Lauren Stephens wins Chrono de Gatineau

Lauren Stephens (Team TIBCO - Silicon Valley Bank) held off two world champions to win the Chrono Gatineau UCI time trial on Sunday in Gatineau, Quebec. Stephens, who finished fourth last year, finished 3.64 seconds ahead of Karol-Ann Canuel (Team Canada), a member of the Boels-Dolmans world champion team time trial squad, and 11.15 seconds in front of Amber Neben (VeloConcept), the reigning individual time trial champion.

"I did this race last year, and [the course] was very similar," explained Stephens. "The course is uphill mostly on the way out then downhill on the way back. So it is just managing your effort on the way out, knowing that it is going to be very fast on the way back. I was really focussed on winning this race. Last year I finished fourth by just 17 seconds, so the whole time I was thinking this is your race to win. I had a good feeling when I crossed the line, but the world champion, Amber Neben, went off last, so you never know what she can pull off. So I didn't know until she crossed the line. This is definitely a highlight to my season so far. Our team founder Linda Jackson is from Canada, so to win a race in Canada is great and this is the biggest race I've won this year."

The 21 kilometre out-and-back course climbs up into the Gatineau national park for the first half before the riders turn around for a long and fast descent back to the finish. Race day was sunny but windy.

Jasmin Duehring (Sho-Air TWENTY20) set the first fast time of 31:05, 11 riders in from the 49 starters. Her time held up until eight riders to go, when Claire Rose (Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling) became the first to go under 31 minutes (30:57). Two riders later, Leah Thomas (Sho-Air TWENTY20) knocked over six seconds off the leading time, but Canuel was right behind her, and took the top time down to 30:23. Canuel, in turn, was immediately supplanted on the hot seat by Stephens, with the final winning time of 3:20. There were still three riders to go, with Neben riding last, but none could come close to the TIBCO rider's time.

"It was really a hard course," commented Canuel. "It was really hilly and also windy, It was hard to get your effort at first, but I'm happy with my ride. I finished second, and for sure I wanted to win, but three seconds is nothing. I didn't know where I would fit today, I haven't really worked on my time trial at all this year, I've been focussing on the classics, more on the road racing, so it would good to get an effort out there. I'm happy with my ride."

Neben, racing in the rainbow stripes, was philosophical about her third place, "I was excited to come back here. It's always fun to come back and defend any time you've won a race and for me to be able to wear the rainbow stripes, I want to do that as much as I can this year. Obviously, I was hoping to win but Lauren and Karol-Ann rode really well. So I will grow and learn from it and get ready for the next big peak at [U.S.] Nationals. I'm six weeks out from my next peak. I worked really hard last weekend, so I didn't feel bad, but I was a little flat. I made a couple mistakes. I'm always critiquing myself for places I can get better. So it wasn't bad, but not my best."

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lauren Stephens (USA) Team Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank0:30:20
2Karol-Ann Canuel (Can) Team Canada0:00:03
3Amber Leone Neben (USA) Team Veloconcept Women0:00:11
4Tayler Wiles (USA) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling0:00:18
5Leah Thomas (USA) Sho-Air Twenty200:00:30
6Claire Rose (GBr) Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling0:00:37
7Jasmin Duehring (Can) Sho-Air TWENTY200:00:45
8Kirsti Lay (Can) Team Canada0:01:00
9Leah Kirchmann (Can) Team Canada0:01:01
10Alizée Brien (Can) Équipe du Québec0:01:05
11Kathryn Buss (USA) Team Tibco-Silicon Valley BankRow 10 - Cell 2
12Brianna Walle (USA) Team Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank0:01:11
13Ingrid Drexel (Mex) Team Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank0:01:25
14Annie Foreman Mackey (Can) Sho-Air TWENTY200:01:38
15Jennifer Luebke (USA) Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling0:01:43
16Sara Poidevin (Can) Rally Cycling0:01:50
17Rebecca Wiasak (Aus) Fearless Femme Racing0:01:55
18Miriam Brouwer (Can) Rise Racing0:01:58
19Katharine Maine (Can) Rally0:02:14
20Ariane Bonhomme (Can) The Cyclery - 4iiii0:02:21
21Alison Beveridge (Can) Rally0:02:22
22Marie-Soleil Blais (Can) Fearless Femme Racing0:02:30
23Ruby West (Can) Rise Racing0:03:11
24Marjolaine Bazin (Fra) SAS - MACOGEP0:03:20
25Sara Giovannetti (Can) The Cyclery - 4iiii0:03:23
26Kinley Gibson (Can) The Cyclery - 4iiii0:03:29
27Clio Dinan (Can) CRCA/Velo Classic p/b STANS NoTubes0:03:30
28Laurie Jussaume (Can) Équipe du QuébecRow 27 - Cell 2
29Michaela Drummond (NZl) Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling0:03:31
30Catherine Ouellette (Can) The Cyclery - 4iiii0:03:35
31Véronique Bilodeau (Can) SAS - MACOGEPRow 30 - Cell 2
32Irena Ossola (USA) SAS - MACOGEP0:03:52
33Dafne Theroux-Izquierdo (Can) TRJ TELECOM-DESJARDINS FORD0:04:02
34Genevieve Whiston (Can) Sélection de la Région Capitale Nationale0:04:04
35Olivia Baril (Can) Desjardins-Ford0:04:11
36Haley Gill (Can) West of Quebec Wheelers0:04:14
37Christel Ferrier Bruneau (Can) SAS - Macogep0:04:25
38Évelyne Gagnon (Can) Stingray/Trek/Lacasse0:05:04
39Allyson Gillard (Can) TRJ TELECOM-DESJARDINS FORD0:05:07
40Devaney Collier (Can) Sélection de la Région Capitale Nationale0:05:11
41Ann-Pascale Ouellet (Can) Desjardins-Ford0:05:17
42Olivia Ray (Can) Stingray/Trek/Lacasse0:05:54
43Isabelle Mayrand (Can) West of Quebec Wheelers0:06:32
44Marie-Renée Vial (Can) West of Quebec Wheelers0:06:34
45Ivana Gotzeva (Can) Highgate Racing p/b d'Ornellas0:06:49
46Kathy Dufour (Can) Stingray/Trek/Lacasse0:06:55
47Carly George (Can) Sélection de la Région Capitale Nationale0:07:09
48Lesley Quinlan (Can) Forces Armées Canadiennes0:08:15
DNSEmily Marcolini (Can) Highgate Racing p/b d'OrnellasRow 48 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1