Four in a row: Van der Poel defeats Van Aert again in Diegem

Mathieu van der Poel (Beobank-Corendon) beat world champion Wout Van Aert (Crelan-Vastgoedservice) after yet another thriller in the sixth round of the Superprestige in Diegem, Belgium. In the night-time race, Van der Poel rode away from Van Aert in the sand during an exciting last-lap decider. Kevin Pauwels (Marlux-Napoleon Games) was best of the rest at 24 seconds, just ahead of European champion Toon Aerts (Telenet-Fidea). In the Superprestige standings Van der Poel gains a point on Van Aert, creating a narrow 4-point lead.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathieu Van Der Poel (Ned) Beobank-Corendon1:06:22
2Wout Van Aert (Bel) Crelan-VastgoedserviceRow 1 - Cell 2
3Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Marlux - Napoleon Games0:00:24
4Toon Aerts (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:00:40
5Jens Adams (Bel) Crelan-Vastgoedservice0:01:14
6David Van Der Poel (Ned) Beobank-Corendon0:01:23
7Tim Merlier (Bel) Crelan-Vastgoedservice0:01:31
8Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:01:37
9Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Marlux - Napoleon Games0:01:41
10Laurens Sweeck (Bel) Era Real Estate - Circus0:01:57
11Diether Sweeck (Bel) Era Real Estate - Circus0:02:04
12Philipp Walsleben (Ger) Beobank Coredon0:02:38
13Marcel Meisen (Ger) Steylaerts-Verona0:02:58
14Daan Soete (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:03:02
15Ismael Esteban Aguando (Spa) Maestre Bikes0:03:06
16Michael Boros (Cze) Beobank Corendon0:03:23
17Rob Peeters (Bel) Crelan-Vastgoedservice0:03:30
18Joeri Adams (Bel) KDL Cycling Team0:03:32
19Severin Sägesser (Swi) RC Gränichen0:04:14
20Javier Ruiz De Larrinaga Ibañez (Spa) Mmr-Spiuk Cx Team0:04:28
21Kevin Suarez Fernandez (Spa) Bioracer Mmr Nesta0:04:33
22Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Marlux - Napoleon Games0:05:27
23Geoff Kabush (Can) Scott-3Rox Racing0:05:35
24Daan Hoeyberghs (Bel) Beobank-Corendon0:05:55
25Julien Taramarcaz (Swi) Era Real Estate - CircusRow 24 - Cell 2
26Stan Godrie (Ned) Rabobank Development TeamRow 25 - Cell 2
27Dave De Cleyn (Bel) RS-Bikes Racing Team PulderbosRow 26 - Cell 2
28Boy Van Poppel (Ned) Trek-SegafredoRow 27 - Cell 2
29Hendrik Sweeck (Bel) Era Real Estate - CircusRow 28 - Cell 2
30Marvin Schmidt (Ger) RSC Betzdorf / Gunsha KMC TeamRow 29 - Cell 2
31Maximilien Andreo (Fra) P.A.C 95Row 30 - Cell 2
32Jens Gys (Bel) VP Consulting-Zannata CyclingRow 31 - Cell 2
33Martin Eriksson (Swe) Cykloteket RTRow 32 - Cell 2
34Flavien Dassonville (Fra) Auber 93Row 33 - Cell 2
35Mark Mcconnell (Can) Hot Sauce Cycling X GarneauRow 34 - Cell 2
36Wouter Goosen (Bel) Vp Consulting-Zannata CyclingRow 35 - Cell 2
37Daniel Ania Gonzalez (Spa) Nesta-MMRRow 36 - Cell 2
DNFVincent Baestaens (Bel) Beobank-CorendonRow 37 - Cell 2
DNFWietse Bosmans (Bel) Beobank-CorendonRow 38 - Cell 2
DNFJens Vandekinderen (Bel) Kalas-H.Essers-Noff Cycling TeamRow 39 - Cell 2
DNFYorben Van Tichelt (Bel) Marlux - Napoleon GamesRow 40 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1