Iserbyt dominates Iowa City World Cup

(Image credit: Jeff Corcoran)

Eli Iserbyt (Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal) claimed his first career elite World Cup victory, escaping solo midway through the UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup opener in Iowa City.

The young Belgian led a swath of compatriots, topping last year's World Cup winner Toon Aerts (Telenet-Fidea) with Daan Soete (Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal) winning the sprint for third.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Eli Iserbyt (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen-bingoal 1:05:27
2Toon Aerts (Bel) Telenet Baloise Lions 0:00:54
3Daan Soete (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen-bingoal 0:01:00
4Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Creafin-fristads
5Laurens Sweeck (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen-bingoal 0:01:01
6Lars van der Haar (Ned) Telenet Baloise Lions 0:01:25
7Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen-bingoal
8Jim Aernouts (Bel) Telenet Baloise Lions 0:01:33
9Quinten Hermans (Bel) Telenet Baloise Lions 0:01:46
10Tom Meeusen (Bel) Corendon-circus 0:01:53
11Jens Adams (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen-bingoal 0:02:13
12Nicolas Cleppe (Bel) Telenet Baloise Lions 0:02:36
13Diether Sweeck (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen-bingoal 0:03:07
14Thijs Aerts (Bel) Telenet Baloise Lions 0:03:21
15Curtis White (USA) Cannondale Cyclocrossworld 0:03:30
16Kevin Suarez Fernandez (Spa) Nesta-skoda Alecar CX Team 0:03:32
17Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Group Hens-maes Containers 0:03:52
18Gage Hecht (USA) Aevolo 0:03:54
19Kevin Kuhn (Swi) 0:04:03
20Lance Haidet (USA) Aevolo 0:04:06
21Sieben Wouters (Ned) Creafin-fristads 0:04:52
22Stan Godrie (Ned) 0:04:57
23Timon Ruegg (Swi) Swiss Racing Academy 0:05:02
24Andrew Dillman (USA) 0:05:31
25Lander Loockx (Bel) Group Hens-maes Containers 0:05:39
26Joris Nieuwenhuis (Ned) Team Sunweb 0:05:55
27James Driscoll (USA) 0:06:14
28Kerry Werner (USA) 0:06:50
29Felipe Orts Lloret (Spa) Cyclo-cross Team Teika-gsport-bh
30Lukas Winterberg (Swi)
32Eric Brunner (USA) Aevolo
33Maik van der Heijden (Ned)
34Cody Kaiser (USA)
35Brannan Fix (USA)
36Tobin Ortenblad (USA)
37Danick Vandale (Can)
38Scott Funston (USA)
39Sam Noel (USA)
40Kevin Bradford-parish (USA)
41Cameron Jette (Can)
42Eric Thompson (USA)
43Benjamin Gomez Villafane (USA)
44Jarno Trey (Est)
DNFStephen Hyde (USA) Cannondale Cyclocrossworld
DNFCorne van Kessel (Ned) Telenet Baloise Lions
DNFSteve Chainel (Fra) Team Chazal-canyon -3G Immo

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews