La Course by Le Tour de France remained a one-day event held on circuits in Pau. It used the same 27km circuit that the men used for their stage 13 time trial later the same day at the Tour de France. Vos stormed to victory to secure her second title at La Course.

Full list of teams at La Course by Le Tour 2020

  • Alé BTC Ljubljana
  • Canyon-SRAM Racing
  • CCC-Liv
  • FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope
  • Mitchelton-Scott
  • Movistar Team Women
  • Team Sunweb
  • Trek-Segafredo 
  • Aromitalia-Basso Bikes-Vaiano
  • Astana Women's Team
  • Bizkaia-Durango 
  • Boels Dolmans
  • Cereatizit-WNT
  • Charente-Maritime
  • Cogeas Mettlere Look
  • Hitec Products-Birk Sport
  • Lotto Soudal Ladies
  • Parkhotel Valkenburg
  • Paule Ka
  • Rally Cycling
  • Team Arkéa
  • Team Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank
  • Valcar-Travel & Service


Top News on the Race

Related Features